$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

dana hotel and spa

4 stars
660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
342 reviews
Doesn't get any better!

Absolutely fell in love with this hotel. Walking distance to everything. We stayed in a King Room... See full review

  • MsSquirt
  • Jul 22, 2014
Great stay in Chicago

This hotel is in a fantasic location with very helpful staff and everything you need to have a... See full review

  • Anne on the run
  • Apr 28, 2014
Modern retreat for healthy living in downtown Chicago
The dana hotel and spa in Chicago's River North neighborhood balances the beauty of natural elements with the latest technology to create a modern retreat for healthy living. From the progressive health center to the Zeppelin MP3 media system in each room, the dana's core philosophy of wellness and individuality is expressed in all elements of the hotel. Bathed in natural light, the dana is an oasis of serene relaxation in a bustling city.
Highlights
  • Sweeping views at Vertigo Sky Lounge
  • Spa at dana and 24-hour fitness center
  • Enjoy American favorites with a global twist at freestyle food + drink
      Rooms
      Sleekly decorated with hints of Asian influence, standard rooms at the dana hotel and spa feature a half wall of floor-to-ceiling windows and walkout balconies. Serenity is infused in everything from the natural, sustainable floors to the 300-thread count Egyptian cotton sheets over pillow-top mattresses. Glass separates bath from boudoir and illuminates the shower rooms, featuring Italian rain shower fixtures and handcrafted tiles.
      Features
      With its mantra “the pleasure of giving,” the dana hotel and spa sets out to deliver a unique experience to its visitors. The spa offers an extensive array of treatments, from prenatal massages and organic manicures to customized facials and Italian mud body wraps. The focus on wellness continues through the high-tech fitness center, which is outfitted with Italian TechnoGym Kinetic Equipment to promote fluid motion.

      Vertigo Sky Lounge is Chicago’s premiere year-round indoor/outdoor lounge. With the dramatic city skyline as a backdrop, Vertigo is the ideal place to mix it up after work or into the night. It features a dancing fire pit, lush modern furnishings, craft cocktails and happy hour menus. New this summer is the Bartender’s Booth, where patrons can sample craft cocktails and off-menu bites while engaging with their very own mixologist.

      Guests can also head to freestyle food + drink on site to sample American favorites with a global twist during breakfast, lunch, dinner, and happy hour. The restaurant also has a street-side patio for outdoor dining (as weather permits).
      Transportation
      • O’Hare International Airport (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
      • Midway Airport (9.7 mi/15.7 km)
      • Blue Line (Jackson/Lake) (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
      • Orange Line (Chicago/Lake) (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • McCormick Place Convention Center (3 mi/4.9 km)
      Attractions
      • Michigan Avenue (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
      • Magnificent Mile (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
      • Wrigley Building (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
      • Tribune Tower (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
      • Merchandise Mart (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
      • Oak Street Beach (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
      • The Loop (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • Art Institute of Chicago (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • Willis (Sears) Tower (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
      • Navy Pier (1.3 mi/2 km)
      Business
      • Fully equipped business center
      • Meeting rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, high-speed Internet access and audio/visual equipment
      Policies and Fees
      • Overnight parking charge is $39 per night plus tax and unlimited in/out privileges

      This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

      dana hotel and spa Rooms

      Serene King
      Our Serene King Room features one king bed and a full wall of floor to ceiling windows that offer a view of State Street. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include: a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
      Cozy King
      Our Cozy King Room features a walk out balcony while offering a slightly smaller, yet efficient and quaint space. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
      Corner King
      Our Corner King Room features one king bed and two walls of floor to ceiling windows that offer a panoramic view of the city and a more spacious feel. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.

      Amenities

      • WiFi
      General
      Concierge
      Pet friendly
      Activities
      Fitness Center
      Spa
      Dining
      Restaurant
      Room service
      Services
      Business center
      Conference facilities
      Internet
      WiFi
      Accessibility
      Handicapped rooms/facilities

      Recommendations for you

      Customers who viewed dana hotel and spa also booked these hotels.

      Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
      Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
      Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

      Hotel Map

      41.8942 -87.6282
      Area served
      Chicago.
      Nearby airports
      O Hare Airport 17 miles , Midway Airport 13 miles.
      Area description
      The dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's river north which is known for hosting the largest concentration of art galleries in the United States outside of Manhattan. Apart from the art galleries there is the Magnificent Mile one of the hottest shopping streets in the US. Chicago is also home to some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife.

      Nearby points of interest

      • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
      • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
      • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
      • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
      • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
      • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
      • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
      • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
      • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
      • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
      • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
      • Marina City: 0.4 mi
      • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
      • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
      • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
      • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
      • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
      • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
      • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
      • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
      • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
      • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
      • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
      • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
      • Marina City: 0.4 mi
      • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
      • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
      • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
      • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
      • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
      • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
      • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
      • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
      • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
      • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
      • Macys: 0.7 mi
      • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
      • City Hall: 0.7 mi
      • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
      • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
      • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
      • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
      • State Street: 0.8 mi
      • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
      • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
      • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
      • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
      • Opera House: 0.9 mi
      • Children Museum: 1 mi
      • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
      • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
      • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
      • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
      • Yacht Club: 1.1 mi
      • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
      • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

      Dining

      freestyle food + drink
      At freestyle food + drink we have a passion for food and a desire to share that passion. We add a pinch of this and a dash of that to create american tastes with a twist of global influence. freestyle is open for breakfast, lunch, happy hour, dinner and weekend brunch.
      Vertigo Sky Lounge
      Cocktails and catsuits perched 26 floors above the Dana hotel and spa. Relaxed conversations in a high fidelity sushi bar offer an escape from the mainstream.

