$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

dana hotel and spa

4 stars
View map of 660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for dana hotel and spa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mz Thompson
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 2, 2010

Dana Hotel

I had a horrible trip into chicago. When I finally got to the hotel, the staff saw I was upset; went above and beyond to make my stay there pleasurable. Staff very friendly. Concierge service: Excellent. they helped us find great places to eat and shopping. No complaints what so ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Michigan Ave. A short walk from the hotel. All the stores and shops you can think of. Great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling New Yorker
Business
New York
Jul 13, 2010

First Chi Town Visit

The hotel was very nice, although it was the first one I've ever had to go up one floor to get to the front desk. We had a corner room on the 7th floor, which gave us a decent view of the city. The room, which had ample space, was clean and had all the amenities we needed. My gf wanted another tea pod for the coffee maker on our second morning, but a call downstairs didn't have one replaced till later in the day - this was pretty much the only wrinkle in our stay. The restaurant downstairs was very good too and the bar on the top floor seemed like a good spot to hang out at night. The hotel is just a couple of blocks away from the "Mag Mile" and is in a location close to plenty of restaurants and shops. The only time we needed to take a cab was to go the Briar Street Theater to catch the Blue Man Group show - which is VERY entertaining/funny. This was our first visit to Chicago, and hopefully not our last! I almost forgot - the beds were soooo comfy. One of the best I've slept on at a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Willis (Sears) tower and the Navy Pier are both within walking distance and are both worth the walk. The concierge can also recommend boat tours, which are located up Michigan Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
foodmike
Business
Arcadia
Jul 21, 2010

Dana Hotel

was an excellent stay - the restaurant in the hotel is outstanding- the Hamachi Guacamole is killer. Truly enjoyed the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Frontera Grill and XOCO

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenna & Matt
Business
MD
Oct 13, 2010

Pretty chic place!

My husband and I spent a long weekend at the Dana. We're new to the concept of disposable income and consider ourselves both would-be design junkies and foodies, so the Dana was right up our alley. The room was small, but comfortable and very aesthetically pleasing... except for the bathroom door that didn't shut well (or sometimes at all). The door to the room was also apparently not all that hefty, since we could hear basically everything going on in the hallway. But it never got so raucous that we took issue with that. Also, we loved the rainfall shower heads! The staff were great. We took advantage of the spa services and found them to our liking, even if the masseurs were a little light-handed for our taste. Perhaps best of all, the restaurant downstairs was REALLY tasty and not breathtakingly expensive. Service tended to be swift, even when the place was busy, and the portions were generous, even from the "small plates" menu. Even though it was a bit of a hike to the most touristy- tourist things, it was pleasant enough that we would absolutely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jon
Business
Whitstable, Kent
Oct 25, 2010

Great modern design

I travel from the UK to Chicago often for business - this was a really nice hotel - Great location, very efficient staff, rooms very modern and a good size. I had a corner King room which had floor to ceiling windows, which meant views were great - though could be a bit too open to neighbours across the street, and if you are sharing a room with someone who is not your partner, then the clear view into the bathroom would be interesting !! For me the only negative points was the slow service for breakfast whilst I stayed and the smell of the kitchen permeating into the restaurant - I think they need to change their oil. Otherwise, a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two great Italians less than a block away - Quartino's is a great place to go with a group of friends - very lively, and Osteria Via Stato a more sedate and classy venue, great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
May 7, 2011

Great hotel, great location

Great location, professional service, very nicely designed and appointed rooms... whether for business or for romance, this place is a great set up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to everything!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sparty 5
Business
Springfield, Virginia
Aug 19, 2011

Great Chicago Hotel

The front desk staff was awesome and the rooms look great - can be a little loud but if you can put up with a little noise then its worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LCVAC
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Restful getaway

Enjoyed our stay at the Dana Hotel. Great location - walking distance to many attractions. Extremely comfortable beds and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Second City Comedy Club - a riot!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrs. lark
Business
Dearborn, MI, USA
Oct 30, 2011

fun mother /daughter getaway nice spa

Nice hotel and spa for the price. Friendly helpful staff. Would stay again and liked the location of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

E'leaven nice breakfast and lunch spot. Delicious coconut oatmeal and other breakfast items.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fenderman
Business
Keokuk, IA
Dec 5, 2011

Very nice room and view

The location was grest. The room was described as a "cozy comfort" room. That is a fair description. It was not large, but fit our needs very well. We loved the room and the view out the full-height window. We would consider the same room the next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top