$170 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

dana hotel and spa

4 stars
View map of 660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for dana hotel and spa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
258 out of 258
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Sep 5, 2010

would stay again

Very nice room, a little small. Put off by the glass shower, visible from the bed, which also, unless a cheesy curtain was pulled, gave a clear view of the toilet. Otherwise enjoyable, w/a friendly staff and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Happy Couple from the Nati
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Sep 3, 2010

Slick, Modern, Relaxing, and Fun

The Dana was absolutely wonderful! My husband and I spent the weekend there and the rooms were modern, clean, and elegant. They had every modern convenience (big screen TV, iPod dock, Krupps coffee maker, etc.). The views were amazing! The club on the rooftop was a fun and inviting place. The steak house in the restaurant in the hotel was too pricey for my taste, but you are in walking distance to everything!!! We will most certainly stay there again.... AND... and let me give a special shout out to the doorman, who were the most helpful, pleasant guys I have met at a hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newlywed Biz Traveler
Business
St. Louis, MO
Aug 30, 2010

Trendy City Getaway

This was a surprise engagement trip for us! And the hotel helped make the experience even that more special. The hotel was a great change from the usual rooms in a big city. This is something different which makes the stay feel very special. The room felt first class and the staff was very friendly. After dinner we were greeted in the room with rose petals and wine. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a romantic getaway in the city. It was within walking distance of most any place we wanted to dine and shop. The only downside was on the weekend, the horns from the taxis below were very noisy. We had to keep the A/C running all night in order to help create white noise to block out the busy street noise below.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ontario
Aug 20, 2010

location & value perfect

our room, although small was extremely comfortable and spotless and we just loved our shower! Location was excellent. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant one evening which we thoroughly enjoyed. Staff could not have been more helpful. Would certainly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Harry Carey's restaurant on Clarke.

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Franklin, MA
Aug 18, 2010

Excellent stay

The hotel is in the perfect location. We were able to see the air show from our bed! The staff was knowledgeable. The food at the restaurant was very good. As was room service. The nightly turn down service was nice and they left a little treat on your bed every night. The room was immaculate. My only complaint was the noise. I don't live in a city so I am not used to it. I didn't mind because it was part of the experience. I will definately stay in this hotel again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Have a night cap and dessert at the roof top lounge Vertigo!

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
half of an anniversary couple
Business
Ontario, Canada
Jul 28, 2010

Great Couples Hotel

Excellent service from the staff. Bellhop gave us excellent ideas as to what to do and where to go to see great blues music. Concierge was helpful in calling restaurants and giving advice and directions. Within walking distance to a great breakfast place and the Magnificant Mile and two subway stations. Went to the rooftop bar on one night but they closed the outside at 11:00 to our dismay. Hotel room was small but sufficient. Very sleek and modern, only minor wear. We were asked if we would like a higher or lower room and chose a higher one which provided us with a great view. Only disappointment was that they could not accommodate an early checkin, we had been travelling since early in the morning, but did hold our bags.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at Eleavans and the patio down the street for a quick snack and pizza both very reasonably priced.

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 26, 2010

Location, Location, Location

The entire staff was extremely friendly. The location was perfect for sight seeing, dining, and taking advantage of the Magnificent Mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Quantinos

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
foodmike
Business
Arcadia
Jul 21, 2010

Dana Hotel

was an excellent stay - the restaurant in the hotel is outstanding- the Hamachi Guacamole is killer. Truly enjoyed the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Frontera Grill and XOCO

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
foodmike
Business
Arcadia
Jul 21, 2010

Dana Hotel

was an excellent stay - the restaurant in the hotel is outstanding- the Hamachi Guacamole is killer. Truly enjoyed the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Frontera Grill and XOCO

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
In Town for a Week
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Jul 18, 2010

Highly Recommended!!

Very new and modern hotel. Excellent location and very friendly staff. Amazing views and super clean. There is a bar/patio area on the 26th floor that hosts late night music and fun, so if noise bothers you at night you may want a lower level floor (they do recommend this). I was on the 25th floor and only heard it twice, but not enough to bother me. Only a few block walk to Michigan Ave & shopping, river front dining, universities, Whole Foods & Trader Joes, Movie Theater and Bowling...a really great location! As a single traveler I felt very safe both outside and inside the hotel. Although I did not eat at the hotel, the food looked amazing and they offered indoor, outdoor, and room-service options. The ambiance was wonderful and inviting. Rooms have floor to ceiling windows and they offer turn-down service in the evenings to pull the shades, bring you ice, and leave delicious chocolate dipped fortune cookies. Rooms and bathroom are spacious with easy access to work on a laptop, view the flat-screen TV, or dock your iPhone/iPod for listening. The beds and bedding are very comfortable and the showers have good water pressure. They have a spa onsite, although I did not use it. They also have a fitness room, which is open 24 hours. It has a couple modern tredmills and a nice precor, as well as free weights. Although not extensive, it was nice to have quality equipment and 24 hour access without having to pay an additional fee. I will definitely return, as well as recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance to the beach (1/2 to 1 mile), 2 blks to public subway system, taxi and bus pick-up in front of hotel, 3-4 blks to Michigan Ave and shopping, a variety of restaurants, bars, and night clubs within walking distance, Starbucks on almost every corner, many 24-hour Walgreens, a movie theater, bowling and children's museum only a couple of blocks away. The taxi fee from Midway was $30. I took the subway to Wrigley Field (they offer tours daily) for $4.25 roundtrip.

Back to menu Return to top