$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

dana hotel and spa

4 stars
View map of 660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
231 reviews
Birthday Treat to Myself

This was my first time at the Dana and after my stay I KNEW I would be back. The glass wall for the... See full review

  • B.T.
  • Aug 28, 2015
romantic weekend

We stayed here for our anniversary. Very modern and clean. The staff was friendly. Parking was easy... See full review

  • Paula D.
  • Jul 12, 2015
The dana hotel and spa in Chicago's River North neighborhood balances the beauty of natural elements with the latest technology to create a modern retreat for healthy living. From the progressive health center to the Zeppelin MP3 media system in each room, the dana's core philosophy of wellness and individuality is expressed in all elements of the hotel. Bathed in natural light, the dana is an oasis of serene relaxation in a bustling city.
Rooms
Sleekly decorated with hints of Asian influence, standard rooms at the dana hotel and spa feature a half wall of floor-to-ceiling windows and walkout balconies. Serenity is infused in everything from the natural, sustainable floors to the 300-thread count Egyptian cotton sheets over pillow-top mattresses. Glass separates bath from boudoir and illuminates the shower rooms, featuring Italian rain shower fixtures and handcrafted tiles.
Property features
With its mantra “the pleasure of giving,” the dana hotel and spa sets out to deliver a unique experience to its visitors. The spa offers an extensive array of treatments, from prenatal massages and organic manicures to customized facials and Italian mud body wraps. The focus on wellness continues through the high-tech fitness center, which is outfitted with Italian TechnoGym Kinetic Equipment to promote fluid motion.

Vertigo Sky Lounge is Chicago’s premiere year-round indoor/outdoor lounge. With the dramatic city skyline as a backdrop, Vertigo is the ideal place to mix it up after work or into the night. It features a dancing fire pit, lush modern furnishings, craft cocktails and happy hour menus. New this summer is the Bartender’s Booth, where patrons can sample craft cocktails and off-menu bites while engaging with their very own mixologist.

Guests can also head to freestyle food + drink on site to sample American favorites with a global twist during breakfast, lunch, dinner, and happy hour. The restaurant also has a street-side patio for outdoor dining (as weather permits).
Highlights
  • Sweeping views at Vertigo Sky Lounge
  • Spa at dana and 24-hour fitness center
  • Enjoy American favorites with a global twist at freestyle food + drink
      Nearby attractions
      • Michigan Avenue (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
      • Magnificent Mile (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
      • Wrigley Building (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
      • Tribune Tower (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
      • Merchandise Mart (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
      • Oak Street Beach (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
      • The Loop (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • Art Institute of Chicago (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • Willis (Sears) Tower (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
      • Navy Pier (1.3 mi/2 km)
      Business
      • Fully equipped business center
      • Meeting rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, high-speed Internet access and audio/visual equipment
      Transportation
      • O’Hare International Airport (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
      • Midway Airport (9.7 mi/15.7 km)
      • Blue Line (Jackson/Lake) (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
      • Orange Line (Chicago/Lake) (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • McCormick Place Convention Center (3 mi/4.9 km)
      Policies
      • Overnight parking charge is $39 per night plus tax and unlimited in/out privileges

      This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

      Top hotels

      Recommendations for you

      Customers who viewed dana hotel and spa also booked these hotels.

      ★★★★
      $134
      4.4 / 5 144 reviews
      ★★★★
      $149
      4.4 / 5 730 reviews
      ★★★★
      $109
      3.9 / 5 133 reviews
      ★★★
      $169
      4.3 / 5 71 reviews
      ★★★★
      $169
      4.4 / 5 68 reviews
      ★★★★★
      $170
      4.4 / 5 133 reviews
      ★★★
      $180
      4.1 / 5 19 reviews
      ★★★
      $144
      4.2 / 5 110 reviews
      ★★★
      $135
      3.8 / 5 68 reviews

      dana hotel and spa Rooms

      Serene King
      Our Serene King Room features one king bed and a full wall of floor to ceiling windows that offer a view of State Street. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include: a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
      Cozy King
      Our Cozy King Room features a walk out balcony while offering a slightly smaller, yet efficient and quaint space. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
      Corner King
      Our Corner King Room features one king bed and two walls of floor to ceiling windows that offer a panoramic view of the city and a more spacious feel. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.

      Amenities

      • WiFi
      General
      Concierge
      Pet friendly
      Activities
      Fitness Center
      Spa
      Dining
      Restaurant
      Room service
      Services
      Business center
      Conference facilities
      Internet
      WiFi
      Accessibility
      Accessible Rooms/Facilities

      Nearby points of interest

      • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
      • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
      • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
      • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
      • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
      • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
      • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
      • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
      • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
      • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
      • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
      • Marina City: 0.4 mi
      • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
      • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
      • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
      • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
      • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
      • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
      • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
      • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
      • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
      • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
      • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
      • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
      • Marina City: 0.4 mi
      • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
      • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
      • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
      • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
      • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
      • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
      • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
      • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
      • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
      • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
      • Macys: 0.7 mi
      • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
      • City Hall: 0.7 mi
      • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
      • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
      • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
      • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
      • State Street: 0.8 mi
      • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
      • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
      • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
      • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
      • Opera House: 0.9 mi
      • Children Museum: 1 mi
      • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
      • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
      • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
      • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
      • Yacht Club: 1.1 mi
      • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
      • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

      Dining

      freestyle food + drink
      At freestyle food + drink we have a passion for food and a desire to share that passion. We add a pinch of this and a dash of that to create american tastes with a twist of global influence. freestyle is open for breakfast, lunch, happy hour, dinner and weekend brunch.
      Vertigo Sky Lounge
      Cocktails and catsuits perched 26 floors above the Dana hotel and spa. Relaxed conversations in a high fidelity sushi bar offer an escape from the mainstream.

