$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

dana hotel and spa

4 stars
660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
224 reviews
Couldn't have found a better place

The hotel rooms are very clean, comfortable and luxury! It's very close to a subway station and has... See full review

  • Gabriela Santos
  • Nov 17, 2014
Excellent business experience

I was here on business for three days and had an excellent stay. The staff was extremely friendly... See full review

  • Dedham Mark
  • Oct 27, 2014
Modern retreat for healthy living in downtown Chicago
The dana hotel and spa in Chicago's River North neighborhood balances the beauty of natural elements with the latest technology to create a modern retreat for healthy living. From the progressive health center to the Zeppelin MP3 media system in each room, the dana's core philosophy of wellness and individuality is expressed in all elements of the hotel. Bathed in natural light, the dana is an oasis of serene relaxation in a bustling city.
Highlights
  • Sweeping views at Vertigo Sky Lounge
  • Spa at dana and 24-hour fitness center
  • Enjoy American favorites with a global twist at freestyle food + drink
      Rooms
      Sleekly decorated with hints of Asian influence, standard rooms at the dana hotel and spa feature a half wall of floor-to-ceiling windows and walkout balconies. Serenity is infused in everything from the natural, sustainable floors to the 300-thread count Egyptian cotton sheets over pillow-top mattresses. Glass separates bath from boudoir and illuminates the shower rooms, featuring Italian rain shower fixtures and handcrafted tiles.
      Features
      With its mantra “the pleasure of giving,” the dana hotel and spa sets out to deliver a unique experience to its visitors. The spa offers an extensive array of treatments, from prenatal massages and organic manicures to customized facials and Italian mud body wraps. The focus on wellness continues through the high-tech fitness center, which is outfitted with Italian TechnoGym Kinetic Equipment to promote fluid motion.

      Vertigo Sky Lounge is Chicago’s premiere year-round indoor/outdoor lounge. With the dramatic city skyline as a backdrop, Vertigo is the ideal place to mix it up after work or into the night. It features a dancing fire pit, lush modern furnishings, craft cocktails and happy hour menus. New this summer is the Bartender’s Booth, where patrons can sample craft cocktails and off-menu bites while engaging with their very own mixologist.

      Guests can also head to freestyle food + drink on site to sample American favorites with a global twist during breakfast, lunch, dinner, and happy hour. The restaurant also has a street-side patio for outdoor dining (as weather permits).
      Transportation
      • O’Hare International Airport (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
      • Midway Airport (9.7 mi/15.7 km)
      • Blue Line (Jackson/Lake) (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
      • Orange Line (Chicago/Lake) (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • McCormick Place Convention Center (3 mi/4.9 km)
      Attractions
      • Michigan Avenue (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
      • Magnificent Mile (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
      • Wrigley Building (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
      • Tribune Tower (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
      • Merchandise Mart (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
      • Oak Street Beach (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
      • The Loop (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • Art Institute of Chicago (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • Willis (Sears) Tower (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
      • Navy Pier (1.3 mi/2 km)
      Business
      • Fully equipped business center
      • Meeting rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, high-speed Internet access and audio/visual equipment
      Policies and Fees
      • Overnight parking charge is $39 per night plus tax and unlimited in/out privileges

      This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

      Recommendations for you

      Customers who viewed dana hotel and spa also booked these hotels.

      Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
      Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
      Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

      dana hotel and spa Rooms

      Serene King
      Our Serene King Room features one king bed and a full wall of floor to ceiling windows that offer a view of State Street. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include: a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
      Cozy King
      Our Cozy King Room features a walk out balcony while offering a slightly smaller, yet efficient and quaint space. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
      Corner King
      Our Corner King Room features one king bed and two walls of floor to ceiling windows that offer a panoramic view of the city and a more spacious feel. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.

      Amenities

      • WiFi
      General
      Concierge
      Pet friendly
      Activities
      Fitness Center
      Spa
      Dining
      Restaurant
      Room service
      Services
      Business center
      Conference facilities
      Internet
      WiFi
      Accessibility
      Handicapped rooms/facilities

      Nearby points of interest

      • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
      • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
      • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
      • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
      • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
      • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
      • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
      • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
      • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
      • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
      • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
      • Marina City: 0.4 mi
      • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
      • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
      • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
      • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
      • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
      • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
      • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
      • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
      • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
      • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
      • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
      • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
      • Marina City: 0.4 mi
      • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
      • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
      • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
      • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
      • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
      • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
      • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
      • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
      • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
      • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
      • Macys: 0.7 mi
      • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
      • City Hall: 0.7 mi
      • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
      • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
      • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
      • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
      • State Street: 0.8 mi
      • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
      • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
      • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
      • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
      • Opera House: 0.9 mi
      • Children Museum: 1 mi
      • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
      • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
      • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
      • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
      • Yacht Club: 1.1 mi
      • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
      • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

      Dining

      freestyle food + drink
      At freestyle food + drink we have a passion for food and a desire to share that passion. We add a pinch of this and a dash of that to create american tastes with a twist of global influence. freestyle is open for breakfast, lunch, happy hour, dinner and weekend brunch.
      Vertigo Sky Lounge
      Cocktails and catsuits perched 26 floors above the Dana hotel and spa. Relaxed conversations in a high fidelity sushi bar offer an escape from the mainstream.

      Hotel Policies

      Check-in:
      0300
      Check-out:
      1200

      Terms and conditions

      Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

      The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

      Back to menu Return to top

      Guest Reviews (224)

      Ratings and reviews for dana hotel and spa

      Overall score

      4.2 / 5
      5.01.0
      224 out of 224
      Amenities:
      4.2
      Room cleanliness:
      4.6
      Hotel staff:
      4.4
      Room comfort:
      4.4
      Location:
      4.7
      Value:
      4.2

      92% would recommend to a friend.

