$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

dana hotel and spa

4 stars
View map of 660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for dana hotel and spa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jstdremn
Single
Phoenix, AZ
May 22, 2012

The Dana is Awesome

I love this hotel. It's walking distance to everything, close to trains and the staff is wonderful. Anything I needed was at my disposal. Bed is way comfy and my room had a balcony which was an added plus. I loved being able to get fresh air without having to leave my room. I would stay at the Dana again and again. Only drawback was no pool/spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The 7-11 is across the street and has whatever you forgot plus is an inexpensive way to keep water and snacks in your room.

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HD442
Business
Michigan, USA
Apr 6, 2012

Hotel review

Friendly staff, great location, great bed and choice of pillows. Nice Flat sreen TV and rainhead shower

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Self park 1/2 block North and save 10%

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DDD118
Couples
Evanston, IL, USA
Mar 4, 2012

Great Couples or Singles Space in Chicago

We booked just one night in a comfy king. The size was fine for a couple with smaller bags, but if you were doing a longer stay with bulky luggage, it could be an issue. I initially thought the bed was a little soft, but had a great night's sleep. The shower is incredible. I didn't have a ton of interaction with the staff, but they were always friendly, quick, and helpful. We stayed on a middle floor and had a good view with minimal noise, but I did hear the check-in folks warning that the top floors can get noisy on weekends because they have a club on the top floor. While we were there, we got room service breakfast which was actually fantastic (granola and breakfast club), and my partner had a massage which was reportedly great. I think we'll definitely head back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blueiyze
Business
New York, NY, USA
Dec 9, 2011

Amazing!

I had a fantastic time here. Amenities and cleanliness were just great, very comfortable bed and sexy shower. The ONLY downside of the hotel is that is was extremely difficult to get a cell phone signal inside the room. I had to stand on the balcony to find even a single 'bar' of signal. Perhaps has to do with the location or side of the building you are on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fenderman
Couples
Keokuk, IA
Dec 5, 2011

Very nice room and view

The location was grest. The room was described as a "cozy comfort" room. That is a fair description. It was not large, but fit our needs very well. We loved the room and the view out the full-height window. We would consider the same room the next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrs. lark
Family
Dearborn, MI, USA
Oct 30, 2011

fun mother /daughter getaway nice spa

Nice hotel and spa for the price. Friendly helpful staff. Would stay again and liked the location of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

E'leaven nice breakfast and lunch spot. Delicious coconut oatmeal and other breakfast items.

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LCVAC
Couples
New York, NY, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Restful getaway

Enjoyed our stay at the Dana Hotel. Great location - walking distance to many attractions. Extremely comfortable beds and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Second City Comedy Club - a riot!

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dgg27
Couples
México
Sep 3, 2011

very small room

the location was great just 3 blocks from the main shopping street and lake, the bed was comfortable but the room was too small. i didin´t expect that at all. had a little trouble with the remote control and the towels but its an ok hotel overall. one night i felt sick and asked for aspirine and they didint have any, im used to an emergency kit or minimum aspirin at the reception. the hotel is good it just needs a little details to make it great. (exept for the room size)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

gianello´s!!! delicious stuffed pizza

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
siriusbasquet
Business
Spain
Sep 1, 2011

very good

very convenient, to be visited again. Is based in downtown and very close to restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SirGM
Couples
New York, NY, USA
Sep 1, 2011

Nice, but not great.

My wife and I stayed at Dana Hotel & Spa in the last weekend of August, 2011 for 4 nights. The room was nice, but had some cons. First lets get to the pros. Pros: 1- Bed was very comfortable and room felt calm and relaxing. 2- Room had full size windows, so lots of natural light. 3- The rainfall shower is amazing!! As well as nice bathroom. 4- Free wi-fi & wired internet, cordless phone, free local calls. 5- Location is great. You are close to restaurants, Michigan ave, grocery stores, & shopping. Cons: 1- Very low lighting in room. 2- The shower (even though its amazing) has a half glass door (Euro style). It made no sense to me why they just wouldn't put in a full glass door. Also you can see into the shower from the bed as the curtain is movable from the outside (bedroom side of the shower). 3- The full glass windows. They are great for natural light but you can see into the building across the street and they can see into your room. Can be pro or con depending on the person. 4- All amenities were not included as advertised. Such as sewing kit. The paper only started coming on the last two days of our stay. Also no turn down service (personally don't care for it anyway). 5- No microwave in the room. Also the fridge is full of beer, wine and water. So you have to take the bottles out and put in your food. An annoyance as the fridge is basically for wines. I requested for a separate refrigerator and was told that's not possible. 6- The tv kept messing up when we were there. So mostly we had to watch tv on analog as digital channels were not working. Also their hotel system was not working at all. So no checkout and other options. 7- The rooftop lounge closed its outside area for no reason when we went up one night. They stated it was reserved. Reserved for birds? No one came to use it the whole night....not even birds.. lol Final thoughts: Sorry for the long review, but I just wanted to be thorough. This hotel is mostly for couples, so because you can view into the shower from the bed, I do not recommend this for friends. Unless of course you have no problem seeing and being seen naked by your friends. The best thing about Dana is its location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Trader Joe's a block and a half from the hotel. So I suggest buying a few items from there and saving money on food and wine, as eating out every meal can get expensive in the area.

Back to menu Return to top