$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

dana hotel and spa

4 stars
660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
341 reviews
Great stay in Chicago

This hotel is in a fantasic location with very helpful staff and everything you need to have a... See full review

  • Anne on the run
  • Apr 28, 2014
Loved it.

Best place to de-stress & enjoy Chicago. Staff was very attentive to all my needs. See full review

  • Anne on the run
  • Apr 26, 2014
Modern retreat for healthy living in downtown Chicago
The dana hotel and spa in Chicago's River North neighborhood balances the beauty of natural elements with the latest technology to create a modern retreat for healthy living. From the progressive health center to the Zeppelin MP3 media system in each room, the dana's core philosophy of wellness and individuality is expressed in all elements of the hotel. Bathed in natural light, the dana is an oasis of serene relaxation in a bustling city.
Highlights
  • Sweeping views at Vertigo Sky Lounge
  • Spa at dana and 24-hour fitness center
  • Enjoy American favorites with a global twist at freestyle food + drink
      Rooms
      Sleekly decorated with hints of Asian influence, standard rooms at the dana hotel and spa feature a half wall of floor-to-ceiling windows and walkout balconies. Serenity is infused in everything from the natural, sustainable floors to the 300-thread count Egyptian cotton sheets over pillow-top mattresses. Glass separates bath from boudoir and illuminates the shower rooms, featuring Italian rain shower fixtures and handcrafted tiles.
      Features
      With its mantra “the pleasure of giving,” the dana hotel and spa sets out to deliver a unique experience to its visitors. The spa offers an extensive array of treatments, from prenatal massages and organic manicures to customized facials and Italian mud body wraps. The focus on wellness continues through the high-tech fitness center, which is outfitted with Italian TechnoGym Kinetic Equipment to promote fluid motion.

      Vertigo Sky Lounge is Chicago’s premiere year-round indoor/outdoor lounge. With the dramatic city skyline as a backdrop, Vertigo is the ideal place to mix it up after work or into the night. It features a dancing fire pit, lush modern furnishings, craft cocktails and happy hour menus. New this summer is the Bartender’s Booth, where patrons can sample craft cocktails and off-menu bites while engaging with their very own mixologist.

      Guests can also head to freestyle food + drink on site to sample American favorites with a global twist during breakfast, lunch, dinner, and happy hour. The restaurant also has a street-side patio for outdoor dining (as weather permits).
      Transportation
      • O’Hare International Airport (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
      • Midway Airport (9.7 mi/15.7 km)
      • Blue Line (Jackson/Lake) (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
      • Orange Line (Chicago/Lake) (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • McCormick Place Convention Center (3 mi/4.9 km)
      Attractions
      • Michigan Avenue (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
      • Magnificent Mile (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
      • Wrigley Building (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
      • Tribune Tower (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
      • Merchandise Mart (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
      • Oak Street Beach (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
      • The Loop (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • Art Institute of Chicago (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • Willis (Sears) Tower (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
      • Navy Pier (1.3 mi/2 km)
      Business
      • Fully equipped business center
      • Meeting rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, high-speed Internet access and audio/visual equipment
      Policies and Fees
      • Overnight parking charge is $39 per night plus tax and unlimited in/out privileges

      This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

      dana hotel and spa Rooms

      Serene King
      Our Serene King Room features one king bed and a full wall of floor to ceiling windows that offer a view of State Street. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include: a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
      Cozy King
      Our Cozy King Room features a walk out balcony while offering a slightly smaller, yet efficient and quaint space. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
      Corner King
      Our Corner King Room features one king bed and two walls of floor to ceiling windows that offer a panoramic view of the city and a more spacious feel. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.

      Amenities

      • WiFi
      General
      Concierge
      Pet friendly
      Activities
      Fitness Center
      Spa
      Dining
      Restaurant
      Room service
      Services
      Business center
      Conference facilities
      Internet
      WiFi
      Accessibility
      Handicapped rooms/facilities

      Recommendations for you

      Customers who viewed dana hotel and spa also booked these hotels.

      Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
      Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
      Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

      Hotel Map

      41.8942 -87.6282
      Area served
      Chicago.
      Nearby airports
      O Hare Airport 17 miles , Midway Airport 13 miles.
      Area description
      The dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's river north which is known for hosting the largest concentration of art galleries in the United States outside of Manhattan. Apart from the art galleries there is the Magnificent Mile one of the hottest shopping streets in the US. Chicago is also home to some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife.

