$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

dana hotel and spa

4 stars
660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
222 reviews
Couldn't have found a better place

The hotel rooms are very clean, comfortable and luxury! It's very close to a subway station and has... See full review

  • Gabriela Santos
  • Nov 17, 2014
Excellent business experience

I was here on business for three days and had an excellent stay. The staff was extremely friendly... See full review

  • Dedham Mark
  • Oct 27, 2014
Boutique luxury is the Dana hotel and spa. A stylish and comfortable, upscale in-room experience awaits the Dana hotel and spa guest. Personalized service blends with modern technology and luxurious furnishings to create luxury boutique service unlike other Chicago hotels. Amenities include 24 hour room service, wireless high speed internet, Spa and Dana, Vertigo Sky Lounge, valet parking, valet laundry, Private wine reserves, , rainfall showerheads, 37 flat screen LCD TVs, zeppelin mp3 media system, in room safes, luxurious bathrobes, all cotton terry bath towels, Keurig coffee makers, and 300 thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets. The 216 guest rooms, including 22 suites, feature generously-sized spa-like showers, walnut wood floors, and exposed concrete ceilings. Floor-to-ceiling windows offer expansive city views, and many rooms also have an outdoor balcony. Dana's philosophy of wellness and individuality continues at the hotel spa. Accessible and inviting services are tailored to meet your unique needs. Between meetings or for a weekend away - in room or in spa.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed dana hotel and spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

dana hotel and spa Rooms

Serene King
Our Serene King Room features one king bed and a full wall of floor to ceiling windows that offer a view of State Street. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include: a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
Cozy King
Our Cozy King Room features a walk out balcony while offering a slightly smaller, yet efficient and quaint space. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
Corner King
Our Corner King Room features one king bed and two walls of floor to ceiling windows that offer a panoramic view of the city and a more spacious feel. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

Dining

freestyle food + drink
At freestyle food + drink we have a passion for food and a desire to share that passion. We add a pinch of this and a dash of that to create american tastes with a twist of global influence. freestyle is open for breakfast, lunch, happy hour, dinner and weekend brunch.
Vertigo Sky Lounge
Cocktails and catsuits perched 26 floors above the Dana hotel and spa. Relaxed conversations in a high fidelity sushi bar offer an escape from the mainstream.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (222)

Ratings and reviews for dana hotel and spa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
222 out of 222
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jstdremn
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 22, 2012

The Dana is Awesome

I love this hotel. It's walking distance to everything, close to trains and the staff is wonderful. Anything I needed was at my disposal. Bed is way comfy and my room had a balcony which was an added plus. I loved being able to get fresh air without having to leave my room. I would stay at the Dana again and again. Only drawback was no pool/spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The 7-11 is across the street and has whatever you forgot plus is an inexpensive way to keep water and snacks in your room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Lover
Business
Chicago, IL
May 26, 2012

Relaxing but overpriced

The staff was friendly for check in and check out, but when inquiring on things to do, they weren't very helpful. The bartender was nice until we tipped 15% on our tab, I'm sorry but a $10 tip on a $50 check for a couple of beers and a mixed drink doesn't seem bad to me! There was no pool or things to do other than being in the room or going to the restaurant or bar. The penthouse rooftop bar was absolutely amazing but as mentioned very expensive, as was the downstairs restaurant. They do kick everyone out of the outdoor part of the bar by midnight and don't give any notice, they just tell everyone to go inside 'right now'. The room was beautiful as was the view, but while we looked forward to a nice balcony to sit on, the balcony is so small you can't even fit a chair on it. The rainfall shower was amazing, but for some reason the room was set up to have a curtain on the outside of the bathroom, so anyone in the room can see into the bathroom or shower, so this hotel is not recommended for anyone other than couples. Location was great for downtown Chicago, especially shopping, but parking was listed at $43 for the night and the garage a block down is still $41 a night. They would not give us a late check out unless we called up first thing in the morning for this, and we really wanted to be able to sleep in while on vacation, so we had to rush out by noon. They did offer to store luggage after check out. Overall, beautiful hotel but I probably wouldn't spend that much to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lincoln Park Zoo was a blast and free! They do charge $20 to park so try to take the bus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rhodan
Business
Santa Rosa, California
Aug 29, 2012

Perfect location; price is appropriate; staff is fantastic!

