$170 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

dana hotel and spa

4 stars
View map of 660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for dana hotel and spa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
258 out of 258
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas
Apr 25, 2010

Disappointed.

We were disappointed by our stay at the Dana. The room was very small and dark: There were no windows, and the only sunlight and view was via a small door to a small balcony. In fact, the room was so small that there wasn't a dresser for your clothes. The doormen, the front desk and the bellmen were terrific, but when we ask a staffer on our floor for a coffee cup, we were told by him to go downstairs to get one, instead of taking it upon himself to help us. We have stayed in numerous Chicago hotels and, for the money, it was disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake George, New York
Jul 29, 2009

Chicago with Friends

The Dana was in an excellent location near the Magnificent Mile. The bell service, concierge and breakfast servers were excellent. The continental breakfast was very nice. The bed and bathroom were nice. The reception desk did not inform us about breakfast, how the elevators work and where the elevators were located. These seem like the routine info all guests need. the wireless internet got a very weak signal or didn't work at all which was of great importance everyday to us. The hotel staff was unresponsive or unable to fix it. The hotel did have 2 computers for guest use but in a very dark, hard to read area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The sightseeing bus advertises that it takes 1 1/2 hours but it took 3 hours the Sat we went. It gave us an overview of the city but it is more efficient to take a city bus once you decide which sights you'd like to see. Chicago was a beautiful city with many things to see for adults and children. The city is clean but we rarely saw police. Just about every place we went the people were helpful and friendly. We used the airport shuttle to get to and from the airport. It was fine when arriving at the airport but we were very anxious waiting to return to the airport. Next time we will take a cab back to the airport since we'll have more control over the time we leave. Unfortunately it will be more costly both ways.

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SirGM
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 1, 2011

Nice, but not great.

My wife and I stayed at Dana Hotel & Spa in the last weekend of August, 2011 for 4 nights. The room was nice, but had some cons. First lets get to the pros. Pros: 1- Bed was very comfortable and room felt calm and relaxing. 2- Room had full size windows, so lots of natural light. 3- The rainfall shower is amazing!! As well as nice bathroom. 4- Free wi-fi & wired internet, cordless phone, free local calls. 5- Location is great. You are close to restaurants, Michigan ave, grocery stores, & shopping. Cons: 1- Very low lighting in room. 2- The shower (even though its amazing) has a half glass door (Euro style). It made no sense to me why they just wouldn't put in a full glass door. Also you can see into the shower from the bed as the curtain is movable from the outside (bedroom side of the shower). 3- The full glass windows. They are great for natural light but you can see into the building across the street and they can see into your room. Can be pro or con depending on the person. 4- All amenities were not included as advertised. Such as sewing kit. The paper only started coming on the last two days of our stay. Also no turn down service (personally don't care for it anyway). 5- No microwave in the room. Also the fridge is full of beer, wine and water. So you have to take the bottles out and put in your food. An annoyance as the fridge is basically for wines. I requested for a separate refrigerator and was told that's not possible. 6- The tv kept messing up when we were there. So mostly we had to watch tv on analog as digital channels were not working. Also their hotel system was not working at all. So no checkout and other options. 7- The rooftop lounge closed its outside area for no reason when we went up one night. They stated it was reserved. Reserved for birds? No one came to use it the whole night....not even birds.. lol Final thoughts: Sorry for the long review, but I just wanted to be thorough. This hotel is mostly for couples, so because you can view into the shower from the bed, I do not recommend this for friends. Unless of course you have no problem seeing and being seen naked by your friends. The best thing about Dana is its location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Trader Joe's a block and a half from the hotel. So I suggest buying a few items from there and saving money on food and wine, as eating out every meal can get expensive in the area.

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago, il
Jul 10, 2011

Decent get away

This was for a last minute baby moon ... The room (a corner king) was beautiful however one of the phones did not work, and the TV also did not work. The repair person for the TV complained how the TVs never work and apologized for the cheapness. The best part of the room was the shower, I took 3 30+ minute showers, and it came with a chair which is perfect for me. The bed was also unbelievably comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dgg27
Business
México
Sep 3, 2011

very small room

the location was great just 3 blocks from the main shopping street and lake, the bed was comfortable but the room was too small. i didin´t expect that at all. had a little trouble with the remote control and the towels but its an ok hotel overall. one night i felt sick and asked for aspirine and they didint have any, im used to an emergency kit or minimum aspirin at the reception. the hotel is good it just needs a little details to make it great. (exept for the room size)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

gianello´s!!! delicious stuffed pizza

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa City
Jul 15, 2011

Business trip

Nice, clean hotel with decent views. Had a corner king room, however the place was incredibly loud all night and could hardly fall asleep. Plus not sure if the air conditioner was working or not but the room was way too hot for my comfort. Nice bar downstairs for drinks but would probably not stay here again due to the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Clean super freak!!!
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 27, 2011

Great location & amazing shower

The hotel location was wonderful, the room was very sleek and trendy, amazing,shower, average cleanliness, poor desk service but great curb side service. Great single cup coffee maker. Better than average but lacked service and it was not very clean for a newer hotel. Granted I am a CLEAN freak.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Joes Seafood

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CW Grad Parents
Business
Vermont
Jun 18, 2014

Graduation trip

Location and staff were excellent, and we loved our little balcony overlooking the city. However, the room was a bit small and lacked sufficient lighting. The ceiling was unfinished concrete, which detracted from the overall appearance, and the curtain between the room and bath along with shared closet/bath door was awkward.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michael B.
Business
chicago
Dec 30, 2014

Fun couples night away

The hotel is in the heart of downtown. We were able to walk to Michigan Ave, Rush Street and head west to other LaSalle Ave as well. The hotel itself is very hip with a fun club upstairs and a nice lobby and ground floor restaurant. Rooms are a bit small but the king sized bed is very nice. The odd glass shower wall to the bedroom with the curtain on the outside made for many games of peeking on the spouse but no one needs to be able to peek on them while on the can as well. The only negative were the rowdy other guests on the floor who had personal issues but we were compensated with $20 in breakfast vouchers THANKS!1

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

No movies available in rooms as of 12/28/14 but you can plug your in computer via USB cord. Free WIFI

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First trip sans kids
Business
MB, California
Jan 29, 2014

GREAT LOCATION

We really loved the location of this hotel. Was the best part actually. The rooms are really tiny, but nicely appointed and have pretty much everything you need. (no dresser, in case you packed a lot of folded stuff) The major complaint in our room was lighting. It was SO dark you could barely see while getting ready. We had read reviews about not staying too close to roof top bar, so we didn't, and we had no problems at all with noise. Staff was friendly, especially concierge Tim. Lots of places close by to eat and a Trader Joes and other market right around the corner. They have these great rented bikes all around the city and there is a drop off/pick up right outside the hotel, Bonus! All in all we'd probably stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Meli Cafe for breakfast! SO yummy and really fabulous options. Great fresh juices as well. Potbelly's all over the city and they have inexpensive and tasty sandwiches and salads. RPM is a great place for dinner. Lots of great stuff to share.

Back to menu Return to top