$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 25, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

dana hotel and spa

4 stars
660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
222 reviews
Couldn't have found a better place

The hotel rooms are very clean, comfortable and luxury! It's very close to a subway station and has... See full review

  • Gabriela Santos
  • Nov 17, 2014
Excellent business experience

I was here on business for three days and had an excellent stay. The staff was extremely friendly... See full review

  • Dedham Mark
  • Oct 27, 2014
Boutique luxury is the Dana hotel and spa. A stylish and comfortable, upscale in-room experience awaits the Dana hotel and spa guest. Personalized service blends with modern technology and luxurious furnishings to create luxury boutique service unlike other Chicago hotels. Amenities include 24 hour room service, wireless high speed internet, Spa and Dana, Vertigo Sky Lounge, valet parking, valet laundry, Private wine reserves, , rainfall showerheads, 37 flat screen LCD TVs, zeppelin mp3 media system, in room safes, luxurious bathrobes, all cotton terry bath towels, Keurig coffee makers, and 300 thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets. The 216 guest rooms, including 22 suites, feature generously-sized spa-like showers, walnut wood floors, and exposed concrete ceilings. Floor-to-ceiling windows offer expansive city views, and many rooms also have an outdoor balcony. Dana's philosophy of wellness and individuality continues at the hotel spa. Accessible and inviting services are tailored to meet your unique needs. Between meetings or for a weekend away - in room or in spa.

Hotel Map

41.8942 -87.6282
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
O Hare Airport 17 miles , Midway Airport 13 miles.
Area description
The dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's river north which is known for hosting the largest concentration of art galleries in the United States outside of Manhattan. Apart from the art galleries there is the Magnificent Mile one of the hottest shopping streets in the US. Chicago is also home to some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed dana hotel and spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

dana hotel and spa Rooms

Serene King
Our Serene King Room features one king bed and a full wall of floor to ceiling windows that offer a view of State Street. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include: a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
Cozy King
Our Cozy King Room features a walk out balcony while offering a slightly smaller, yet efficient and quaint space. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
Corner King
Our Corner King Room features one king bed and two walls of floor to ceiling windows that offer a panoramic view of the city and a more spacious feel. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

Dining

freestyle food + drink
At freestyle food + drink we have a passion for food and a desire to share that passion. We add a pinch of this and a dash of that to create american tastes with a twist of global influence. freestyle is open for breakfast, lunch, happy hour, dinner and weekend brunch.
Vertigo Sky Lounge
Cocktails and catsuits perched 26 floors above the Dana hotel and spa. Relaxed conversations in a high fidelity sushi bar offer an escape from the mainstream.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (222)

Ratings and reviews for dana hotel and spa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
222 out of 222
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Principal Hotel Designer
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 4, 2012

Dana Hotel Delivers

For a group of discriminating hospitality designers, this jewel of a hotel embodies our definition of boutique hotel. Its clean modern urban design captivates our sensibilities and comfort. It was a great find, and we will visit again. Check-in was smooth and even with an elevator glitch- they accommodated all guests with a cool beverage in the Lobby to make up for the inconvenience. Breakfast service was a bit slow at 6:30 am, but we were able to check out and make our appointment on time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Lover
Business
Chicago, IL
May 26, 2012

Relaxing but overpriced

The staff was friendly for check in and check out, but when inquiring on things to do, they weren't very helpful. The bartender was nice until we tipped 15% on our tab, I'm sorry but a $10 tip on a $50 check for a couple of beers and a mixed drink doesn't seem bad to me! There was no pool or things to do other than being in the room or going to the restaurant or bar. The penthouse rooftop bar was absolutely amazing but as mentioned very expensive, as was the downstairs restaurant. They do kick everyone out of the outdoor part of the bar by midnight and don't give any notice, they just tell everyone to go inside 'right now'. The room was beautiful as was the view, but while we looked forward to a nice balcony to sit on, the balcony is so small you can't even fit a chair on it. The rainfall shower was amazing, but for some reason the room was set up to have a curtain on the outside of the bathroom, so anyone in the room can see into the bathroom or shower, so this hotel is not recommended for anyone other than couples. Location was great for downtown Chicago, especially shopping, but parking was listed at $43 for the night and the garage a block down is still $41 a night. They would not give us a late check out unless we called up first thing in the morning for this, and we really wanted to be able to sleep in while on vacation, so we had to rush out by noon. They did offer to store luggage after check out. Overall, beautiful hotel but I probably wouldn't spend that much to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lincoln Park Zoo was a blast and free! They do charge $20 to park so try to take the bus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jstdremn
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 22, 2012

The Dana is Awesome

I love this hotel. It's walking distance to everything, close to trains and the staff is wonderful. Anything I needed was at my disposal. Bed is way comfy and my room had a balcony which was an added plus. I loved being able to get fresh air without having to leave my room. I would stay at the Dana again and again. Only drawback was no pool/spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The 7-11 is across the street and has whatever you forgot plus is an inexpensive way to keep water and snacks in your room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HD442
Business
Michigan, USA
Apr 6, 2012

Hotel review

Friendly staff, great location, great bed and choice of pillows. Nice Flat sreen TV and rainhead shower

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Self park 1/2 block North and save 10%

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DDD118
Business
Evanston, IL, USA
Mar 4, 2012

Great Couples or Singles Space in Chicago

We booked just one night in a comfy king. The size was fine for a couple with smaller bags, but if you were doing a longer stay with bulky luggage, it could be an issue. I initially thought the bed was a little soft, but had a great night's sleep. The shower is incredible. I didn't have a ton of interaction with the staff, but they were always friendly, quick, and helpful. We stayed on a middle floor and had a good view with minimal noise, but I did hear the check-in folks warning that the top floors can get noisy on weekends because they have a club on the top floor. While we were there, we got room service breakfast which was actually fantastic (granola and breakfast club), and my partner had a massage which was reportedly great. I think we'll definitely head back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blueiyze
Business
New York, NY, USA
Dec 9, 2011

Amazing!

I had a fantastic time here. Amenities and cleanliness were just great, very comfortable bed and sexy shower. The ONLY downside of the hotel is that is was extremely difficult to get a cell phone signal inside the room. I had to stand on the balcony to find even a single 'bar' of signal. Perhaps has to do with the location or side of the building you are on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fenderman
Business
Keokuk, IA
Dec 5, 2011

Very nice room and view

The location was grest. The room was described as a "cozy comfort" room. That is a fair description. It was not large, but fit our needs very well. We loved the room and the view out the full-height window. We would consider the same room the next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrs. lark
Business
Dearborn, MI, USA
Oct 30, 2011

fun mother /daughter getaway nice spa

Nice hotel and spa for the price. Friendly helpful staff. Would stay again and liked the location of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

E'leaven nice breakfast and lunch spot. Delicious coconut oatmeal and other breakfast items.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LCVAC
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Restful getaway

Enjoyed our stay at the Dana Hotel. Great location - walking distance to many attractions. Extremely comfortable beds and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Second City Comedy Club - a riot!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dgg27
Business
México
Sep 3, 2011

very small room

the location was great just 3 blocks from the main shopping street and lake, the bed was comfortable but the room was too small. i didin´t expect that at all. had a little trouble with the remote control and the towels but its an ok hotel overall. one night i felt sick and asked for aspirine and they didint have any, im used to an emergency kit or minimum aspirin at the reception. the hotel is good it just needs a little details to make it great. (exept for the room size)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

gianello´s!!! delicious stuffed pizza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top