      Sort by:
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Business
      Texas
      Jun 14, 2010

      Dana in Chicago

      Should appeal to younger, non-traditional crowd. Nicely appointed rooms, but small. Somewhat noisy. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great deal through [...]. Not a four star hotel, but a good quality place.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      3
      Value:
      4
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      For breakfast, try the Eggsperience two blocks away on Dearborn.

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Patrick Casual Traveler
      Business
      Kokomo, Indiana
      May 31, 2011

      Modern & Nice, but avoid the top floors

      We stayed at the hotel for several days. There were good things and bad things about the experience, but due to noise I will not be returning. Good first: The hotel staff were friendly and the concierge was extremely helpful with travel hints and general recommendations on visiting attractions. The room was nice and had a small balcony with a great review overlooking the city. The bathrooms were a little odd; curtain on the outside of the shower, which had clear glass doors. The bathroom door was on top rollers, and did not lock or even close completely. Not a big deal, but a little strange. However, the noise at night was unacceptable. There is a bar on the top floor of the hotel, and on every night that weekend we could hear the music through the floor of our room. There was another room on top of ours, so I can't imagine how loud it must have been in that room. Unless you plan on staying up until 3am every night, or are guaranteed a lower-level floor, I would recommend finding another hotel. There are plenty of options in Chicago.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      3
      Value:
      3
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Business
      Westchester NY
      Mar 22, 2011

      Okay but street noise

      The hotel is located in the downtown area. There seem to be sirens sounding off every half and hour to forty-five mintues. I was on the Twenty-thrid floor. I ask about it they say that is normal. If you are looking for quite this is not the place. It woke me up at least three times my first night there. I only went for a wedding and that was the hotel recommended for the guest.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      3
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      If you like chinese Ben Pao is the place on the corner of Illinois and Dearborne street. Uno for good deepdish pizza on Ohio and Wabush. Good Luck

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Business
      Ottawa, ontario
      Jun 14, 2009

      would be great except for the noise

      The location is very central. Close to shopping and not far from the museums. Although the room was lovely, the lack of soundproofing is a problrm. I would not stay in this hotel again.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      2
      Hotel staff:
      3
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      2
      Value:
      2
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      CW Grad Parents
      Business
      Vermont
      Jun 18, 2014

      Graduation trip

      Location and staff were excellent, and we loved our little balcony overlooking the city. However, the room was a bit small and lacked sufficient lighting. The ceiling was unfinished concrete, which detracted from the overall appearance, and the curtain between the room and bath along with shared closet/bath door was awkward.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      3
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      3
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Bmans bride
      Business
      Ohio
      Jun 2, 2009

      romance

      awsome

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      4
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Passionate Traveler
      Business
      Austin, TX
      Aug 25, 2009

      Luxury Spa Hotel At Reasonable Price

      We traveled in the middle of August and the trip was wonderful. The weather was perfect and we were able to walk all over downtown Chicago with ease. We visited all the major attractions (loved the Aquarium) and even made time for some of the neighborhoods north of downtown. We traveled mostly by foot, but it helped to take the train when we were traveling longer distances. I partook in the Spa services offered by the Dana Hotel and I was not disappointed in the least. Lastly, if you are looking for a quick bite, check out the hot dog and pizza joints in the neighborhood. You will not be disappointed.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

      Check out the GO Chicago card to automatically receive your discounted admission to many interesting tours and points of interest (without waiting in line with everyone else). Just make sure you use it as much as possible to get the full value.

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Business
      Pocono, Pensylvania
      Nov 2, 2009

      Beautiful Hotel & Great Staff!!

      This Hotel is Spectacular, very cool and modern. The views from the room and spa are incredible. It is located in the mix of all the great shopping and restaurants. The staff were all very attentive. Especially a certain doorman (TJ), who new just as much about the city as the conseiur. The showers, let's just say can be very memorable!! The only down side was it is alittle noisy, because of the glass walls. You can hear all kinds of traffic.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

      A quick cab ride (about $9.00) can take you to Hallstead St. & Armitage. It has some unique boutiques, not something you are going to see on the Michigan Ave. walk.

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Mz Thompson
      Business
      Pittsburgh, PA
      Mar 2, 2010

      Dana Hotel

      I had a horrible trip into chicago. When I finally got to the hotel, the staff saw I was upset; went above and beyond to make my stay there pleasurable. Staff very friendly. Concierge service: Excellent. they helped us find great places to eat and shopping. No complaints what so ever.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

      Go to Michigan Ave. A short walk from the hotel. All the stores and shops you can think of. Great!

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Travelling New Yorker
      Business
      New York
      Jul 13, 2010

      First Chi Town Visit

      The hotel was very nice, although it was the first one I've ever had to go up one floor to get to the front desk. We had a corner room on the 7th floor, which gave us a decent view of the city. The room, which had ample space, was clean and had all the amenities we needed. My gf wanted another tea pod for the coffee maker on our second morning, but a call downstairs didn't have one replaced till later in the day - this was pretty much the only wrinkle in our stay. The restaurant downstairs was very good too and the bar on the top floor seemed like a good spot to hang out at night. The hotel is just a couple of blocks away from the "Mag Mile" and is in a location close to plenty of restaurants and shops. The only time we needed to take a cab was to go the Briar Street Theater to catch the Blue Man Group show - which is VERY entertaining/funny. This was our first visit to Chicago, and hopefully not our last! I almost forgot - the beds were soooo comfy. One of the best I've slept on at a hotel.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

      The Willis (Sears) tower and the Navy Pier are both within walking distance and are both worth the walk. The concierge can also recommend boat tours, which are located up Michigan Ave.

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Back to menu Return to top