$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

dana hotel and spa

4 stars
View map of 660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for dana hotel and spa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
242 out of 242
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 3, 2009

Modern, chic and comfortable on a budget

It was a wonderful experience staying at the Dana Hotel and Spa. European comfort and style at a great price in downtown Chicago. Walking distance to John Hancock Tower, Watertower Place shopping and the northern part of the Miracle Mile. Tons of restaurants nearby to choose from as well as an outstanding, though expensive, hotel restaurant called Aja ("asia") Steakhouse. The room was more than comfortable for both sleep and work. Wireless internet started out with some minor issues but all the problems were resolved by the end of the stay and bandwidth was outstanding. Though I did not use the spa or fitness center, I did check it out and it appeared to be top notch and up-to-date. You won't find any old or unusable equipment. I am looking forward to my next stay in Chicago at the Dana Hotel and Spa. It's certainly more than 4 stars, close to 5 but I rarely give things 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a ton of good restaurants within a short walk from Hotel Dana. Everything from steak to Italian to pub food. I would say that there are easily 50 places to eat within a 10 minute walk. Some of my favorites are Portillo's for Italian Beef, the Weber Grill for Americana grilled food, Pops for Champagne for upscale drinks and small plates, Osteria via Stato and Quartino's for Italian. Last and certainly not least is Heaven on Seven for Cajun / Creole food -- outstanding and one of the places I always have to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mbsterp
Business
new york, ny
Jul 6, 2011

Noisy but grear location

nice rooms and amenities, but the noise from doors closing in the hallway was disruptive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dc
Aug 3, 2009

Accurate

Small hotel, but comfort was on a par with some of the best hotels anywhere. Very modern, sleek atmosphere inside and out. Very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel was in the middle of everything, but didn't seem so when inside.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ztkilla
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 7, 2010

2 year anniversary

The Dana had excellent customer service. It was our 2 year anniversary and they did nothing special for us. The rooms have a unique look with bare concrete ceilings throughout the building. The rooftop bar was crowded and closed at 11pm. The front desk lady was useless as far as helping us out. It seemed like I was a burden to her. I enjoyed my stay but next time I will try somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the Chicago pass

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 22, 2009

Very Nice Hotel next to Everything

Great Hotel in a great location, walking distance to everything you'll need to do in Chicago. Staff was very friendly and concierge's were more than helpful with restaurant recommendations. Rooms are great with a view and super clean. Great shower as well. Only negatives were that the rooms don't block out hallway or iPod player noise and TV doesn't have HD or movie ordering capability. Not much channel selection, but that's nit picking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Charles, MO
May 14, 2011

Great anniversary location!

The Dana hotel location was great for everything we did; sight seeing, eating, Cubs vs Cards game. The staff were all helpful and polite. We got an upgraded room because of a tv issue. The first room was nice with a balcony but the second room had 2 walls of windows with city views. Awesome!!! We ate breakfast both mornings at AJA and it was great both times. A little mold in the shower was the only down side. We plan to go back to Chicago and to stay at the Dana!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Uno's pizza isn't like the Uno's at home. This is the original and definitely worth the wait. Dave Burke's Primehouse was good but very noisey. We'll try a different steak house on our next visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ardsley, NY
Jul 27, 2008

Modern But a Little Too Quirky

This is an elegant and pleasant hotel, new and decorated stylishly, but the rooms and balconies are rather small (think Manhattan-sized almost). Spring for the balcony, though! This hotel is best for shorter stays. There is no dresser, and the closet is closed off with a sliding door that also serves the bathroom; if someone is in the bathroom, the closet is automatically open. Also, the shower is separated from the bedroom only by glass. With the steam you really can't see much, but still, the curtain is in the bedroom so this could create some weird privacy issues. The bigger problem is that even with the curtain being closed, the light comes through from the bathroom, so it's hard to get up without waking your partner. The staff is friendly (we got tired of greeting 5 people on our way to our room, but if that's your biggest complaint, I guess that's not so bad) but the concierge was clueless when we asked about the commuter train. Room service has a pretty good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's 7-11, Starbucks, and a grocery store just a quick walk away. Pick up a cheap breakfast and enjoy it on the balcony.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Oct 7, 2009

chicago trip

I would recommend this hotel and especially at the price you provided. It was very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CMW
Business
Central, New Jersey
Jul 6, 2009

A Vacation Unto Itself!

My wife and I stayed here to celebrate the long holiday weekend. We were able to get a corner room, which had floor to ceiling windows on the two street facing walls -- the windows make the room absolutely gorgeous. The bed is beyond comfortable, the shower is heavenly and each room has a flat screen t.v. and an iPod/iphone friendly $600 sound system. The concierege, [...], was terrific and most helpful. They honestly thought of everything when the made this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Latin American Restaurant Carnivale is not far from here. A gorgeous restaurant with fantastic food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fox Point, WI
Aug 3, 2008

New

This hotel felt very new. The beds were incredibly comfortable and the shower was pure fun. The staff is extremely pleasant. Try getting a room on a high floor to avoid hearing a little traffic. Very satisfied overall. Excellent strawberries with melted chocolate as a hello gift!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Laloopalooza!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top