      Nearby points of interest

      • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
      • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
      • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
      • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
      • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
      • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
      • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
      • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
      • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
      • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
      • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
      • Marina City: 0.4 mi
      • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
      • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
      • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
      • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
      • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
      • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
      • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
      • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
      • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
      • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
      • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
      • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
      • Marina City: 0.4 mi
      • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
      • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
      • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
      • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
      • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
      • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
      • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
      • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
      • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
      • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
      • Macys: 0.7 mi
      • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
      • City Hall: 0.7 mi
      • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
      • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
      • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
      • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
      • State Street: 0.8 mi
      • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
      • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
      • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
      • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
      • Opera House: 0.9 mi
      • Children Museum: 1 mi
      • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
      • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
      • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
      • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
      • Yacht Club: 1.1 mi
      • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
      • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

      Dining

      freestyle food + drink
      At freestyle food + drink we have a passion for food and a desire to share that passion. We add a pinch of this and a dash of that to create american tastes with a twist of global influence. freestyle is open for breakfast, lunch, happy hour, dinner and weekend brunch.
      Vertigo Sky Lounge
      Cocktails and catsuits perched 26 floors above the Dana hotel and spa. Relaxed conversations in a high fidelity sushi bar offer an escape from the mainstream.

      Hotel Policies

      Check-in:
      0300
      Check-out:
      1200

      Terms and conditions

      Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

      The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

      Back to menu Return to top

      Guest Reviews (341)

      Ratings and reviews for dana hotel and spa

      Overall score

      4.2 / 5
      5.01.0
      341 out of 341
      Amenities:
      4.2
      Room cleanliness:
      4.6
      Hotel staff:
      4.4
      Room comfort:
      4.4
      Location:
      4.6
      Value:
      4.2

      91% would recommend to a friend.

      Sort by:
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      SirGM
      New York, NY, USA
      Sep 1, 2011

      Nice, but not great.

      My wife and I stayed at Dana Hotel & Spa in the last weekend of August, 2011 for 4 nights. The room was nice, but had some cons. First lets get to the pros. Pros: 1- Bed was very comfortable and room felt calm and relaxing. 2- Room had full size windows, so lots of natural light. 3- The rainfall shower is amazing!! As well as nice bathroom. 4- Free wi-fi & wired internet, cordless phone, free local calls. 5- Location is great. You are close to restaurants, Michigan ave, grocery stores, & shopping. Cons: 1- Very low lighting in room. 2- The shower (even though its amazing) has a half glass door (Euro style). It made no sense to me why they just wouldn't put in a full glass door. Also you can see into the shower from the bed as the curtain is movable from the outside (bedroom side of the shower). 3- The full glass windows. They are great for natural light but you can see into the building across the street and they can see into your room. Can be pro or con depending on the person. 4- All amenities were not included as advertised. Such as sewing kit. The paper only started coming on the last two days of our stay. Also no turn down service (personally don't care for it anyway). 5- No microwave in the room. Also the fridge is full of beer, wine and water. So you have to take the bottles out and put in your food. An annoyance as the fridge is basically for wines. I requested for a separate refrigerator and was told that's not possible. 6- The tv kept messing up when we were there. So mostly we had to watch tv on analog as digital channels were not working. Also their hotel system was not working at all. So no checkout and other options. 7- The rooftop lounge closed its outside area for no reason when we went up one night. They stated it was reserved. Reserved for birds? No one came to use it the whole night....not even birds.. lol Final thoughts: Sorry for the long review, but I just wanted to be thorough. This hotel is mostly for couples, so because you can view into the shower from the bed, I do not recommend this for friends. Unless of course you have no problem seeing and being seen naked by your friends. The best thing about Dana is its location.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      3
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      There is a Trader Joe's a block and a half from the hotel. So I suggest buying a few items from there and saving money on food and wine, as eating out every meal can get expensive in the area.

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Ottawa, ontario
      Jun 14, 2009

      would be great except for the noise

      The location is very central. Close to shopping and not far from the museums. Although the room was lovely, the lack of soundproofing is a problrm. I would not stay in this hotel again.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      2
      Hotel staff:
      3
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      2
      Value:
      2
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      chicago, il
      Jul 10, 2011

      Decent get away

      This was for a last minute baby moon ... The room (a corner king) was beautiful however one of the phones did not work, and the TV also did not work. The repair person for the TV complained how the TVs never work and apologized for the cheapness. The best part of the room was the shower, I took 3 30+ minute showers, and it came with a chair which is perfect for me. The bed was also unbelievably comfortable.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      NYC
      Aug 19, 2009

      Losing the blues in Chicago

      Overall, we really loved the experience at the Dana. The rooms were beautifully sleek and modern and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. One staff member helped us check-in for our plane reservation even after he had clocked out for the day. On the down side, the doors to the room are heavy and loud, so you can hear other hotel guests when they enter/exit their rooms. The biggest downside (which I hope will be corrected) is hiring a better trained hostess to seat people at breakfast. The hostess was a DISASTER. She didn't take names and couldn't keep track of when people arrived to eat breakfast. The line was out the door and people were waiting for 45 minutes. Ridiculous. The hostess even seated people at dirty tables.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

      The Untouchable Tour was the best part of the Chicago experience. The guides were informative and funny. We learned about a number of gangsters and terminology that originated with the gangster, e.g. bootlegging. It was reasonably priced and very entertaining. Well worth two hours to explore the city. One bit of advice: go early because the bus gets extremely warm after the 11 am tour.

