$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

dana hotel and spa

4 stars
660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
343 reviews
ambience 5 stars

Excellent room with new age accommodations. The view wasn't good. Overlooking construction not to... See full review

  • last man standing
  • Jul 24, 2014
Doesn't get any better!

Absolutely fell in love with this hotel. Walking distance to everything. We stayed in a King Room... See full review

  • MsSquirt
  • Jul 22, 2014
Modern retreat for healthy living in downtown Chicago
The dana hotel and spa in Chicago's River North neighborhood balances the beauty of natural elements with the latest technology to create a modern retreat for healthy living. From the progressive health center to the Zeppelin MP3 media system in each room, the dana's core philosophy of wellness and individuality is expressed in all elements of the hotel. Bathed in natural light, the dana is an oasis of serene relaxation in a bustling city.
Highlights
  • Sweeping views at Vertigo Sky Lounge
  • Spa at dana and 24-hour fitness center
  • Enjoy American favorites with a global twist at freestyle food + drink
      Rooms
      Sleekly decorated with hints of Asian influence, standard rooms at the dana hotel and spa feature a half wall of floor-to-ceiling windows and walkout balconies. Serenity is infused in everything from the natural, sustainable floors to the 300-thread count Egyptian cotton sheets over pillow-top mattresses. Glass separates bath from boudoir and illuminates the shower rooms, featuring Italian rain shower fixtures and handcrafted tiles.
      Features
      With its mantra “the pleasure of giving,” the dana hotel and spa sets out to deliver a unique experience to its visitors. The spa offers an extensive array of treatments, from prenatal massages and organic manicures to customized facials and Italian mud body wraps. The focus on wellness continues through the high-tech fitness center, which is outfitted with Italian TechnoGym Kinetic Equipment to promote fluid motion.

      Vertigo Sky Lounge is Chicago’s premiere year-round indoor/outdoor lounge. With the dramatic city skyline as a backdrop, Vertigo is the ideal place to mix it up after work or into the night. It features a dancing fire pit, lush modern furnishings, craft cocktails and happy hour menus. New this summer is the Bartender’s Booth, where patrons can sample craft cocktails and off-menu bites while engaging with their very own mixologist.

      Guests can also head to freestyle food + drink on site to sample American favorites with a global twist during breakfast, lunch, dinner, and happy hour. The restaurant also has a street-side patio for outdoor dining (as weather permits).
      Transportation
      • O’Hare International Airport (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
      • Midway Airport (9.7 mi/15.7 km)
      • Blue Line (Jackson/Lake) (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
      • Orange Line (Chicago/Lake) (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • McCormick Place Convention Center (3 mi/4.9 km)
      Attractions
      • Michigan Avenue (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
      • Magnificent Mile (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
      • Wrigley Building (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
      • Tribune Tower (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
      • Merchandise Mart (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
      • Oak Street Beach (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
      • The Loop (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • Art Institute of Chicago (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • Willis (Sears) Tower (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
      • Navy Pier (1.3 mi/2 km)
      Business
      • Fully equipped business center
      • Meeting rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, high-speed Internet access and audio/visual equipment
      Policies and Fees
      • Overnight parking charge is $39 per night plus tax and unlimited in/out privileges

      This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

      Hotel Map

      41.8942 -87.6282
      Area served
      Chicago.
      Nearby airports
      O Hare Airport 17 miles , Midway Airport 13 miles.
      Area description
      The dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's river north which is known for hosting the largest concentration of art galleries in the United States outside of Manhattan. Apart from the art galleries there is the Magnificent Mile one of the hottest shopping streets in the US. Chicago is also home to some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife.

      Recommendations for you

      Customers who viewed dana hotel and spa also booked these hotels.

      Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
      Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
      Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

      dana hotel and spa Rooms

      Serene King
      Our Serene King Room features one king bed and a full wall of floor to ceiling windows that offer a view of State Street. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include: a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
      Cozy King
      Our Cozy King Room features a walk out balcony while offering a slightly smaller, yet efficient and quaint space. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
      Corner King
      Our Corner King Room features one king bed and two walls of floor to ceiling windows that offer a panoramic view of the city and a more spacious feel. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.

