$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

dana hotel and spa

4 stars
View map of 660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for dana hotel and spa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
253 out of 253
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenna & Matt
Business
MD
Oct 13, 2010

Pretty chic place!

My husband and I spent a long weekend at the Dana. We're new to the concept of disposable income and consider ourselves both would-be design junkies and foodies, so the Dana was right up our alley. The room was small, but comfortable and very aesthetically pleasing... except for the bathroom door that didn't shut well (or sometimes at all). The door to the room was also apparently not all that hefty, since we could hear basically everything going on in the hallway. But it never got so raucous that we took issue with that. Also, we loved the rainfall shower heads! The staff were great. We took advantage of the spa services and found them to our liking, even if the masseurs were a little light-handed for our taste. Perhaps best of all, the restaurant downstairs was REALLY tasty and not breathtakingly expensive. Service tended to be swift, even when the place was busy, and the portions were generous, even from the "small plates" menu. Even though it was a bit of a hike to the most touristy- tourist things, it was pleasant enough that we would absolutely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jon
Business
Whitstable, Kent
Oct 25, 2010

Great modern design

I travel from the UK to Chicago often for business - this was a really nice hotel - Great location, very efficient staff, rooms very modern and a good size. I had a corner King room which had floor to ceiling windows, which meant views were great - though could be a bit too open to neighbours across the street, and if you are sharing a room with someone who is not your partner, then the clear view into the bathroom would be interesting !! For me the only negative points was the slow service for breakfast whilst I stayed and the smell of the kitchen permeating into the restaurant - I think they need to change their oil. Otherwise, a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two great Italians less than a block away - Quartino's is a great place to go with a group of friends - very lively, and Osteria Via Stato a more sedate and classy venue, great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
May 7, 2011

Great hotel, great location

Great location, professional service, very nicely designed and appointed rooms... whether for business or for romance, this place is a great set up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to everything!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sparty 5
Business
Springfield, Virginia
Aug 19, 2011

Great Chicago Hotel

The front desk staff was awesome and the rooms look great - can be a little loud but if you can put up with a little noise then its worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LCVAC
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Restful getaway

Enjoyed our stay at the Dana Hotel. Great location - walking distance to many attractions. Extremely comfortable beds and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Second City Comedy Club - a riot!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrs. lark
Business
Dearborn, MI, USA
Oct 30, 2011

fun mother /daughter getaway nice spa

Nice hotel and spa for the price. Friendly helpful staff. Would stay again and liked the location of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

E'leaven nice breakfast and lunch spot. Delicious coconut oatmeal and other breakfast items.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fenderman
Business
Keokuk, IA
Dec 5, 2011

Very nice room and view

The location was grest. The room was described as a "cozy comfort" room. That is a fair description. It was not large, but fit our needs very well. We loved the room and the view out the full-height window. We would consider the same room the next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blueiyze
Business
New York, NY, USA
Dec 9, 2011

Amazing!

I had a fantastic time here. Amenities and cleanliness were just great, very comfortable bed and sexy shower. The ONLY downside of the hotel is that is was extremely difficult to get a cell phone signal inside the room. I had to stand on the balcony to find even a single 'bar' of signal. Perhaps has to do with the location or side of the building you are on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DDD118
Business
Evanston, IL, USA
Mar 4, 2012

Great Couples or Singles Space in Chicago

We booked just one night in a comfy king. The size was fine for a couple with smaller bags, but if you were doing a longer stay with bulky luggage, it could be an issue. I initially thought the bed was a little soft, but had a great night's sleep. The shower is incredible. I didn't have a ton of interaction with the staff, but they were always friendly, quick, and helpful. We stayed on a middle floor and had a good view with minimal noise, but I did hear the check-in folks warning that the top floors can get noisy on weekends because they have a club on the top floor. While we were there, we got room service breakfast which was actually fantastic (granola and breakfast club), and my partner had a massage which was reportedly great. I think we'll definitely head back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HD442
Business
Michigan, USA
Apr 6, 2012

Hotel review

Friendly staff, great location, great bed and choice of pillows. Nice Flat sreen TV and rainhead shower

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Self park 1/2 block North and save 10%

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top