dana hotel and spa

4 stars
660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
341 reviews
Great stay in Chicago

This hotel is in a fantasic location with very helpful staff and everything you need to have a... See full review

  • Anne on the run
  • Apr 28, 2014
Loved it.

Best place to de-stress & enjoy Chicago. Staff was very attentive to all my needs. See full review

  • Anne on the run
  • Apr 26, 2014
Modern retreat for healthy living in downtown Chicago
The dana hotel and spa in Chicago's River North neighborhood balances the beauty of natural elements with the latest technology to create a modern retreat for healthy living. From the progressive health center to the Zeppelin MP3 media system in each room, the dana's core philosophy of wellness and individuality is expressed in all elements of the hotel. Bathed in natural light, the dana is an oasis of serene relaxation in a bustling city.
Highlights
  • Sweeping views at Vertigo Sky Lounge
  • Spa at dana and 24-hour fitness center
  • Enjoy American favorites with a global twist at freestyle food + drink
      Rooms
      Sleekly decorated with hints of Asian influence, standard rooms at the dana hotel and spa feature a half wall of floor-to-ceiling windows and walkout balconies. Serenity is infused in everything from the natural, sustainable floors to the 300-thread count Egyptian cotton sheets over pillow-top mattresses. Glass separates bath from boudoir and illuminates the shower rooms, featuring Italian rain shower fixtures and handcrafted tiles.
      Features
      With its mantra “the pleasure of giving,” the dana hotel and spa sets out to deliver a unique experience to its visitors. The spa offers an extensive array of treatments, from prenatal massages and organic manicures to customized facials and Italian mud body wraps. The focus on wellness continues through the high-tech fitness center, which is outfitted with Italian TechnoGym Kinetic Equipment to promote fluid motion.

      Vertigo Sky Lounge is Chicago’s premiere year-round indoor/outdoor lounge. With the dramatic city skyline as a backdrop, Vertigo is the ideal place to mix it up after work or into the night. It features a dancing fire pit, lush modern furnishings, craft cocktails and happy hour menus. New this summer is the Bartender’s Booth, where patrons can sample craft cocktails and off-menu bites while engaging with their very own mixologist.

      Guests can also head to freestyle food + drink on site to sample American favorites with a global twist during breakfast, lunch, dinner, and happy hour. The restaurant also has a street-side patio for outdoor dining (as weather permits).
      Transportation
      • O’Hare International Airport (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
      • Midway Airport (9.7 mi/15.7 km)
      • Blue Line (Jackson/Lake) (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
      • Orange Line (Chicago/Lake) (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • McCormick Place Convention Center (3 mi/4.9 km)
      Attractions
      • Michigan Avenue (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
      • Magnificent Mile (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
      • Wrigley Building (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
      • Tribune Tower (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
      • Merchandise Mart (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
      • Oak Street Beach (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
      • The Loop (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • Art Institute of Chicago (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • Willis (Sears) Tower (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
      • Navy Pier (1.3 mi/2 km)
      Business
      • Fully equipped business center
      • Meeting rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, high-speed Internet access and audio/visual equipment
      Policies and Fees
      • Overnight parking charge is $39 per night plus tax and unlimited in/out privileges

      This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

      dana hotel and spa Rooms

      Serene King
      Our Serene King Room features one king bed and a full wall of floor to ceiling windows that offer a view of State Street. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include: a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
      Cozy King
      Our Cozy King Room features a walk out balcony while offering a slightly smaller, yet efficient and quaint space. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
      Corner King
      Our Corner King Room features one king bed and two walls of floor to ceiling windows that offer a panoramic view of the city and a more spacious feel. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.

      Amenities

      • WiFi
      General
      Concierge
      Pet friendly
      Activities
      Fitness Center
      Spa
      Dining
      Restaurant
      Room service
      Services
      Business center
      Conference facilities
      Internet
      WiFi
      Accessibility
      Handicapped rooms/facilities

      Hotel Map

      41.8942 -87.6282
      Area served
      Chicago.
      Nearby airports
      O Hare Airport 17 miles , Midway Airport 13 miles.
      Area description
      The dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's river north which is known for hosting the largest concentration of art galleries in the United States outside of Manhattan. Apart from the art galleries there is the Magnificent Mile one of the hottest shopping streets in the US. Chicago is also home to some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife.

