$106 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 15, 2015 Check-out: Feb 18, 2015

dana hotel and spa

4 stars
660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
232 reviews
Wonderful stay for conference

Had an awesome experience and loved the spa!! Beautiful, modern, clean. The bar at the top is cool,... See full review

  • 3AKCHX
  • Jan 12, 2015
Nice Hotel

have been fan of Dana hotel for past few years already. Nice Location with comfort design with firm... See full review

  • Rami
  • Jan 5, 2015
Modern retreat for healthy living in downtown Chicago
The dana hotel and spa in Chicago's River North neighborhood balances the beauty of natural elements with the latest technology to create a modern retreat for healthy living. From the progressive health center to the Zeppelin MP3 media system in each room, the dana's core philosophy of wellness and individuality is expressed in all elements of the hotel. Bathed in natural light, the dana is an oasis of serene relaxation in a bustling city.
Highlights
  • Sweeping views at Vertigo Sky Lounge
  • Spa at dana and 24-hour fitness center
  • Enjoy American favorites with a global twist at freestyle food + drink
      Rooms
      Sleekly decorated with hints of Asian influence, standard rooms at the dana hotel and spa feature a half wall of floor-to-ceiling windows and walkout balconies. Serenity is infused in everything from the natural, sustainable floors to the 300-thread count Egyptian cotton sheets over pillow-top mattresses. Glass separates bath from boudoir and illuminates the shower rooms, featuring Italian rain shower fixtures and handcrafted tiles.
      Features
      With its mantra “the pleasure of giving,” the dana hotel and spa sets out to deliver a unique experience to its visitors. The spa offers an extensive array of treatments, from prenatal massages and organic manicures to customized facials and Italian mud body wraps. The focus on wellness continues through the high-tech fitness center, which is outfitted with Italian TechnoGym Kinetic Equipment to promote fluid motion.

      Vertigo Sky Lounge is Chicago’s premiere year-round indoor/outdoor lounge. With the dramatic city skyline as a backdrop, Vertigo is the ideal place to mix it up after work or into the night. It features a dancing fire pit, lush modern furnishings, craft cocktails and happy hour menus. New this summer is the Bartender’s Booth, where patrons can sample craft cocktails and off-menu bites while engaging with their very own mixologist.

      Guests can also head to freestyle food + drink on site to sample American favorites with a global twist during breakfast, lunch, dinner, and happy hour. The restaurant also has a street-side patio for outdoor dining (as weather permits).
      Transportation
      • O’Hare International Airport (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
      • Midway Airport (9.7 mi/15.7 km)
      • Blue Line (Jackson/Lake) (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
      • Orange Line (Chicago/Lake) (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • McCormick Place Convention Center (3 mi/4.9 km)
      Attractions
      • Michigan Avenue (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
      • Magnificent Mile (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
      • Wrigley Building (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
      • Tribune Tower (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
      • Merchandise Mart (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
      • Oak Street Beach (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
      • The Loop (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • Art Institute of Chicago (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • Willis (Sears) Tower (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
      • Navy Pier (1.3 mi/2 km)
      Business
      • Fully equipped business center
      • Meeting rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, high-speed Internet access and audio/visual equipment
      Policies and Fees
      • Overnight parking charge is $39 per night plus tax and unlimited in/out privileges

      This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

      Recommendations for you

      Customers who viewed dana hotel and spa also booked these hotels.

      Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
      Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
      Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

      dana hotel and spa Rooms

      Serene King
      Our Serene King Room features one king bed and a full wall of floor to ceiling windows that offer a view of State Street. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include: a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
      Cozy King
      Our Cozy King Room features a walk out balcony while offering a slightly smaller, yet efficient and quaint space. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
      Corner King
      Our Corner King Room features one king bed and two walls of floor to ceiling windows that offer a panoramic view of the city and a more spacious feel. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.

      Amenities

      • WiFi
      General
      Concierge
      Pet friendly
      Activities
      Fitness Center
      Spa
      Dining
      Restaurant
      Room service
      Services
      Business center
      Conference facilities
      Internet
      WiFi
      Accessibility
      Handicapped rooms/facilities

      Nearby points of interest

      • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
      • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
      • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
      • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
      • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
      • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
      • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
      • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
      • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
      • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
      • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
      • Marina City: 0.4 mi
      • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
      • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
      • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
      • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
      • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
      • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
      • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
      • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
      • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
      • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
      • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
      • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
      • Marina City: 0.4 mi
      • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
      • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
      • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
      • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
      • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
      • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
      • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
      • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
      • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
      • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
      • Macys: 0.7 mi
      • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
      • City Hall: 0.7 mi
      • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
      • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
      • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
      • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
      • State Street: 0.8 mi
      • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
      • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
      • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
      • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
      • Opera House: 0.9 mi
      • Children Museum: 1 mi
      • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
      • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
      • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
      • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
      • Yacht Club: 1.1 mi
      • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
      • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

      Dining

      freestyle food + drink
      At freestyle food + drink we have a passion for food and a desire to share that passion. We add a pinch of this and a dash of that to create american tastes with a twist of global influence. freestyle is open for breakfast, lunch, happy hour, dinner and weekend brunch.
      Vertigo Sky Lounge
      Cocktails and catsuits perched 26 floors above the Dana hotel and spa. Relaxed conversations in a high fidelity sushi bar offer an escape from the mainstream.