      Hotel Policies

      Check-in:
      3:00 AM
      Check-out:
      12:00 PM

      Terms and conditions

      Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

      The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

      Ratings and reviews for dana hotel and spa

      Overall score

      4.1 / 5
      5.01.0
      26 out of 231
      Amenities:
      4.3
      Cleanliness:
      4.6
      Hotel staff:
      4.3
      Comfort:
      4.5
      Location:
      4.7
      Value:
      4.2

      85% would recommend to a friend.

      Sort by:
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      B.T.
      Single
      N/A
      Aug 28, 2015

      Birthday Treat to Myself

      This was my first time at the Dana and after my stay I KNEW I would be back. The glass wall for the shower which allows you to see into the rest of the room was definitely the cherry on top as far as room decor goes. The over all feel was great and so was the staff. My only complaint is they need more mirrors. Or at least one floor length mirror. Other than that I loved every minute of my stay.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Comfort:
      4
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Trip purpose:

      Single

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      Matze
      Single
      Alamogordo
      May 5, 2015

      Awesome hotel

      Downtown Hotel, with is very clean. Bathroom was awesome. The shower is great. Friendly employees!

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Comfort:
      5
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      5
      Trip purpose:

      Single

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      brian e.
      Single
      newton
      Feb 11, 2015

      Stayed for the Chicago Marathon

      Nice quick and unremarkable stay. They were pretty busy but friendly. Nice location down in the loop. We would stay here again. Seemed to have more of an adult vibe.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Comfort:
      4
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      5
      Trip purpose:

      Single

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      Fly away Jay
      Single
      Oregon
      Dec 2, 2014

      awesome stay

      I give it 10 stars. Great location staff ammentirs. Beautiful room and view.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Trip purpose:

      Single

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      Marandah
      Single
      Iowa
      Oct 14, 2014

      Blown Away

      Dana Hotel - You blew me away. From the moment I stepped out of the cab, every staff member in the hotel treated me like royalty. To be honest, I expect nothing less when I travel. Breakfast at the freestyle was on point. The rooms were immaculate. My only complaint was with the spa - I didn't have time to book any services, but I did go down to use the sauna. The ladies at the desk directed me to the women's locker room where I found a cold steam room that smelled musty. If this was the only place for me to "sauna," I was truly disappointed. Otherwise, I cannot complain about a single aspect of my stay. Thank you, Dana Hotel, for the wonderful welcome to Chicago.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Trip purpose:

      Single

      Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

      Lula Cafe in Logan Square is absolutely one of my favorite dining spots in the world. They have an inspired menu that is constantly changing, a unique wine selection and mixologists behind the bar that really know how to make a drink.

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      1
      5.01.0
      Bill1976
      Single
      San Diego, CA, USA
      Jan 13, 2014

      Nightmare Checking in

      I checked in and they had no record of my stay. They called around on radios and 25 minutes later someone found a fax somewhere with my confirmation. Then they manually typed my reservation in and 40 minutes later I was checked into the room I booked. I was told by the front desk staff to contact them directly next time and pay the standard fare and I wouldnt have to wait.... really?

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      1
      Comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      1
      Trip purpose:

      Single

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Billy Whiskers
      Single
      Tulsa, OK
      Feb 10, 2013

      Dana Hotel, Chicago

      Great location (easy to get to everything). Staff super friendly. Rooms were modern with awesome natural light. Impressive Powerful Shower.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Trip purpose:

      Single

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Just a worker
      Single
      Chicago, Il
      Feb 2, 2013

      Not my style

      I booked this hotel at a below market rate deal, so I have no complaints on what I got for the price, but I tried to review it based on what my attitude would have been if I paid market. The room was dark, lighting seemed to be designed for a romatic interlude, I needed light to read and work by. The television was particularly frustrating. Signal lost regularly and stations I would expect to be included, MSNBC, for example, not included. The bathroom also lacked adequate lighting, the shower head was on the ceiling, not my idea of a good design. Part of the room was hardwood floors, which were cold and slippery. Looking for a drop dead design, I think, but not the functional hotel room I prefer. If you want the glitz without the substance, then this might work for you. If you want function, do not stay here.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Comfort:
      2
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      4
      Trip purpose:

      Single

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      MissAkay
      Single
      NYC
      Jan 15, 2013

      My new windy city spot

      I stayed here on my first visit to Chicago. It was really the perfect location and the staff was super friendly! Will definitely be staying here again.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Comfort:
      4
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Trip purpose:

      Single

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      jstdremn
      Single
      Phoenix, AZ
      May 22, 2012

      The Dana is Awesome

      I love this hotel. It's walking distance to everything, close to trains and the staff is wonderful. Anything I needed was at my disposal. Bed is way comfy and my room had a balcony which was an added plus. I loved being able to get fresh air without having to leave my room. I would stay at the Dana again and again. Only drawback was no pool/spa.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Trip purpose:

      Single

      Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

      The 7-11 is across the street and has whatever you forgot plus is an inexpensive way to keep water and snacks in your room.

      Back to menu Return to top