      Nearby points of interest

      • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
      • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
      • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
      • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
      • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
      • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
      • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
      • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
      • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
      • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
      • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
      • Marina City: 0.4 mi
      • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
      • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
      • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
      • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
      • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
      • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
      • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
      • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
      • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
      • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
      • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
      • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
      • Marina City: 0.4 mi
      • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
      • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
      • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
      • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
      • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
      • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
      • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
      • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
      • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
      • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
      • Macys: 0.7 mi
      • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
      • City Hall: 0.7 mi
      • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
      • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
      • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
      • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
      • State Street: 0.8 mi
      • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
      • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
      • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
      • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
      • Opera House: 0.9 mi
      • Children Museum: 1 mi
      • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
      • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
      • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
      • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
      • Yacht Club: 1.1 mi
      • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
      • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

      Dining

      freestyle food + drink
      At freestyle food + drink we have a passion for food and a desire to share that passion. We add a pinch of this and a dash of that to create american tastes with a twist of global influence. freestyle is open for breakfast, lunch, happy hour, dinner and weekend brunch.
      Vertigo Sky Lounge
      Cocktails and catsuits perched 26 floors above the Dana hotel and spa. Relaxed conversations in a high fidelity sushi bar offer an escape from the mainstream.

      Hotel Policies

      Check-in:
      0300
      Check-out:
      1200

      Terms and conditions

      Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

      The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

      Back to menu Return to top

      Guest Reviews (341)

      Ratings and reviews for dana hotel and spa

      Overall score

      4.2 / 5
      5.01.0
      341 out of 341
      Amenities:
      4.2
      Room cleanliness:
      4.6
      Hotel staff:
      4.4
      Room comfort:
      4.4
      Location:
      4.6
      Value:
      4.2

      91% would recommend to a friend.

      Sort by:
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Washington, DC
      Jul 6, 2010

      The staff make the hotel

      The hotel is chic, fun and in a great location, the seemingly best of all worlds. We were on the 25th floor, the gorgeous top, with a stunning view--perfect! Until we realized Vertigo Sky Bar was on floor 26... and the bass was impecably loud. Luckily that was masked by the unbearably deafening roar of our air conditioning unit. When coupled with the noxious natural gas smell that only seeped out of the AC unit at 3 am every night, the room became unliveable. Yes, the bed was comfortable and the rain shower was glorious, but that gets completely overshadowed by the aformentioned failings. As for room service, the girl who took our order and served us was fantastically sweet. The menu, however, was lacking at best. Sure, fanciful options paired to be at the forefront of the food scene do make the menu standout. But when you want a meal to just be something familiar and kind to your stomach, this does not suffice. Plus the limited options did not help much. Honestly, the best part of our stay was the service. The front desk and concierge were both extremely helpful, prompt and caring. Anything we asked was answered properly and with a genuine smile. Though billing issues did arise (we were charged for parking though never had a car), the staff responded positively and removed the unfounded charges. We greatly appreciated everything they did... too bad someone wasn't an AC repairman too!

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      2
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      3
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Just a worker
      Chicago, Il
      Feb 2, 2013

      Not my style

      I booked this hotel at a below market rate deal, so I have no complaints on what I got for the price, but I tried to review it based on what my attitude would have been if I paid market. The room was dark, lighting seemed to be designed for a romatic interlude, I needed light to read and work by. The television was particularly frustrating. Signal lost regularly and stations I would expect to be included, MSNBC, for example, not included. The bathroom also lacked adequate lighting, the shower head was on the ceiling, not my idea of a good design. Part of the room was hardwood floors, which were cold and slippery. Looking for a drop dead design, I think, but not the functional hotel room I prefer. If you want the glitz without the substance, then this might work for you. If you want function, do not stay here.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      2
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      4
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Lake George, New York
      Jul 29, 2009

      Chicago with Friends

      The Dana was in an excellent location near the Magnificent Mile. The bell service, concierge and breakfast servers were excellent. The continental breakfast was very nice. The bed and bathroom were nice. The reception desk did not inform us about breakfast, how the elevators work and where the elevators were located. These seem like the routine info all guests need. the wireless internet got a very weak signal or didn't work at all which was of great importance everyday to us. The hotel staff was unresponsive or unable to fix it. The hotel did have 2 computers for guest use but in a very dark, hard to read area.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      2
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

