$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

dana hotel and spa

4 stars
View map of 660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for dana hotel and spa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
253 out of 253
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dedham Mark
Business
Dedham, MA
Oct 27, 2014

Excellent business experience

I was here on business for three days and had an excellent stay. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with researching local information and advising on the best ways to get around. The hotel has a great vibe and style. The room had a sleek design, bed was the ultimate in comfort, and the balcony is a nice bonus. Fitness room is small but has everything you need to get a good workout -- treadmills, bike, mat, dumbbells, and benches. I also visited the spa for an excellent massage with Clarice. The spa has a peaceful and calming atmosphere. The location is also great, in the midst of plenty of shopping, restaurants, public transportation options, etc. An all around fantastic hotel, and I plan to return when I'm next in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Racer Frank
Business
Southern California
Oct 20, 2014

Chicago Perfection

We were blown away by this hotel. The hotel itself was beautiful and our room was great. Everything was within walking distance. The staff was the highlight, they were fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marandah
Business
Iowa
Oct 14, 2014

Blown Away

Dana Hotel - You blew me away. From the moment I stepped out of the cab, every staff member in the hotel treated me like royalty. To be honest, I expect nothing less when I travel. Breakfast at the freestyle was on point. The rooms were immaculate. My only complaint was with the spa - I didn't have time to book any services, but I did go down to use the sauna. The ladies at the desk directed me to the women's locker room where I found a cold steam room that smelled musty. If this was the only place for me to "sauna," I was truly disappointed. Otherwise, I cannot complain about a single aspect of my stay. Thank you, Dana Hotel, for the wonderful welcome to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lula Cafe in Logan Square is absolutely one of my favorite dining spots in the world. They have an inspired menu that is constantly changing, a unique wine selection and mixologists behind the bar that really know how to make a drink.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Forever a California Girl
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 2, 2014

Comfortable, modern room

Great for a staycation. Loved the beautiful balcony and great view. Bathroom setup is a little weird as the glass shower is the only thing that separates the toilet/sink from the bedroom... The flimsy, optional curtain does not a ton of privacy. Levels towards the top of the hotel are subject to loud music from the Vertigo Sky Lounge rooftop. While possible to drown it out with the complimentary speakers that connect to iDevices, still a little annoying later in the evening. Overall, it was very pleasant and a unique experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eataly on Ohio and Wabash is the best! Highly recommend the Nutella crepes. Also close by is the beautiful Boarding House restaurant. Both are must-visits.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HAHA001
Business
Urbana, IL
Sep 2, 2014

kind of noisy

It's fantastic hotel. But it's kind of noisy at night because the roof bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
INSalesRep
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Aug 23, 2014

Nice Time in The City

Just one night in the city for a Cubs game. The staff was helpful and very polite. Would certainly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tall D
Business
Austin
Aug 12, 2014

Upbeat and sassy hidden treasure

This is my first stay at any hotel in Chicago while visiting my girlfriend, so of course I want it to be perfect. This hotel fit everything we wanted it for. A friendly staff, clean and modern room with a great view for the price as well as a relatively central location. The soft King sized bed and spacious shower were fantastic for us being a tall couple. The rooftop bar had an amazing design and attentative bartenders. I will certainly be back and recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alice in Eden
Business
sf, ca
Aug 7, 2014

Great location, so-so service

Having just checked out of a neighboring 5* hotel and expecting similar service from Dana, we were slightly underwhelmed. There's nothing wrong per se with Dana, the staff are very helpful and cheerful, but they didn't stand out. Oh, the all glass shower and toilet do need some getting used to, but they are quite chic. Hopefully you and your room companion are not prudes! Our room was high enough that we didn't worry too much about drawing all the shades for privacy, but YMMV. Location is fantastic, we were able to walk nearly everywhere. Vertigo the lounge on the 26th floor was a letdown. Average drinks, no music, not a classy vibe. Maybe because it was a weekday? Top recos - Cantina Laredo for modern Mexican, Sable and Aviary for awesome cocktails, Lou Malnati's for deep dish pizza. Other restaurants didn't impress us, and we're not even foodies! Go to Dana for location and a very modern room vibe. Don't go if you're used to more traditional hotel rooms, or don't like see thru showers and rooms. Not for children!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anne pilates
Business
Okemos,MI
Aug 3, 2014

Wonderful

This hotel is in the perfect location! staff all extremely professional. We had an outdoor balcony which was a delight for an evening of city lights! Very comfortable beds ! the rooms were updated with the loft affect! Hardwood floors and concrete ceilings! Never heard any noise from other rooms or hallways! Will stay again ! Bathrooms very modern and all glass shower which was interesting! Ideal for a romantic getaway but might be a little different with kids in the room! You could see inside shower from bed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Redhead Piano Bar was a great place to go and sing songs and enjoy the great piano players! Quartinos resturant next to Redhead has great Italian food! All 1 block from Dana Hotel! Great great location!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
last man standing
Business
chicago
Jul 24, 2014

ambience 5 stars

Excellent room with new age accommodations. The view wasn't good. Overlooking construction not to romantic. Overall we really enjoyed the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top