$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

dana hotel and spa

4 stars
660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
224 reviews
Couldn't have found a better place

The hotel rooms are very clean, comfortable and luxury! It's very close to a subway station and has... See full review

  • Gabriela Santos
  • Nov 17, 2014
Excellent business experience

I was here on business for three days and had an excellent stay. The staff was extremely friendly... See full review

  • Dedham Mark
  • Oct 27, 2014
Modern retreat for healthy living in downtown Chicago
The dana hotel and spa in Chicago's River North neighborhood balances the beauty of natural elements with the latest technology to create a modern retreat for healthy living. From the progressive health center to the Zeppelin MP3 media system in each room, the dana's core philosophy of wellness and individuality is expressed in all elements of the hotel. Bathed in natural light, the dana is an oasis of serene relaxation in a bustling city.
Highlights
  • Sweeping views at Vertigo Sky Lounge
  • Spa at dana and 24-hour fitness center
  • Enjoy American favorites with a global twist at freestyle food + drink
      Rooms
      Sleekly decorated with hints of Asian influence, standard rooms at the dana hotel and spa feature a half wall of floor-to-ceiling windows and walkout balconies. Serenity is infused in everything from the natural, sustainable floors to the 300-thread count Egyptian cotton sheets over pillow-top mattresses. Glass separates bath from boudoir and illuminates the shower rooms, featuring Italian rain shower fixtures and handcrafted tiles.
      Features
      With its mantra “the pleasure of giving,” the dana hotel and spa sets out to deliver a unique experience to its visitors. The spa offers an extensive array of treatments, from prenatal massages and organic manicures to customized facials and Italian mud body wraps. The focus on wellness continues through the high-tech fitness center, which is outfitted with Italian TechnoGym Kinetic Equipment to promote fluid motion.

      Vertigo Sky Lounge is Chicago’s premiere year-round indoor/outdoor lounge. With the dramatic city skyline as a backdrop, Vertigo is the ideal place to mix it up after work or into the night. It features a dancing fire pit, lush modern furnishings, craft cocktails and happy hour menus. New this summer is the Bartender’s Booth, where patrons can sample craft cocktails and off-menu bites while engaging with their very own mixologist.

      Guests can also head to freestyle food + drink on site to sample American favorites with a global twist during breakfast, lunch, dinner, and happy hour. The restaurant also has a street-side patio for outdoor dining (as weather permits).
      Transportation
      • O’Hare International Airport (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
      • Midway Airport (9.7 mi/15.7 km)
      • Blue Line (Jackson/Lake) (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
      • Orange Line (Chicago/Lake) (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • McCormick Place Convention Center (3 mi/4.9 km)
      Attractions
      • Michigan Avenue (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
      • Magnificent Mile (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
      • Wrigley Building (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
      • Tribune Tower (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
      • Merchandise Mart (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
      • Oak Street Beach (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
      • The Loop (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • Art Institute of Chicago (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • Willis (Sears) Tower (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
      • Navy Pier (1.3 mi/2 km)
      Business
      • Fully equipped business center
      • Meeting rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, high-speed Internet access and audio/visual equipment
      Policies and Fees
      • Overnight parking charge is $39 per night plus tax and unlimited in/out privileges

      This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

      Recommendations for you

      Customers who viewed dana hotel and spa also booked these hotels.

      Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
      Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
      Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

      dana hotel and spa Rooms

      Serene King
      Our Serene King Room features one king bed and a full wall of floor to ceiling windows that offer a view of State Street. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include: a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
      Cozy King
      Our Cozy King Room features a walk out balcony while offering a slightly smaller, yet efficient and quaint space. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
      Corner King
      Our Corner King Room features one king bed and two walls of floor to ceiling windows that offer a panoramic view of the city and a more spacious feel. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.

      Amenities

      • WiFi
      General
      Concierge
      Pet friendly
      Activities
      Fitness Center
      Spa
      Dining
      Restaurant
      Room service
      Services
      Business center
      Conference facilities
      Internet
      WiFi
      Accessibility
      Handicapped rooms/facilities

      Nearby points of interest

      • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
      • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
      • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
      • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
      • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
      • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
      • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
      • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
      • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
      • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
      • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
      • Marina City: 0.4 mi
      • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
      • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
      • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
      • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
      • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
      • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
      • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
      • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
      • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
      • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
      • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
      • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
      • Marina City: 0.4 mi
      • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
      • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
      • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
      • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
      • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
      • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
      • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
      • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
      • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
      • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
      • Macys: 0.7 mi
      • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
      • City Hall: 0.7 mi
      • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
      • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
      • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
      • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
      • State Street: 0.8 mi
      • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
      • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
      • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
      • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
      • Opera House: 0.9 mi
      • Children Museum: 1 mi
      • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
      • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
      • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
      • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
      • Yacht Club: 1.1 mi
      • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
      • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

      Dining

      freestyle food + drink
      At freestyle food + drink we have a passion for food and a desire to share that passion. We add a pinch of this and a dash of that to create american tastes with a twist of global influence. freestyle is open for breakfast, lunch, happy hour, dinner and weekend brunch.
      Vertigo Sky Lounge
      Cocktails and catsuits perched 26 floors above the Dana hotel and spa. Relaxed conversations in a high fidelity sushi bar offer an escape from the mainstream.

      Hotel Policies

      Check-in:
      0300
      Check-out:
      1200

      Terms and conditions

      Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

      The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

      Back to menu Return to top

      Guest Reviews (224)

      Ratings and reviews for dana hotel and spa

      Overall score

      4.2 / 5
      5.01.0
      224 out of 224
      Amenities:
      4.2
      Room cleanliness:
      4.6
      Hotel staff:
      4.4
      Room comfort:
      4.4
      Location:
      4.7
      Value:
      4.2

      92% would recommend to a friend.