      Hotel Policies

      Check-in:
      0300
      Check-out:
      1200

      Terms and conditions

      Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

      The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

      Back to menu Return to top

      Guest Reviews (342)

      Ratings and reviews for dana hotel and spa

      Overall score

      4.2 / 5
      5.01.0
      342 out of 342
      Amenities:
      4.2
      Room cleanliness:
      4.6
      Hotel staff:
      4.5
      Room comfort:
      4.4
      Location:
      4.6
      Value:
      4.2

      91% would recommend to a friend.

      Sort by:
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      The Happy Couple from the Nati
      Cincinnati, OH
      Sep 3, 2010

      Slick, Modern, Relaxing, and Fun

      The Dana was absolutely wonderful! My husband and I spent the weekend there and the rooms were modern, clean, and elegant. They had every modern convenience (big screen TV, iPod dock, Krupps coffee maker, etc.). The views were amazing! The club on the rooftop was a fun and inviting place. The steak house in the restaurant in the hotel was too pricey for my taste, but you are in walking distance to everything!!! We will most certainly stay there again.... AND... and let me give a special shout out to the doorman, who were the most helpful, pleasant guys I have met at a hotel!

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Newlywed Biz Traveler
      St. Louis, MO
      Aug 30, 2010

      Trendy City Getaway

      This was a surprise engagement trip for us! And the hotel helped make the experience even that more special. The hotel was a great change from the usual rooms in a big city. This is something different which makes the stay feel very special. The room felt first class and the staff was very friendly. After dinner we were greeted in the room with rose petals and wine. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a romantic getaway in the city. It was within walking distance of most any place we wanted to dine and shop. The only downside was on the weekend, the horns from the taxis below were very noisy. We had to keep the A/C running all night in order to help create white noise to block out the busy street noise below.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Newlywed Biz Traveler
      St. Louis, MO
      Aug 30, 2010

      Trendy City Getaway

      This was a surprise engagement trip for us! And the hotel helped make the experience even that more special. The hotel was a great change from the usual rooms in a big city. This is something different which makes the stay feel very special. The room felt first class and the staff was very friendly. After dinner we were greeted in the room with rose petals and wine. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a romantic getaway in the city. It was within walking distance of most any place we wanted to dine and shop. The only downside was on the weekend, the horns from the taxis below were very noisy. We had to keep the A/C running all night in order to help create white noise to block out the busy street noise below.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      ontario
      Aug 20, 2010

      location & value perfect

      our room, although small was extremely comfortable and spotless and we just loved our shower! Location was excellent. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant one evening which we thoroughly enjoyed. Staff could not have been more helpful. Would certainly stay here again.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      Harry Carey's restaurant on Clarke.

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      ontario
      Aug 20, 2010

      location & value perfect

      our room, although small was extremely comfortable and spotless and we just loved our shower! Location was excellent. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant one evening which we thoroughly enjoyed. Staff could not have been more helpful. Would certainly stay here again.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      Harry Carey's restaurant on Clarke.

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Franklin, MA
      Aug 18, 2010

      Excellent stay

      The hotel is in the perfect location. We were able to see the air show from our bed! The staff was knowledgeable. The food at the restaurant was very good. As was room service. The nightly turn down service was nice and they left a little treat on your bed every night. The room was immaculate. My only complaint was the noise. I don't live in a city so I am not used to it. I didn't mind because it was part of the experience. I will definately stay in this hotel again soon.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Dining tip: In Hotel

      Have a night cap and dessert at the roof top lounge Vertigo!

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Franklin, MA
      Aug 18, 2010

      Excellent stay

      The hotel is in the perfect location. We were able to see the air show from our bed! The staff was knowledgeable. The food at the restaurant was very good. As was room service. The nightly turn down service was nice and they left a little treat on your bed every night. The room was immaculate. My only complaint was the noise. I don't live in a city so I am not used to it. I didn't mind because it was part of the experience. I will definately stay in this hotel again soon.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Dining tip: In Hotel

      Have a night cap and dessert at the roof top lounge Vertigo!

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      half of an anniversary couple
      Ontario, Canada
      Jul 28, 2010

      Great Couples Hotel

      Excellent service from the staff. Bellhop gave us excellent ideas as to what to do and where to go to see great blues music. Concierge was helpful in calling restaurants and giving advice and directions. Within walking distance to a great breakfast place and the Magnificant Mile and two subway stations. Went to the rooftop bar on one night but they closed the outside at 11:00 to our dismay. Hotel room was small but sufficient. Very sleek and modern, only minor wear. We were asked if we would like a higher or lower room and chose a higher one which provided us with a great view. Only disappointment was that they could not accommodate an early checkin, we had been travelling since early in the morning, but did hold our bags.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      4
      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      Breakfast at Eleavans and the patio down the street for a quick snack and pizza both very reasonably priced.

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      half of an anniversary couple
      Ontario, Canada
      Jul 28, 2010

      Great Couples Hotel

      Excellent service from the staff. Bellhop gave us excellent ideas as to what to do and where to go to see great blues music. Concierge was helpful in calling restaurants and giving advice and directions. Within walking distance to a great breakfast place and the Magnificant Mile and two subway stations. Went to the rooftop bar on one night but they closed the outside at 11:00 to our dismay. Hotel room was small but sufficient. Very sleek and modern, only minor wear. We were asked if we would like a higher or lower room and chose a higher one which provided us with a great view. Only disappointment was that they could not accommodate an early checkin, we had been travelling since early in the morning, but did hold our bags.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      4
      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      Breakfast at Eleavans and the patio down the street for a quick snack and pizza both very reasonably priced.

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Chicago
      Jul 26, 2010

      Location, Location, Location

      The entire staff was extremely friendly. The location was perfect for sight seeing, dining, and taking advantage of the Magnificent Mile.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      Quantinos

      Back to menu Return to top