$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

dana hotel and spa

4 stars
View map of 660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for dana hotel and spa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andreia_aam
Business
Baltimore, MD
Oct 20, 2009

Great great experience! a 5 star hotel!

Dana hotel and spa is amazing! 100% recommendation for me! A little expensive but it's totally worth it! Right in the center of the city, walking distance to great restaurants (Giordano's, tapas bar) and pubs (Zed, Excalibur). The vertigo lounge at the top is unbelievable! Great environment. I tried the food from Aja steak. Expensive but very very good. The rooms are always clean, very well equipped and decorated and the personnel is impeccable. Loved the touch of the ice and the fortune cookies at the pillows at night. I stayed at a confy king which is kinda small but more than enough for 2 people. The glass shower with the view to the TV was amaizing! However, with all the spa gels and creams I felt I missed a tub. Great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

1492 Tapas bar. Great spanish food, and by spanish I mean spanish from Spain, not latin food in general. The Paellas are great! Definitely try the sangria! A pearl hidden in the middle of the city.

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alwayslisa
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 14, 2009

I will definitely be back!

What can I say - I LOVED this hotel. The rooms were very nice, the location was outstanding, the free continental breakfast delicious, and so much more. I would definitely stay here again. Do bring ear plugs because Chicago taxi drivers love to use their horns and if you are facing the street, you'll hear them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Happy Couple from the Nati
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Sep 3, 2010

Slick, Modern, Relaxing, and Fun

The Dana was absolutely wonderful! My husband and I spent the weekend there and the rooms were modern, clean, and elegant. They had every modern convenience (big screen TV, iPod dock, Krupps coffee maker, etc.). The views were amazing! The club on the rooftop was a fun and inviting place. The steak house in the restaurant in the hotel was too pricey for my taste, but you are in walking distance to everything!!! We will most certainly stay there again.... AND... and let me give a special shout out to the doorman, who were the most helpful, pleasant guys I have met at a hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Overland Park, KS
Jul 26, 2009

Fabulous Stay at The Dana

The location of the Dana is exceptional. There are really fantastic restaurants within walking distance; literally, across the street and within a block or two. For added conveniences, you have a Whole Foods, 7-eleven, Blockbusters, and an Applebees, a stones throw away. The shops on Michigan Ave, 3 easy blocks. The staff at the hotel was extremely courteous - thank you "[...]" at the door, "[...]" with the bags from our entourage (2 adults, 2 wild kids), and "[...]", the concierge. The Aja Steakhouse... wonderful! The Lemon Grass martini - "magnificent". My compliments to the chef - loved the shrimp tempura maki and the sunomono salad (seawood, octupus, cucumber) was not only beautiful, but delish! They make their own soy sauce, and you'll notice the texture of the wasabi is somewhat different than other places - it's fresh; has a hint of sweetness and a well rounded finish of subtle "kick" that you can expect from wasabi. The Dana's rooms are adequate in size. Very nice ultra luxe decor. While my personal taste is more "old world" with varying hints of traditional, I found the contemporary design of the place both relaxing, luxurious and pleasing to the eye. The rooms use a mix of subtle hues of creams, naturals, grassy earth tones and soft berry. A textured wood floor greets you at the door, with clean line furniture. Floor to ceiling windows really open the room. (Just a note - the Dana is located across from another highrise comprised of offices and residences.) You literally can look directly in the eye of anyone that might be sitting at their desk.. so keep in mind, they can see you as well. No worries - there are not only nice light filtering shades, but also black-out shades behind them to give you full privacy when needed. The beds.. HEAVENLY. Nice flat screen - probably 42", and ipod/mp3 docking stations. The bathroom was adequate in size, quartz countertop and bowl sink. Loved the "Lather" bath and shower products. Walk-in shower with "rain" shower head, as well as detachable shower wand. Bathrobes and slippers too.There's an honor bar, with water, wine and soda. As well as chocolates and nuts from Mr Kites. The maids come in and turn down your beds in the evening and place chocolate dipped fortune cookies on your pillow. They also fill your ice container.The roof top lounge was nice.. offered stunning views of the skyline, great drinks (pricey .. but again.. Chicago.. hip.. happening... you MUST expect this) and a party atmosphere you would expect from a city such as this. Probably a little younger crowd... 20-mid 30's. While we felt comfortable, (we're 42 and 43) a round of drinks and a few turns of music on the mixing table is about all I could do. But if you like loud music, sexy drinks, short dresses (which I might add the cocktail girls wore these really short black "hot mama" shorts that many, even 20 somethings, couldn't pull off. These girls rocked it!) and "voyeur" type views of the Chicago skyline, the roof top lounge at the Dana might be on your list of faves for things to do while in Chicago. Overall, exceptional hotel, exceptional staff, and exceptional stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you plan on trying any of the famous pizzerias.. Gino's or Giordano's...be prepared for a really long wait... 1.5 hours of so for the evening. We did lunch, and were seated right away. Also - on the way out of the city - stop by Superdawgs on Milwaukee and Devon. The Superdawg (DO NOT Call it a hot dog..) is served with fries and standard dress of onions, relish, pickle, peppers, mustard and what I believe is a tomatillo .. looked like a green tomato but tasted like a pickle.. delish I might add. The only time I have seen a drive-in eatery that had to direct traffic in and out of the parking lot.. CRAZY!! But an experience we all enjoyed.

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Aug 27, 2009

"Great Hotel, Great Location"

We were greeted by an excellent staff at the Dana Hotel. Everything was within walking distance. The room was wonderful except for the fact that it was kind of small and the balcony was a very small triangle with no seating on it. Overall, it was a great choice for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The double-decker bus tour is excellent. We learned so much about Chicago and were able to get on and off at all the stops to see the attractions near that location. It will take you all around the city for only $30 each which is cheap compared to taxi fares. We also loved the architectural boat tour which was well woth the money. We bought the three day chicago go cards which were a mistake as it did not really give us our moneys worth because it took too long at each exhibit to see everything in 3 days. I would recommend the chicago pass instead as it does not have a time limit.

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FuninChicago
Business
Saint Paul, MN
Jan 26, 2010

Luxury Experience

The staff was very welcoming and helpful at all times. We enjoyed the modern room!! The location was fabulous for checking out all the great spots in Chicago. For sure would we stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Howl at the Moon was soooo fun to hang out and enjoy the dueling pianos.....excellent entertainment!!

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Oct 12, 2009

Dana Hotel

Very relaxing environment even though you are in the heart of downtown Chicago area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Simonss Island, GA
Jul 27, 2011

Great, Trendy Hotel!

Great service with a trendy niche feeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GirlRunningTall
Business
Charlotte, North Carolina
Oct 13, 2009

What a wonderful weekend!

I was in Chicago to participate in the Chicago Marathon and needed a peaceful, relaxing place to stay that was in the center of things and accessible to trains, restaurants and the race site. Dana was perfect. On race morning, the hotel was even kind enough to have bottled water, bananas, bagels and coffee out for runners - and they weren't even one of the host hotels! They were simply kind. Check-in was a snap and took about 90 seconds. The concierge was ultra-helpful with restaurant suggestions. The room was fantastic with a great view and a very comfy bed. I couldn't have been happier unless I could have stayed longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Quartino

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lissy780
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 8, 2010

Trendy, Classy, and Sleek! Great Deal!

Everyone was so friendly and helpful! It was so fancy we felt like we were first class citizens. Right in the middle of town, easy access to red line. At times it was a little too trendy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Second City comedy show! It's not too pricey... 2 hrs long and extremely funny! It's located in "Old Town" Next to it is a delicious Mexican food place!

Back to menu Return to top