$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

dana hotel and spa

4 stars
660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
341 reviews
Great stay in Chicago

This hotel is in a fantasic location with very helpful staff and everything you need to have a... See full review

  • Anne on the run
  • Apr 28, 2014
Loved it.

Best place to de-stress & enjoy Chicago. Staff was very attentive to all my needs. See full review

  • Anne on the run
  • Apr 26, 2014
Modern retreat for healthy living in downtown Chicago
The dana hotel and spa in Chicago's River North neighborhood balances the beauty of natural elements with the latest technology to create a modern retreat for healthy living. From the progressive health center to the Zeppelin MP3 media system in each room, the dana's core philosophy of wellness and individuality is expressed in all elements of the hotel. Bathed in natural light, the dana is an oasis of serene relaxation in a bustling city.
Highlights
  • Sweeping views at Vertigo Sky Lounge
  • Spa at dana and 24-hour fitness center
  • Enjoy American favorites with a global twist at freestyle food + drink
      Rooms
      Sleekly decorated with hints of Asian influence, standard rooms at the dana hotel and spa feature a half wall of floor-to-ceiling windows and walkout balconies. Serenity is infused in everything from the natural, sustainable floors to the 300-thread count Egyptian cotton sheets over pillow-top mattresses. Glass separates bath from boudoir and illuminates the shower rooms, featuring Italian rain shower fixtures and handcrafted tiles.
      Features
      With its mantra “the pleasure of giving,” the dana hotel and spa sets out to deliver a unique experience to its visitors. The spa offers an extensive array of treatments, from prenatal massages and organic manicures to customized facials and Italian mud body wraps. The focus on wellness continues through the high-tech fitness center, which is outfitted with Italian TechnoGym Kinetic Equipment to promote fluid motion.

      Vertigo Sky Lounge is Chicago’s premiere year-round indoor/outdoor lounge. With the dramatic city skyline as a backdrop, Vertigo is the ideal place to mix it up after work or into the night. It features a dancing fire pit, lush modern furnishings, craft cocktails and happy hour menus. New this summer is the Bartender’s Booth, where patrons can sample craft cocktails and off-menu bites while engaging with their very own mixologist.

      Guests can also head to freestyle food + drink on site to sample American favorites with a global twist during breakfast, lunch, dinner, and happy hour. The restaurant also has a street-side patio for outdoor dining (as weather permits).
      Transportation
      • O’Hare International Airport (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
      • Midway Airport (9.7 mi/15.7 km)
      • Blue Line (Jackson/Lake) (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
      • Orange Line (Chicago/Lake) (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • McCormick Place Convention Center (3 mi/4.9 km)
      Attractions
      • Michigan Avenue (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
      • Magnificent Mile (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
      • Wrigley Building (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
      • Tribune Tower (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
      • Merchandise Mart (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
      • Oak Street Beach (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
      • The Loop (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • Art Institute of Chicago (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • Willis (Sears) Tower (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
      • Navy Pier (1.3 mi/2 km)
      Business
      • Fully equipped business center
      • Meeting rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, high-speed Internet access and audio/visual equipment
      Policies and Fees
      • Overnight parking charge is $39 per night plus tax and unlimited in/out privileges

      This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

      dana hotel and spa Rooms

      Serene King
      Our Serene King Room features one king bed and a full wall of floor to ceiling windows that offer a view of State Street. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include: a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
      Cozy King
      Our Cozy King Room features a walk out balcony while offering a slightly smaller, yet efficient and quaint space. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
      Corner King
      Our Corner King Room features one king bed and two walls of floor to ceiling windows that offer a panoramic view of the city and a more spacious feel. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.

      Amenities

      • WiFi
      General
      Concierge
      Pet friendly
      Activities
      Fitness Center
      Spa
      Dining
      Restaurant
      Room service
      Services
      Business center
      Conference facilities
      Internet
      WiFi
      Accessibility
      Handicapped rooms/facilities

      Recommendations for you

      Customers who viewed dana hotel and spa also booked these hotels.

      Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
      Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
      Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

      Hotel Map

      41.8942 -87.6282
      Area served
      Chicago.
      Nearby airports
      O Hare Airport 17 miles , Midway Airport 13 miles.
      Area description
      The dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's river north which is known for hosting the largest concentration of art galleries in the United States outside of Manhattan. Apart from the art galleries there is the Magnificent Mile one of the hottest shopping streets in the US. Chicago is also home to some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife.

      Nearby points of interest

      • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
      • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
      • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
      • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
      • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
      • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
      • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
      • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
      • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
      • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
      • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
      • Marina City: 0.4 mi
      • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
      • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
      • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
      • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
      • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
      • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
      • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
      • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
      • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
      • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
      • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
      • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
      • Marina City: 0.4 mi
      • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
      • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
      • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
      • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
      • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
      • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
      • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
      • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
      • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
      • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
      • Macys: 0.7 mi
      • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
      • City Hall: 0.7 mi
      • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
      • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
      • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
      • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
      • State Street: 0.8 mi
      • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
      • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
      • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
      • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
      • Opera House: 0.9 mi
      • Children Museum: 1 mi
      • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
      • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
      • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
      • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
      • Yacht Club: 1.1 mi
      • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
      • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

      Dining

      freestyle food + drink
      At freestyle food + drink we have a passion for food and a desire to share that passion. We add a pinch of this and a dash of that to create american tastes with a twist of global influence. freestyle is open for breakfast, lunch, happy hour, dinner and weekend brunch.
      Vertigo Sky Lounge
      Cocktails and catsuits perched 26 floors above the Dana hotel and spa. Relaxed conversations in a high fidelity sushi bar offer an escape from the mainstream.