      Hotel Policies

      Check-in:
      0300
      Check-out:
      1200

      Terms and conditions

      Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

      The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

      Back to menu Return to top

      Guest Reviews (232)

      Ratings and reviews for dana hotel and spa

      Overall score

      4.2 / 5
      5.01.0
      232 out of 232
      Amenities:
      4.2
      Cleanliness:
      4.6
      Hotel staff:
      4.4
      Comfort:
      4.4
      Location:
      4.7
      Value:
      4.2

      91% would recommend to a friend.

      Sort by:
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      Principal Hotel Designer
      Business
      Las Vegas, NV
      Aug 4, 2012

      Dana Hotel Delivers

      For a group of discriminating hospitality designers, this jewel of a hotel embodies our definition of boutique hotel. Its clean modern urban design captivates our sensibilities and comfort. It was a great find, and we will visit again. Check-in was smooth and even with an elevator glitch- they accommodated all guests with a cool beverage in the Lobby to make up for the inconvenience. Breakfast service was a bit slow at 6:30 am, but we were able to check out and make our appointment on time.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Comfort:
      5
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      5
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      eze does it
      Business
      Kalamazoo, MI
      Feb 18, 2013

      great location

      Everything was great except we were sent to two different bars to get an after dinner drink...never did get one. I reported it to the front desk, they assured me we would be compensated, which we were not. Everything else was fine, I would stay there again for the location.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Cleanliness:
      3
      Hotel staff:
      2
      Comfort:
      4
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

      The location is perfect, close to shopping, restraunts, whole foods, etc. Used very little cabs.

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Billy Whiskers
      Business
      Tulsa, OK
      Feb 10, 2013

      Dana Hotel, Chicago

      Great location (easy to get to everything). Staff super friendly. Rooms were modern with awesome natural light. Impressive Powerful Shower.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Morgan Phillip
      Business
      Houston
      Feb 9, 2013

      Great Experience

      The 0nline deal on this hotel made it an incredible value. For the places I needed to be, the location was superb. Staff was helpful. The only problem we had (with the TV) was quickly resolved.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Comfort:
      4
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      4
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      112262
      Business
      St Louis
      Feb 5, 2013

      Great location!

      We have stayed at various hotels downtown because we like to try different places. While this hotel had the perfect location, i would say that the room was almost uncomfortably small. Good news was that we had a balcony, which in the dead of winter didn't mean much, but was nice to have. Also, the staff was wonderful, very attentive. The location was perfect for what we wanted to do in the city. Shopping was a relatively close walk. Tons of great restauarants nearby.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Comfort:
      3
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      sandi traveller
      Business
      copenhagen, denmark
      Feb 3, 2013

      Excellent deal at the Dana Hotel

      We got an incredible deal at this hotel for 3 nights in January, and based on that we would book again. The location is excellent. The room was above average, but not spectacular. Lots of windows, but not really any good view in our room. I hated the shower - had great potential but with the half-glass door none of the heat stays in and its too cold to enjoy it. The bathroom was nice and big though and it did have a rain shower.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      3
      Comfort:
      3
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      Mjkisala
      Business
      Bermuda
      Feb 3, 2013

      Perfect weekend get away

      Absolutely wonderful hotel. Very unique fun style. Amazing location, great staff. In house restaurant delicious and vertigo sky lounge was the perfect place to spend an evening out! Would definitely return.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Entertainment tip: In Hotel

      Vertigo Sky Lounge

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Just a worker
      Business
      Chicago, Il
      Feb 2, 2013

      Not my style

      I booked this hotel at a below market rate deal, so I have no complaints on what I got for the price, but I tried to review it based on what my attitude would have been if I paid market. The room was dark, lighting seemed to be designed for a romatic interlude, I needed light to read and work by. The television was particularly frustrating. Signal lost regularly and stations I would expect to be included, MSNBC, for example, not included. The bathroom also lacked adequate lighting, the shower head was on the ceiling, not my idea of a good design. Part of the room was hardwood floors, which were cold and slippery. Looking for a drop dead design, I think, but not the functional hotel room I prefer. If you want the glitz without the substance, then this might work for you. If you want function, do not stay here.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Comfort:
      2
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      4
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      Timo26
      Business
      New York
      Jan 28, 2013

      Nice

      Had a nice little experience. All the glass in the rooms are pretty nice.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      Aggie B.
      Business
      New York, NY
      Jan 23, 2013

      I would give all the stars in the sky!

      This hotel is fantastic. Top to bottom, a fantastic place to stay. Front Desk/Concierge was exceptional, always friendly and willing to answer any questions. The room had every amenity you could imagine. The king bed was amazing! Restaurant, although a bit expensive, had great food and drinks. Vertigo also had a great atmosphere. Didn't use the Spa or gym, but I'm sure it's fantastic as well. Overall, LOVE this place. I'm planning my next trip now!

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      L.W.R.
      Business
      Austin
      Jan 22, 2013

      Only one problem...

      This is one of my favorite hotels in Chicago. The rooms are great and the beds are extremely comfortable. The hotel is located in the heart of great shopping and dining. Two of the 3 rooms we booked were great. One room however was on the 23rd floor and had a lot of noise from the music coming from the rooftop club. My friends that were on the 14th and 7th floor did not have any noise issues.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Comfort:
      4
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      4
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Back to menu Return to top