      The sightseeing bus advertises that it takes 1 1/2 hours but it took 3 hours the Sat we went. It gave us an overview of the city but it is more efficient to take a city bus once you decide which sights you'd like to see. Chicago was a beautiful city with many things to see for adults and children. The city is clean but we rarely saw police. Just about every place we went the people were helpful and friendly. We used the airport shuttle to get to and from the airport. It was fine when arriving at the airport but we were very anxious waiting to return to the airport. Next time we will take a cab back to the airport since we'll have more control over the time we leave. Unfortunately it will be more costly both ways.

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Las Vegas
      Apr 25, 2010

      Disappointed.

      We were disappointed by our stay at the Dana. The room was very small and dark: There were no windows, and the only sunlight and view was via a small door to a small balcony. In fact, the room was so small that there wasn't a dresser for your clothes. The doormen, the front desk and the bellmen were terrific, but when we ask a staffer on our floor for a coffee cup, we were told by him to go downstairs to get one, instead of taking it upon himself to help us. We have stayed in numerous Chicago hotels and, for the money, it was disappointing.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      2
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      2
      Room comfort:
      3
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      2
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Clean super freak!!!
      St. Louis, MO
      Jun 27, 2011

      Great location & amazing shower

      The hotel location was wonderful, the room was very sleek and trendy, amazing,shower, average cleanliness, poor desk service but great curb side service. Great single cup coffee maker. Better than average but lacked service and it was not very clean for a newer hotel. Granted I am a CLEAN freak.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      2
      Room cleanliness:
      3
      Hotel staff:
      3
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      3
      Value:
      3
      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      Joes Seafood

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Business
      Iowa City
      Jul 15, 2011

      Business trip

      Nice, clean hotel with decent views. Had a corner king room, however the place was incredibly loud all night and could hardly fall asleep. Plus not sure if the air conditioner was working or not but the room was way too hot for my comfort. Nice bar downstairs for drinks but would probably not stay here again due to the noise.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      3
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Westchester NY
      Mar 22, 2011

      Okay but street noise

      The hotel is located in the downtown area. There seem to be sirens sounding off every half and hour to forty-five mintues. I was on the Twenty-thrid floor. I ask about it they say that is normal. If you are looking for quite this is not the place. It woke me up at least three times my first night there. I only went for a wedding and that was the hotel recommended for the guest.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      3
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      If you like chinese Ben Pao is the place on the corner of Illinois and Dearborne street. Uno for good deepdish pizza on Ohio and Wabush. Good Luck

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Las Vegas
      Apr 25, 2010

      Disappointed.

      We were disappointed by our stay at the Dana. The room was very small and dark: There were no windows, and the only sunlight and view was via a small door to a small balcony. In fact, the room was so small that there wasn't a dresser for your clothes. The doormen, the front desk and the bellmen were terrific, but when we ask a staffer on our floor for a coffee cup, we were told by him to go downstairs to get one, instead of taking it upon himself to help us. We have stayed in numerous Chicago hotels and, for the money, it was disappointing.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      2
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      2
      Room comfort:
      3
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      2
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      CW Grad Parents
      Vermont
      Jun 18, 2014

      Graduation trip

      Location and staff were excellent, and we loved our little balcony overlooking the city. However, the room was a bit small and lacked sufficient lighting. The ceiling was unfinished concrete, which detracted from the overall appearance, and the curtain between the room and bath along with shared closet/bath door was awkward.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      3
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      3
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      dgg27
      México
      Sep 3, 2011

      very small room

      the location was great just 3 blocks from the main shopping street and lake, the bed was comfortable but the room was too small. i didin´t expect that at all. had a little trouble with the remote control and the towels but its an ok hotel overall. one night i felt sick and asked for aspirine and they didint have any, im used to an emergency kit or minimum aspirin at the reception. the hotel is good it just needs a little details to make it great. (exept for the room size)

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      3
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      3
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      gianello´s!!! delicious stuffed pizza

      Back to menu Return to top