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      half of an anniversary couple
      Ontario, Canada
      Jul 28, 2010

      Great Couples Hotel

      Excellent service from the staff. Bellhop gave us excellent ideas as to what to do and where to go to see great blues music. Concierge was helpful in calling restaurants and giving advice and directions. Within walking distance to a great breakfast place and the Magnificant Mile and two subway stations. Went to the rooftop bar on one night but they closed the outside at 11:00 to our dismay. Hotel room was small but sufficient. Very sleek and modern, only minor wear. We were asked if we would like a higher or lower room and chose a higher one which provided us with a great view. Only disappointment was that they could not accommodate an early checkin, we had been travelling since early in the morning, but did hold our bags.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      4
      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      Breakfast at Eleavans and the patio down the street for a quick snack and pizza both very reasonably priced.

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Bobby D.
      Lake Charles, Louisiana
      Mar 25, 2014

      Nice stay

      Had an enjoyable stay. Best part of hotel was helpful and friendly staff. They were spot on answering questions and with recommendations. Was upgraded upon arrival to large king room. Location was convenient. Only negative was sound of ambulance and fire engine sirens in middle of night, something the hotel has little control over.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

      Topogigio Italian restaurant in Old Town area was a big hit. Highly recommend it.

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      112262
      St Louis
      Feb 5, 2013

      Great location!

      We have stayed at various hotels downtown because we like to try different places. While this hotel had the perfect location, i would say that the room was almost uncomfortably small. Good news was that we had a balcony, which in the dead of winter didn't mean much, but was nice to have. Also, the staff was wonderful, very attentive. The location was perfect for what we wanted to do in the city. Shopping was a relatively close walk. Tons of great restauarants nearby.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      3
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Detroit, Michigan
      May 31, 2010

      Great value, great location!

      We really liked just about everything, except for thr soft bed. We asked for a bed board but didn't get one. It's a modern, cool, fun place with great staff. Rooftop bar is not to be missed.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      3
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

      MACKU has the best sushi in the city.

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      Jersey and Jen
      Nashville, TN
      Sep 19, 2013

      Great hotel, problems with parking

      I made an mobile reservations for the Dana Hotel in Chicago. I was traveling up from Nashville. I called half way from the road to verify reservation and to let the front desk know that I would be there after midnight. I had some initial trouble getting someone on the phone (customer service closes at 6 pm on Sundays), but eventually getting to speak to front desk, (he was very helpful). When I arrived at 1:15 AM, I was a little confused as to where to park. I eventually found the hotels lot and spoke with the valet attendant who took my keys and gave me a claim check. I went to front desk, checked in, the room had already been charged to my cc and paid for. Front desk told me that I needed a cc on file for "incidentals" with a $70 authorization. I gave him my card no problem. He was nice enough to give me a later check out of 1 pm. I went up to room which was very nice, very clean and had great views of downtown. The bed was comfortable, the shower in the bathroom was unbelievable and the mini bar was stocked with great products. The TV situation was a little strange, not many channels to choose from and they were mostly analog. But the wifi was free. The next morning around 9 am there was a knock at the door then a piece of paper was slid under. The paper was a bill in the amount of $48.36 for valet parking. Not only was I not notified of this charge in making reservation, I was not notified by the front desk when I checked in. I was a little confused as to how valet parking is considered an "incidental", and why I wasn't told when I checked in, I just got a note under my door at 9 am. When I was checking out I asked to speak with the manager who informed me that "there was a sign" (which is small and on the other side of the building), and that the lot did not belong to the hotel so there was nothing he could do. Everyone else that worked there was very pleasant and helpful, but he seemed irritated that he had to speak to me. At the same time the man next to me was having a problem with his bill as well and the same manager had the same attitude with him. I understand that parking is at a premium in a city like Chicago. And the hotel and my room were very nice, I just wish I had been informed at SOME point about valet charge before getting a clandestine note under the door in the morning before check out.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Dining tip: Not Applicable

      New Ingland Inn. 11 miles from hotel. Great little hidden treasure for those that like to try etnic food. Czech/ Polish/ Slovak cuisine for great price. Huge portions at $10-$15 per meal.

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      4
      5.01.0
      KimberTravels
      New York, NY
      Mar 10, 2014

      Fun Weekend Away

      The concierge and bellmen are amazing and will help you with anything you need. Great location and best food nearby!

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      Portrillo's is incredible-eat there for classic Chicago fare.

      Back to menu Return to top