      Amenities

      • WiFi
      General
      Concierge
      Pet friendly
      Activities
      Fitness Center
      Spa
      Dining
      Restaurant
      Room service
      Services
      Business center
      Conference facilities
      Internet
      WiFi
      Accessibility
      Handicapped rooms/facilities

      Nearby points of interest

      • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
      • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
      • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
      • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
      • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
      • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
      • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
      • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
      • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
      • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
      • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
      • Marina City: 0.4 mi
      • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
      • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
      • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
      • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
      • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
      • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
      • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
      • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
      • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
      • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
      • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
      • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
      • Marina City: 0.4 mi
      • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
      • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
      • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
      • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
      • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
      • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
      • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
      • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
      • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
      • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
      • Macys: 0.7 mi
      • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
      • City Hall: 0.7 mi
      • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
      • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
      • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
      • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
      • State Street: 0.8 mi
      • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
      • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
      • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
      • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
      • Opera House: 0.9 mi
      • Children Museum: 1 mi
      • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
      • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
      • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
      • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
      • Yacht Club: 1.1 mi
      • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
      • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

      Dining

      freestyle food + drink
      At freestyle food + drink we have a passion for food and a desire to share that passion. We add a pinch of this and a dash of that to create american tastes with a twist of global influence. freestyle is open for breakfast, lunch, happy hour, dinner and weekend brunch.
      Vertigo Sky Lounge
      Cocktails and catsuits perched 26 floors above the Dana hotel and spa. Relaxed conversations in a high fidelity sushi bar offer an escape from the mainstream.

      Hotel Policies

      Check-in:
      0300
      Check-out:
      1200

      Terms and conditions

      Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

      The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

      Back to menu Return to top

      Guest Reviews (343)

      Ratings and reviews for dana hotel and spa

      Overall score

      4.2 / 5
      5.01.0
      343 out of 343
      Amenities:
      4.2
      Room cleanliness:
      4.6
      Hotel staff:
      4.5
      Room comfort:
      4.4
      Location:
      4.6
      Value:
      4.2

      91% would recommend to a friend.

      Sort by:
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      Principal Hotel Designer
      Business
      Las Vegas, NV
      Aug 4, 2012

      Dana Hotel Delivers

      For a group of discriminating hospitality designers, this jewel of a hotel embodies our definition of boutique hotel. Its clean modern urban design captivates our sensibilities and comfort. It was a great find, and we will visit again. Check-in was smooth and even with an elevator glitch- they accommodated all guests with a cool beverage in the Lobby to make up for the inconvenience. Breakfast service was a bit slow at 6:30 am, but we were able to check out and make our appointment on time.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      5
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Chicago Lover
      Chicago, IL
      May 26, 2012

      Relaxing but overpriced

      The staff was friendly for check in and check out, but when inquiring on things to do, they weren't very helpful. The bartender was nice until we tipped 15% on our tab, I'm sorry but a $10 tip on a $50 check for a couple of beers and a mixed drink doesn't seem bad to me! There was no pool or things to do other than being in the room or going to the restaurant or bar. The penthouse rooftop bar was absolutely amazing but as mentioned very expensive, as was the downstairs restaurant. They do kick everyone out of the outdoor part of the bar by midnight and don't give any notice, they just tell everyone to go inside 'right now'. The room was beautiful as was the view, but while we looked forward to a nice balcony to sit on, the balcony is so small you can't even fit a chair on it. The rainfall shower was amazing, but for some reason the room was set up to have a curtain on the outside of the bathroom, so anyone in the room can see into the bathroom or shower, so this hotel is not recommended for anyone other than couples. Location was great for downtown Chicago, especially shopping, but parking was listed at $43 for the night and the garage a block down is still $41 a night. They would not give us a late check out unless we called up first thing in the morning for this, and we really wanted to be able to sleep in while on vacation, so we had to rush out by noon. They did offer to store luggage after check out. Overall, beautiful hotel but I probably wouldn't spend that much to stay there again.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

      Lincoln Park Zoo was a blast and free! They do charge $20 to park so try to take the bus.