      Sort by:
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      siriusbasquet
      Business
      Spain
      Sep 1, 2011

      very good

      very convenient, to be visited again. Is based in downtown and very close to restaurants

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      1
      5.01.0
      Bill1976
      Business
      San Diego, CA, USA
      Jan 13, 2014

      Nightmare Checking in

      I checked in and they had no record of my stay. They called around on radios and 25 minutes later someone found a fax somewhere with my confirmation. Then they manually typed my reservation in and 40 minutes later I was checked into the room I booked. I was told by the front desk staff to contact them directly next time and pay the standard fare and I wouldnt have to wait.... really?

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      1
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      1
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      Short Court
      Business
      Saint louis MO
      Dec 31, 2013

      Best birthday weekend trip!

      The staff was so curious and helpful. This hotel was perfect for our trip, couldn't ask for better! Deffinetly returning to this hotel when back in Chicago.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      filmassagewater
      Business
      Long Island New YORK
      Dec 26, 2013

      Best Kept secret in Chicago

      The Dana hotel is located right in the heart of everything....easy transit via subway or the bus. The Spa offers unlimited use of the Steam Room as well as the finest staff of therapists. I have been to Vegas and other health facilities, this staff is truly dedicated and professional

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

      a great staff at the Spa facility. As a massage therapist, I had one of the top 3 massages in my life.

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      Ryan was here
      Business
      San Francisco, CA
      Dec 23, 2013

      Nice views, unpretentious trendiness.

      The room was well laid out, and the B&W sound system was a nice touch. The rainfall shower city views were an unexpected bonus. From the 23rd floor I could hear the club on Friday night, but it didn't prevent me from getting to sleep. Staff was efficient.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      DHSW
      Business
      Chicago
      Nov 28, 2013

      Decent Hotel

      The room had a cold feel and there was no room service menu. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was good.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      3
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      mer23
      Business
      Ames, IA
      Nov 6, 2013

      Loved it!

      We loved the style of this fabulous boutique hotel. And, the location was excellent - just a couple blocks from Michigan Ave, and right in the center of a ton of shopping, restaurants, and museums. Will definitely stay here again.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      Funkyplumber
      Business
      Dallas
      Oct 16, 2013

      GREAT HOTEL

      Stayed here while in town to run the marathon. Rooms are very comfortable. Internet worked great. Staff are all very accommodating and happy to help. Room service and food were very good. Great location. Loved the hotel and will stay here if ever in Chicago. There is a club on the top floor. We did not go and were never bothered by people or loud music. We were on the 6th floor of 25. The entrance for the club is separate from the hotel guest entrance.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      MrJohn
      Business
      Wheaton, IL
      Oct 3, 2013

      Anniversary Celebration

      Staying at the Dana was a great experience. The location was excellent and the staff was very accomodating. I really enjoyed the rooftop bar, especially at night.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      5
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Jersey and Jen
      Business
      Nashville, TN
      Sep 19, 2013

      Great hotel, problems with parking

      I made an mobile reservations for the Dana Hotel in Chicago. I was traveling up from Nashville. I called half way from the road to verify reservation and to let the front desk know that I would be there after midnight. I had some initial trouble getting someone on the phone (customer service closes at 6 pm on Sundays), but eventually getting to speak to front desk, (he was very helpful). When I arrived at 1:15 AM, I was a little confused as to where to park. I eventually found the hotels lot and spoke with the valet attendant who took my keys and gave me a claim check. I went to front desk, checked in, the room had already been charged to my cc and paid for. Front desk told me that I needed a cc on file for "incidentals" with a $70 authorization. I gave him my card no problem. He was nice enough to give me a later check out of 1 pm. I went up to room which was very nice, very clean and had great views of downtown. The bed was comfortable, the shower in the bathroom was unbelievable and the mini bar was stocked with great products. The TV situation was a little strange, not many channels to choose from and they were mostly analog. But the wifi was free. The next morning around 9 am there was a knock at the door then a piece of paper was slid under. The paper was a bill in the amount of $48.36 for valet parking. Not only was I not notified of this charge in making reservation, I was not notified by the front desk when I checked in. I was a little confused as to how valet parking is considered an "incidental", and why I wasn't told when I checked in, I just got a note under my door at 9 am. When I was checking out I asked to speak with the manager who informed me that "there was a sign" (which is small and on the other side of the building), and that the lot did not belong to the hotel so there was nothing he could do. Everyone else that worked there was very pleasant and helpful, but he seemed irritated that he had to speak to me. At the same time the man next to me was having a problem with his bill as well and the same manager had the same attitude with him. I understand that parking is at a premium in a city like Chicago. And the hotel and my room were very nice, I just wish I had been informed at SOME point about valet charge before getting a clandestine note under the door in the morning before check out.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Dining tip: Not Applicable

      New Ingland Inn. 11 miles from hotel. Great little hidden treasure for those that like to try etnic food. Czech/ Polish/ Slovak cuisine for great price. Huge portions at $10-$15 per meal.

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Aaaak
      Business
      Chicago
      Aug 27, 2013

      Nice

      This is a nice modern hotel in a good location for the price. The bathroom situation is awkward because its a glass shower basically next to the bed and the bathroom has a sliding door so not much privacy. The staff wasnt my favorite experience, snooty and not helpful, but it could have been an off night.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      2
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      4
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      Purple pig Michigan ave

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Back to menu Return to top