$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 2, 2015

dana hotel and spa

4 stars
View map of 660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for dana hotel and spa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
siriusbasquet
Business
Spain
Sep 1, 2011

very good

very convenient, to be visited again. Is based in downtown and very close to restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Devushkaanya
Business
Missouri
Jan 7, 2013

Urban fantasy

Everything is superb about this hotel: the location, the views, food, restaurant, stuff. I had a lovely stay and can not wait to come back to Dana Hotel and Spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cubswinwoo
Business
Virginia Beach
Dec 18, 2012

Great Location and Friendly Staff

We purchased our stay with a good discount so it ended up being a fantastic deal for us. Great location and really cool hotel. I would definitely come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great hotel if you want a short walk to most of the popular theatres.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fenderman
Business
Keokuk, IA
Dec 3, 2012

A good choice

The room was very nice, neat, clean and attractive. The included breakfasts were some of the best we have had. It's location about 2 minutes from the Michigan Ave. bridge is very convenient. Both the Loop and Water Tower Place are within 15 minutes' walk. Millennium Park is Five minutes away. The check-in area seemed to be a construction site and much of the public area seemed to be a bit dirty and unkempt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evermore Tech
Business
Edina, MN
Sep 5, 2012

A good stay

We didn't spend a ton of time at the hotel, but from what we saw, the spa and fitness center were a good bonus. The value was great though, and the location and rooftop lounge were perfect for what we wanted out of our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rhodan
Business
Santa Rosa, California
Aug 29, 2012

Perfect location; price is appropriate; staff is fantastic!

The decor of the hotel is beautiful -- I loved it. There were also great separate areas to meet friends, drink, eat and dance, including the top floor Vertigo, a really neat bar and restaurant with great views, indoor and outdoor seating and standing when it's crowded! The downstairs restaurant was also excellent (Argent). The staff, however, made the big difference in all manners. They were very helpful, lots of fun, nice to talk to, went way out of their way to help us with some special dinner plans--they were just fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

For me, my favorite part of the vacation was swimming in Lake Michigan, a short walk from the hotel. The sand was clean, water was 75 F, waves a little choppy, water was clean and a special area was marked out with buoys for distance swimmers. As I swam a half-mile out along the shore and then back again to the beach, it was eerie and beautiful to be swimming "through a forest of skyscrapers", as each one glided by my view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Principal Hotel Designer
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 4, 2012

Dana Hotel Delivers

For a group of discriminating hospitality designers, this jewel of a hotel embodies our definition of boutique hotel. Its clean modern urban design captivates our sensibilities and comfort. It was a great find, and we will visit again. Check-in was smooth and even with an elevator glitch- they accommodated all guests with a cool beverage in the Lobby to make up for the inconvenience. Breakfast service was a bit slow at 6:30 am, but we were able to check out and make our appointment on time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Lover
Business
Chicago, IL
May 26, 2012

Relaxing but overpriced

The staff was friendly for check in and check out, but when inquiring on things to do, they weren't very helpful. The bartender was nice until we tipped 15% on our tab, I'm sorry but a $10 tip on a $50 check for a couple of beers and a mixed drink doesn't seem bad to me! There was no pool or things to do other than being in the room or going to the restaurant or bar. The penthouse rooftop bar was absolutely amazing but as mentioned very expensive, as was the downstairs restaurant. They do kick everyone out of the outdoor part of the bar by midnight and don't give any notice, they just tell everyone to go inside 'right now'. The room was beautiful as was the view, but while we looked forward to a nice balcony to sit on, the balcony is so small you can't even fit a chair on it. The rainfall shower was amazing, but for some reason the room was set up to have a curtain on the outside of the bathroom, so anyone in the room can see into the bathroom or shower, so this hotel is not recommended for anyone other than couples. Location was great for downtown Chicago, especially shopping, but parking was listed at $43 for the night and the garage a block down is still $41 a night. They would not give us a late check out unless we called up first thing in the morning for this, and we really wanted to be able to sleep in while on vacation, so we had to rush out by noon. They did offer to store luggage after check out. Overall, beautiful hotel but I probably wouldn't spend that much to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lincoln Park Zoo was a blast and free! They do charge $20 to park so try to take the bus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jstdremn
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 22, 2012

The Dana is Awesome

I love this hotel. It's walking distance to everything, close to trains and the staff is wonderful. Anything I needed was at my disposal. Bed is way comfy and my room had a balcony which was an added plus. I loved being able to get fresh air without having to leave my room. I would stay at the Dana again and again. Only drawback was no pool/spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The 7-11 is across the street and has whatever you forgot plus is an inexpensive way to keep water and snacks in your room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HD442
Business
Michigan, USA
Apr 6, 2012

Hotel review

Friendly staff, great location, great bed and choice of pillows. Nice Flat sreen TV and rainhead shower

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Self park 1/2 block North and save 10%

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DDD118
Business
Evanston, IL, USA
Mar 4, 2012

Great Couples or Singles Space in Chicago

We booked just one night in a comfy king. The size was fine for a couple with smaller bags, but if you were doing a longer stay with bulky luggage, it could be an issue. I initially thought the bed was a little soft, but had a great night's sleep. The shower is incredible. I didn't have a ton of interaction with the staff, but they were always friendly, quick, and helpful. We stayed on a middle floor and had a good view with minimal noise, but I did hear the check-in folks warning that the top floors can get noisy on weekends because they have a club on the top floor. While we were there, we got room service breakfast which was actually fantastic (granola and breakfast club), and my partner had a massage which was reportedly great. I think we'll definitely head back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top