$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2014 Check-out: May 1, 2014

dana hotel and spa

4 stars
660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
200 reviews
Great Hotel in city

Great staffs, very clean room. I liked it very much staying this hotel. See full review

  • THLee
  • Mar 25, 2014
Best birthday weekend trip!

The staff was so curious and helpful. This hotel was perfect for our trip, couldn't ask for better!... See full review

  • Short Court
  • Dec 31, 2013
Modern retreat for healthy living in downtown Chicago
The dana hotel and spa in Chicago's River North neighborhood balances the beauty of natural elements with the latest technology to create a modern retreat for healthy living. From the progressive health center to the Zeppelin MP3 media system in each room, the dana's core philosophy of wellness and individuality is expressed in all elements of the hotel. Bathed in natural light, the dana is an oasis of serene relaxation in a bustling city.
Highlights
  • Sweeping views at Vertigo Sky Lounge
  • Spa at dana and 24-hour fitness center
  • Enjoy American favorites with a global twist at freestyle food + drink
      Rooms
      Sleekly decorated with hints of Asian influence, standard rooms at the dana hotel and spa feature a half wall of floor-to-ceiling windows and walkout balconies. Serenity is infused in everything from the natural, sustainable floors to the 300-thread count Egyptian cotton sheets over pillow-top mattresses. Glass separates bath from boudoir and illuminates the shower rooms, featuring Italian rain shower fixtures and handcrafted tiles.
      Features
      With its mantra “the pleasure of giving,” the dana hotel and spa sets out to deliver a unique experience to its visitors. The spa offers an extensive array of treatments, from prenatal massages and organic manicures to customized facials and Italian mud body wraps. The focus on wellness continues through the high-tech fitness center, which is outfitted with Italian TechnoGym Kinetic Equipment to promote fluid motion.

      Vertigo Sky Lounge is Chicago’s premiere year-round indoor/outdoor lounge. With the dramatic city skyline as a backdrop, Vertigo is the ideal place to mix it up after work or into the night. It features a dancing fire pit, lush modern furnishings, craft cocktails and happy hour menus. New this summer is the Bartender’s Booth, where patrons can sample craft cocktails and off-menu bites while engaging with their very own mixologist.

      Guests can also head to freestyle food + drink on site to sample American favorites with a global twist during breakfast, lunch, dinner, and happy hour. The restaurant also has a street-side patio for outdoor dining (as weather permits).
      Transportation
      • O’Hare International Airport (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
      • Midway Airport (9.7 mi/15.7 km)
      • Blue Line (Jackson/Lake) (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
      • Orange Line (Chicago/Lake) (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • McCormick Place Convention Center (3 mi/4.9 km)
      Attractions
      • Michigan Avenue (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
      • Magnificent Mile (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
      • Wrigley Building (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
      • Tribune Tower (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
      • Merchandise Mart (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
      • Oak Street Beach (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
      • The Loop (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • Art Institute of Chicago (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • Willis (Sears) Tower (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
      • Navy Pier (1.3 mi/2 km)
      Business
      • Fully equipped business center
      • Meeting rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, high-speed Internet access and audio/visual equipment
      Policies and Fees
      • Overnight parking charge is $39 per night plus tax and unlimited in/out privileges

      This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

      dana hotel and spa Rooms

      Serene King
      Our Serene King Room features one king bed and a full wall of floor to ceiling windows that offer a view of State Street. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include: a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
      Cozy King
      Our Cozy King Room features a walk out balcony while offering a slightly smaller, yet efficient and quaint space. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
      Corner King
      Our Corner King Room features one king bed and two walls of floor to ceiling windows that offer a panoramic view of the city and a more spacious feel. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.

      Amenities

      • WiFi
      General
      Concierge
      Pet friendly
      Activities
      Fitness Center
      Spa
      Dining
      Restaurant
      Room service
      Services
      Business center
      Conference facilities
      Internet
      WiFi
      Accessibility
      Handicapped rooms/facilities

      Recommendations for you

      Customers who viewed dana hotel and spa also booked these hotels.

      Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
      Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
      Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

      Hotel Map

      41.8942 -87.6282
      Area served
      Chicago.
      Nearby airports
      O Hare Airport 17 miles , Midway Airport 13 miles.
      Area description
      The dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's river north which is known for hosting the largest concentration of art galleries in the United States outside of Manhattan. Apart from the art galleries there is the Magnificent Mile one of the hottest shopping streets in the US. Chicago is also home to some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife.

      Nearby points of interest

      • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
      • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
      • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
      • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
      • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
      • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
      • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
      • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
      • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
      • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
      • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
      • Marina City: 0.4 mi
      • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
      • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
      • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
      • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
      • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
      • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
      • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
      • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
      • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
      • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
      • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
      • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
      • Marina City: 0.4 mi
      • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
      • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
      • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
      • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
      • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
      • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
      • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
      • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
      • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
      • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
      • Macys: 0.7 mi
      • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
      • City Hall: 0.7 mi
      • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
      • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
      • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
      • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
      • State Street: 0.8 mi
      • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
      • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
      • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
      • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
      • Opera House: 0.9 mi
      • Children Museum: 1 mi
      • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
      • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
      • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
      • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
      • Yacht Club: 1.1 mi
      • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
      • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

      Dining

      freestyle food + drink
      At freestyle food + drink we have a passion for food and a desire to share that passion. We add a pinch of this and a dash of that to create american tastes with a twist of global influence. freestyle is open for breakfast, lunch, happy hour, dinner and weekend brunch.
      Vertigo Sky Lounge
      Cocktails and catsuits perched 26 floors above the Dana hotel and spa. Relaxed conversations in a high fidelity sushi bar offer an escape from the mainstream.