      Hotel Policies

      Check-in:
      0300
      Check-out:
      1200

      Terms and conditions

      Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

      The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

      Back to menu Return to top

      Guest Reviews (341)

      Ratings and reviews for dana hotel and spa

      Overall score

      4.2 / 5
      5.01.0
      341 out of 341
      Amenities:
      4.2
      Room cleanliness:
      4.6
      Hotel staff:
      4.4
      Room comfort:
      4.4
      Location:
      4.6
      Value:
      4.2

      91% would recommend to a friend.

      Sort by:
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Jon
      Business
      Whitstable, Kent
      Oct 25, 2010

      Great modern design

      I travel from the UK to Chicago often for business - this was a really nice hotel - Great location, very efficient staff, rooms very modern and a good size. I had a corner King room which had floor to ceiling windows, which meant views were great - though could be a bit too open to neighbours across the street, and if you are sharing a room with someone who is not your partner, then the clear view into the bathroom would be interesting !! For me the only negative points was the slow service for breakfast whilst I stayed and the smell of the kitchen permeating into the restaurant - I think they need to change their oil. Otherwise, a great hotel.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      3
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      Two great Italians less than a block away - Quartino's is a great place to go with a group of friends - very lively, and Osteria Via Stato a more sedate and classy venue, great food.

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      plymouth, IN
      Oct 22, 2010

      Awesome Stay

      The hotel was exactly as advertised and we were not disappointed. The room we had was a little small but the reviews had said as much so we knew to expect that. The rooftop deck was beautiful, the staff very accomodating and friendly. The hotel is perfectly situated to nightlife, restaurants, and shopping. We will definitely stay there again when we visit Chicago.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      plymouth, IN
      Oct 22, 2010

      Awesome Stay

      The hotel was exactly as advertised and we were not disappointed. The room we had was a little small but the reviews had said as much so we knew to expect that. The rooftop deck was beautiful, the staff very accomodating and friendly. The hotel is perfectly situated to nightlife, restaurants, and shopping. We will definitely stay there again when we visit Chicago.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Jenna & Matt
      MD
      Oct 13, 2010

      Pretty chic place!

      My husband and I spent a long weekend at the Dana. We're new to the concept of disposable income and consider ourselves both would-be design junkies and foodies, so the Dana was right up our alley. The room was small, but comfortable and very aesthetically pleasing... except for the bathroom door that didn't shut well (or sometimes at all). The door to the room was also apparently not all that hefty, since we could hear basically everything going on in the hallway. But it never got so raucous that we took issue with that. Also, we loved the rainfall shower heads! The staff were great. We took advantage of the spa services and found them to our liking, even if the masseurs were a little light-handed for our taste. Perhaps best of all, the restaurant downstairs was REALLY tasty and not breathtakingly expensive. Service tended to be swift, even when the place was busy, and the portions were generous, even from the "small plates" menu. Even though it was a bit of a hike to the most touristy- tourist things, it was pleasant enough that we would absolutely stay there again.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      3
      Value:
      5
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Pittsburgh, PA
      Oct 12, 2010

      Superior Customer Service

      This was our second stay at the Dana Hotel and Spa (my nephew's third). We had three rooms reserved, as this was an adult family getaway. The staff are extremely personable and resourceful. Staff even remembered my nephew and his wife from last year. The room was immaculate, and the shower is a real experience. Several little niceties were appreciated i.e. turndown service with fortune cookies, high-end coffee in the room, and toiletries. The room was somewhat small, but my husband and I were comfortable. The beds are also extremely comfortable. I will stay at the Dana each time I return to Chicago.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

      Be sure to visit Nordstrom's Off the Rack for some great prices on quality merchandise.

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Pittsburgh, PA
      Oct 12, 2010

      Superior Customer Service

      This was our second stay at the Dana Hotel and Spa (my nephew's third). We had three rooms reserved, as this was an adult family getaway. The staff are extremely personable and resourceful. Staff even remembered my nephew and his wife from last year. The room was immaculate, and the shower is a real experience. Several little niceties were appreciated i.e. turndown service with fortune cookies, high-end coffee in the room, and toiletries. The room was somewhat small, but my husband and I were comfortable. The beds are also extremely comfortable. I will stay at the Dana each time I return to Chicago.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

      Be sure to visit Nordstrom's Off the Rack for some great prices on quality merchandise.

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Jacksonville, FL
      Oct 11, 2010

      Great Place!

      Great location. Staff very outgoing, friendly and helpful.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Nightlife tip: In Hotel

      Be sure to check out the Vertigo lounge on the top floor. Great views of the neighborhood and a fun place to spend some time!

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Jacksonville, FL
      Oct 11, 2010

      Great Place!

      Great location. Staff very outgoing, friendly and helpful.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Nightlife tip: In Hotel

      Be sure to check out the Vertigo lounge on the top floor. Great views of the neighborhood and a fun place to spend some time!

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Hwb
      Business
      Denver
      Sep 29, 2010

      Cool find

      Loved the intimate atmosphere of this place over the huge chains. It has a retro funky vibe while still being tasteful. Staff was great, good mid-price point. Rooms are a smallish but make good use of the space and the views with floor to ceiling glass cannot be beat. The see through shower is a nice touch. I will make this my standby when I travel to Chicago.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      3
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Hwb
      Business
      Denver
      Sep 29, 2010

      Cool find

      Loved the intimate atmosphere of this place over the huge chains. It has a retro funky vibe while still being tasteful. Staff was great, good mid-price point. Rooms are a smallish but make good use of the space and the views with floor to ceiling glass cannot be beat. The see through shower is a nice touch. I will make this my standby when I travel to Chicago.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      3
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Back to menu Return to top