$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

dana hotel and spa

4 stars
View map of 660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for dana hotel and spa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
238 out of 238
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jstdremn
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 22, 2012

The Dana is Awesome

I love this hotel. It's walking distance to everything, close to trains and the staff is wonderful. Anything I needed was at my disposal. Bed is way comfy and my room had a balcony which was an added plus. I loved being able to get fresh air without having to leave my room. I would stay at the Dana again and again. Only drawback was no pool/spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The 7-11 is across the street and has whatever you forgot plus is an inexpensive way to keep water and snacks in your room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Lover
Business
Chicago, IL
May 26, 2012

Relaxing but overpriced

The staff was friendly for check in and check out, but when inquiring on things to do, they weren't very helpful. The bartender was nice until we tipped 15% on our tab, I'm sorry but a $10 tip on a $50 check for a couple of beers and a mixed drink doesn't seem bad to me! There was no pool or things to do other than being in the room or going to the restaurant or bar. The penthouse rooftop bar was absolutely amazing but as mentioned very expensive, as was the downstairs restaurant. They do kick everyone out of the outdoor part of the bar by midnight and don't give any notice, they just tell everyone to go inside 'right now'. The room was beautiful as was the view, but while we looked forward to a nice balcony to sit on, the balcony is so small you can't even fit a chair on it. The rainfall shower was amazing, but for some reason the room was set up to have a curtain on the outside of the bathroom, so anyone in the room can see into the bathroom or shower, so this hotel is not recommended for anyone other than couples. Location was great for downtown Chicago, especially shopping, but parking was listed at $43 for the night and the garage a block down is still $41 a night. They would not give us a late check out unless we called up first thing in the morning for this, and we really wanted to be able to sleep in while on vacation, so we had to rush out by noon. They did offer to store luggage after check out. Overall, beautiful hotel but I probably wouldn't spend that much to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lincoln Park Zoo was a blast and free! They do charge $20 to park so try to take the bus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rhodan
Business
Santa Rosa, California
Aug 29, 2012

Perfect location; price is appropriate; staff is fantastic!

The decor of the hotel is beautiful -- I loved it. There were also great separate areas to meet friends, drink, eat and dance, including the top floor Vertigo, a really neat bar and restaurant with great views, indoor and outdoor seating and standing when it's crowded! The downstairs restaurant was also excellent (Argent). The staff, however, made the big difference in all manners. They were very helpful, lots of fun, nice to talk to, went way out of their way to help us with some special dinner plans--they were just fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

For me, my favorite part of the vacation was swimming in Lake Michigan, a short walk from the hotel. The sand was clean, water was 75 F, waves a little choppy, water was clean and a special area was marked out with buoys for distance swimmers. As I swam a half-mile out along the shore and then back again to the beach, it was eerie and beautiful to be swimming "through a forest of skyscrapers", as each one glided by my view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evermore Tech
Business
Edina, MN
Sep 5, 2012

A good stay

We didn't spend a ton of time at the hotel, but from what we saw, the spa and fitness center were a good bonus. The value was great though, and the location and rooftop lounge were perfect for what we wanted out of our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fenderman
Business
Keokuk, IA
Dec 3, 2012

A good choice

The room was very nice, neat, clean and attractive. The included breakfasts were some of the best we have had. It's location about 2 minutes from the Michigan Ave. bridge is very convenient. Both the Loop and Water Tower Place are within 15 minutes' walk. Millennium Park is Five minutes away. The check-in area seemed to be a construction site and much of the public area seemed to be a bit dirty and unkempt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cubswinwoo
Business
Virginia Beach
Dec 18, 2012

Great Location and Friendly Staff

We purchased our stay with a good discount so it ended up being a fantastic deal for us. Great location and really cool hotel. I would definitely come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great hotel if you want a short walk to most of the popular theatres.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Char637
Business
Indy
Jan 9, 2013

Sister Birthday Getaway

Staff was welcoming and courteous. Location was awesome we could walk everywhere if it wasn't too cold. The elevators were slow though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MayEE
Business
Australia
Jan 14, 2013

Great stay - comfortable, friendly, good location

Had a great stay! Good location for Chicago, only a short 2 blocks to the mag mile (Michigan ave) & from the red line subway stop. Staff were very helpful & friendly. Rooms are modern & comfortable - love the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Garrets popcorn (Chicago mix is a must) - available just off mag mile and go see Buddy Guy's legends for blues or Green Mill for jazz.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PEDRO AND CASSANDRA
Business
DETROIT, MICH
Jan 17, 2013

Ideal location for Chicago Sightseeing!

The entire staff were A-1, friendly, courteous, & very helpful in a multitude of ways. Made for a relaxing experience. We found the room a bit cramped & not conducive to spending much time there. As our objective was seeing friends & dining out, we were not upset & felt we got our money's worth. It was comparable to other places we've gotten on "super special" rates. The local was ideal for walking to the Miracle Mile & visiting nice restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

EGGPERIENCE RESTAURANT AT THE CORNER OF DEARBORN & ONTARIO STREETS. GREAT SPOT FOR BREAKFAST!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L.W.R.
Business
Austin
Jan 22, 2013

Only one problem...

This is one of my favorite hotels in Chicago. The rooms are great and the beds are extremely comfortable. The hotel is located in the heart of great shopping and dining. Two of the 3 rooms we booked were great. One room however was on the 23rd floor and had a lot of noise from the music coming from the rooftop club. My friends that were on the 14th and 7th floor did not have any noise issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top