      Hotel Policies

      Check-in:
      0300
      Check-out:
      1200

      Terms and conditions

      Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

      The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

      Back to menu Return to top

      Guest Reviews (200)

      Ratings and reviews for dana hotel and spa

      Overall score

      4.2 / 5
      200 out of 200
      Amenities:
      4.2
      Room cleanliness:
      4.6
      Hotel staff:
      4.5
      Room comfort:
      4.4
      Location:
      4.7
      Value:
      4.2

      93% would recommend to a friend.

      Sort by:
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      5
      Anonymous
      Business
      Cresskill,NJ
      Mar 10, 2011

      experience in Dana

      I just wanted them to include breakfast. The chair in the bathroom was a little slippery. I felt down twice and gave up to use it.But other stuff was stunning and cool.I like the balcony, amenity, wood floor and bed. So, overall, I will recommend to my friends to stay here.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      5
      Anonymous
      Barrington Illinois
      Jan 17, 2011

      Dana Hotel and Spa

      The hotel was wonderful! The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and very cozy. It was like being in an apartment instead of a hotel. The Vertigo Lounge on the roof was fantastic with an Ice Bar and robes and firepits outside on the deck. They even had free champaign and fire dancers. We could not have asked for a better place to stay. The location is perfect for everything like shopping which we did a lot of and seeing blues music which we did and for going to mass as Holy Name Cathedral. Tons of restaurants in the area too. We will definitely stay there again.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Nightlife tip: In Hotel

      The Vertigo Lounge on the 27th floor is awesome! Ice Bar and fire dancers. It was such a nice surprise to find a great place like that right in the hotel.

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      Anonymous
      DC
      Jan 4, 2011

      extra cost

      The hotel was excellent however there was an unexpected cost of $38 plus taxs per night for parking. Thus our 8 night stay was more than we had anticipated. Better to get another Hotel with egual beauty bt with free parking. Additionally we had to wait in the cold at least 10 min each return for the valet parking attendant to show up.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      Anonymous
      Business
      New York, New York
      Dec 16, 2010

      Great for Business Travelers too!

      This was a business trip.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      The food at the hotel was very good. They have a lovely lounge in the lobby and there are plenty of restaurant choices in a two block radius.

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      5
      The Erv
      Business
      Greenville, SC
      Nov 8, 2010

      Great hotel

      In town for trade show...Hotel was a great value...Staff was always top notch.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      Chicago Style Pizza at its best...Giordanos...I may have spelled it wrong. You have to get the deep dish which takes 40 mintues to bake, but well worth the wait.

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      Anonymous
      kansas city
      Nov 5, 2010

      Dana

      We loved the hotel and the location. We have been to Chicago a few times and this is by far the best hotel we have stayed in. We were able to walk to the Magnificent Mile, Gino's East, Al's and the Museum of Contemporary Art. I would recommend the Dana Hotel!

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      2
      imtinc
      Business
      des moines iowa
      Nov 3, 2010

      Pack Expo Trip

      not as good as last year with smaller staff and breakfast was a disaster. Too few personnel and I think everyone in the restaurant received half of what they ordered.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      2
      Room comfort:
      3
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      2
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      dextercostume
      Pasadena, CA
      Nov 2, 2010

      Chicago Halloween

      Hotel was clean, staff was friendly. The room had a great, modern layout, wall-ceiling windows and comfortable bed & furniture. Shower didn't have a door, just a half glass wall, water sprayed out onto the floor, odd but only a small issue. Close to RedLine and Michigan Ave was a short walk, good location. Other annoyance was using a room key in the elevator to get to your floor

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

      Def check out Millenium/Grant Park, its beautiful, clean and a great place to kill some time. Chicago Art Institute in right there as well. Also check out a River boat trip if you have time, Historical/Architect ones are really cool. Check out The Bongo Room for breakfast, awesome and worth the wait (30min).

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      PioBuntie
      Business
      Sayre, PA
      Oct 31, 2010

      Return to Dana

      We decided to return to the Dana Hotel rather than the other hotel where my business meeting was held, in spite of a really nice discounted rate at the other place. We like the Dana, because of its convenient location, close to the Water Tower Place, Bistro 110, Cafe Iberico, Apple Store, Whole Foods, Rockit Bar, etc. Service at the door was excellent. Front desk was good. My only glitch was that my magnetic key would not open my room door, although it worked on the elevator. I asked the lady at the front desk to take care of it. She supposedly did, but it still did not work. She tried to tell me that I could have called..how do I do that if I could not get into my room? Besides, I prefer face to face dealing with these issues. She got it fixed when I told her that if it still did not work, I was coming back to talk to her face to face. Sunday morning breakfast in Chicago is a challenge.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      Glosspink
      Andover, MA
      Oct 27, 2010

      Modern & Cozy

      We loved the hotel! Great location....friendly staff and modern! Very clean...and we felt right at home. The staff at the door were great. The maids were wonderful with our rooms and providing us with chocolate dipped fortune cookies and making our room ready for the night.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      4
      Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

      Millenium Drive! Best shopping Ever.

      Back to menu Return to top