The decor of the hotel is beautiful -- I loved it. There were also great separate areas to meet friends, drink, eat and dance, including the top floor Vertigo, a really neat bar and restaurant with great views, indoor and outdoor seating and standing when it's crowded! The downstairs restaurant was also excellent (Argent). The staff, however, made the big difference in all manners. They were very helpful, lots of fun, nice to talk to, went way out of their way to help us with some special dinner plans--they were just fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

For me, my favorite part of the vacation was swimming in Lake Michigan, a short walk from the hotel. The sand was clean, water was 75 F, waves a little choppy, water was clean and a special area was marked out with buoys for distance swimmers. As I swam a half-mile out along the shore and then back again to the beach, it was eerie and beautiful to be swimming "through a forest of skyscrapers", as each one glided by my view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evermore Tech
Business
Edina, MN
Sep 5, 2012

A good stay

We didn't spend a ton of time at the hotel, but from what we saw, the spa and fitness center were a good bonus. The value was great though, and the location and rooftop lounge were perfect for what we wanted out of our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fenderman
Business
Keokuk, IA
Dec 3, 2012

A good choice

The room was very nice, neat, clean and attractive. The included breakfasts were some of the best we have had. It's location about 2 minutes from the Michigan Ave. bridge is very convenient. Both the Loop and Water Tower Place are within 15 minutes' walk. Millennium Park is Five minutes away. The check-in area seemed to be a construction site and much of the public area seemed to be a bit dirty and unkempt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cubswinwoo
Business
Virginia Beach
Dec 18, 2012

Great Location and Friendly Staff

We purchased our stay with a good discount so it ended up being a fantastic deal for us. Great location and really cool hotel. I would definitely come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great hotel if you want a short walk to most of the popular theatres.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Char637
Business
Indy
Jan 9, 2013

Sister Birthday Getaway

Staff was welcoming and courteous. Location was awesome we could walk everywhere if it wasn't too cold. The elevators were slow though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MayEE
Business
Australia
Jan 14, 2013

Great stay - comfortable, friendly, good location

Had a great stay! Good location for Chicago, only a short 2 blocks to the mag mile (Michigan ave) & from the red line subway stop. Staff were very helpful & friendly. Rooms are modern & comfortable - love the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Garrets popcorn (Chicago mix is a must) - available just off mag mile and go see Buddy Guy's legends for blues or Green Mill for jazz.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PEDRO AND CASSANDRA
Business
DETROIT, MICH
Jan 17, 2013

Ideal location for Chicago Sightseeing!

The entire staff were A-1, friendly, courteous, & very helpful in a multitude of ways. Made for a relaxing experience. We found the room a bit cramped & not conducive to spending much time there. As our objective was seeing friends & dining out, we were not upset & felt we got our money's worth. It was comparable to other places we've gotten on "super special" rates. The local was ideal for walking to the Miracle Mile & visiting nice restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

EGGPERIENCE RESTAURANT AT THE CORNER OF DEARBORN & ONTARIO STREETS. GREAT SPOT FOR BREAKFAST!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L.W.R.
Business
Austin
Jan 22, 2013

Only one problem...

This is one of my favorite hotels in Chicago. The rooms are great and the beds are extremely comfortable. The hotel is located in the heart of great shopping and dining. Two of the 3 rooms we booked were great. One room however was on the 23rd floor and had a lot of noise from the music coming from the rooftop club. My friends that were on the 14th and 7th floor did not have any noise issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top