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      jstdremn
      Phoenix, AZ
      May 22, 2012

      The Dana is Awesome

      I love this hotel. It's walking distance to everything, close to trains and the staff is wonderful. Anything I needed was at my disposal. Bed is way comfy and my room had a balcony which was an added plus. I loved being able to get fresh air without having to leave my room. I would stay at the Dana again and again. Only drawback was no pool/spa.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

      The 7-11 is across the street and has whatever you forgot plus is an inexpensive way to keep water and snacks in your room.

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      HD442
      Business
      Michigan, USA
      Apr 6, 2012

      Hotel review

      Friendly staff, great location, great bed and choice of pillows. Nice Flat sreen TV and rainhead shower

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

      Self park 1/2 block North and save 10%

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      DDD118
      Evanston, IL, USA
      Mar 4, 2012

      Great Couples or Singles Space in Chicago

      We booked just one night in a comfy king. The size was fine for a couple with smaller bags, but if you were doing a longer stay with bulky luggage, it could be an issue. I initially thought the bed was a little soft, but had a great night's sleep. The shower is incredible. I didn't have a ton of interaction with the staff, but they were always friendly, quick, and helpful. We stayed on a middle floor and had a good view with minimal noise, but I did hear the check-in folks warning that the top floors can get noisy on weekends because they have a club on the top floor. While we were there, we got room service breakfast which was actually fantastic (granola and breakfast club), and my partner had a massage which was reportedly great. I think we'll definitely head back.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      4
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      blueiyze
      Business
      New York, NY, USA
      Dec 9, 2011

      Amazing!

      I had a fantastic time here. Amenities and cleanliness were just great, very comfortable bed and sexy shower. The ONLY downside of the hotel is that is was extremely difficult to get a cell phone signal inside the room. I had to stand on the balcony to find even a single 'bar' of signal. Perhaps has to do with the location or side of the building you are on.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      fenderman
      Keokuk, IA
      Dec 5, 2011

      Very nice room and view

      The location was grest. The room was described as a "cozy comfort" room. That is a fair description. It was not large, but fit our needs very well. We loved the room and the view out the full-height window. We would consider the same room the next time

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      mrs. lark
      Dearborn, MI, USA
      Oct 30, 2011

      fun mother /daughter getaway nice spa

      Nice hotel and spa for the price. Friendly helpful staff. Would stay again and liked the location of the hotel.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      4
      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      E'leaven nice breakfast and lunch spot. Delicious coconut oatmeal and other breakfast items.

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      LCVAC
      New York, NY, USA
      Oct 11, 2011

      Restful getaway

      Enjoyed our stay at the Dana Hotel. Great location - walking distance to many attractions. Extremely comfortable beds and helpful staff.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      4
      Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

      Second City Comedy Club - a riot!

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      dgg27
      México
      Sep 3, 2011

      very small room

      the location was great just 3 blocks from the main shopping street and lake, the bed was comfortable but the room was too small. i didin´t expect that at all. had a little trouble with the remote control and the towels but its an ok hotel overall. one night i felt sick and asked for aspirine and they didint have any, im used to an emergency kit or minimum aspirin at the reception. the hotel is good it just needs a little details to make it great. (exept for the room size)

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      3
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      3
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      gianello´s!!! delicious stuffed pizza

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      dgg27
      México
      Sep 3, 2011

      very small room

      the location was great just 3 blocks from the main shopping street and lake, the bed was comfortable but the room was too small. i didin´t expect that at all. had a little trouble with the remote control and the towels but its an ok hotel overall. one night i felt sick and asked for aspirine and they didint have any, im used to an emergency kit or minimum aspirin at the reception. the hotel is good it just needs a little details to make it great. (exept for the room size)

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      3
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      3
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      gianello´s!!! delicious stuffed pizza

      Back to menu Return to top