$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

dana hotel and spa

4 stars
View map of 660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for dana hotel and spa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
258 out of 258
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just a worker
Business
Chicago, Il
Feb 2, 2013

Not my style

I booked this hotel at a below market rate deal, so I have no complaints on what I got for the price, but I tried to review it based on what my attitude would have been if I paid market. The room was dark, lighting seemed to be designed for a romatic interlude, I needed light to read and work by. The television was particularly frustrating. Signal lost regularly and stations I would expect to be included, MSNBC, for example, not included. The bathroom also lacked adequate lighting, the shower head was on the ceiling, not my idea of a good design. Part of the room was hardwood floors, which were cold and slippery. Looking for a drop dead design, I think, but not the functional hotel room I prefer. If you want the glitz without the substance, then this might work for you. If you want function, do not stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sandi traveller
Business
copenhagen, denmark
Feb 3, 2013

Excellent deal at the Dana Hotel

We got an incredible deal at this hotel for 3 nights in January, and based on that we would book again. The location is excellent. The room was above average, but not spectacular. Lots of windows, but not really any good view in our room. I hated the shower - had great potential but with the half-glass door none of the heat stays in and its too cold to enjoy it. The bathroom was nice and big though and it did have a rain shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 6, 2010

The staff make the hotel

The hotel is chic, fun and in a great location, the seemingly best of all worlds. We were on the 25th floor, the gorgeous top, with a stunning view--perfect! Until we realized Vertigo Sky Bar was on floor 26... and the bass was impecably loud. Luckily that was masked by the unbearably deafening roar of our air conditioning unit. When coupled with the noxious natural gas smell that only seeped out of the AC unit at 3 am every night, the room became unliveable. Yes, the bed was comfortable and the rain shower was glorious, but that gets completely overshadowed by the aformentioned failings. As for room service, the girl who took our order and served us was fantastically sweet. The menu, however, was lacking at best. Sure, fanciful options paired to be at the forefront of the food scene do make the menu standout. But when you want a meal to just be something familiar and kind to your stomach, this does not suffice. Plus the limited options did not help much. Honestly, the best part of our stay was the service. The front desk and concierge were both extremely helpful, prompt and caring. Anything we asked was answered properly and with a genuine smile. Though billing issues did arise (we were charged for parking though never had a car), the staff responded positively and removed the unfounded charges. We greatly appreciated everything they did... too bad someone wasn't an AC repairman too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trent vacation
Business
Waxahachie Tx
Apr 19, 2010

good location,noisy @night

Staff was friendly,but at night lots of street noise, mostly a party type hotel.people stayed up all hours of the night,and you could hear them with the doors banging at 4 or 5 in the morning. Took us 45mins to check in upon arrival which was at 11pm. We had a late flight. The next day the key card wouldn't work,and had to go to desk to reactivate it. We did get to see blue man group, as we arranged tickets through the hotel concierge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of nightlife around hotel, and at the hotel bar

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jun 14, 2010

Dana in Chicago

Should appeal to younger, non-traditional crowd. Nicely appointed rooms, but small. Somewhat noisy. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great deal through [...]. Not a four star hotel, but a good quality place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast, try the Eggsperience two blocks away on Dearborn.

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Patrick Casual Traveler
Business
Kokomo, Indiana
May 31, 2011

Modern & Nice, but avoid the top floors

We stayed at the hotel for several days. There were good things and bad things about the experience, but due to noise I will not be returning. Good first: The hotel staff were friendly and the concierge was extremely helpful with travel hints and general recommendations on visiting attractions. The room was nice and had a small balcony with a great review overlooking the city. The bathrooms were a little odd; curtain on the outside of the shower, which had clear glass doors. The bathroom door was on top rollers, and did not lock or even close completely. Not a big deal, but a little strange. However, the noise at night was unacceptable. There is a bar on the top floor of the hotel, and on every night that weekend we could hear the music through the floor of our room. There was another room on top of ours, so I can't imagine how loud it must have been in that room. Unless you plan on staying up until 3am every night, or are guaranteed a lower-level floor, I would recommend finding another hotel. There are plenty of options in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westchester NY
Mar 22, 2011

Okay but street noise

The hotel is located in the downtown area. There seem to be sirens sounding off every half and hour to forty-five mintues. I was on the Twenty-thrid floor. I ask about it they say that is normal. If you are looking for quite this is not the place. It woke me up at least three times my first night there. I only went for a wedding and that was the hotel recommended for the guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like chinese Ben Pao is the place on the corner of Illinois and Dearborne street. Uno for good deepdish pizza on Ohio and Wabush. Good Luck

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ottawa, ontario
Jun 14, 2009

would be great except for the noise

The location is very central. Close to shopping and not far from the museums. Although the room was lovely, the lack of soundproofing is a problrm. I would not stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nebraska
Jun 5, 2011

Weekend in Chicago

The hotel is downtown so you have easy access to all of the attractions. The view is awesome if you select a corner view room. We arrived very early on a saturday morning after an 8 hour drive. The night auditor was very helpful in getting us up to our room and settled, considering the drive we had just made. We switched to our corner view room, with a beautiful view of chicago, unfortunatley we discovered a leaking toilet that night and were moved to a room directly underneath the hotels club at 1am. The next day the manager moved us to a suite to make up for the mishap, A gorgeous room. Overall without the mishaps it was a great stay, the hotel staff were always willing to help and offer suggestions, and we were a few blocks from most things. The softest bed I have ever slept in, a refresing treat after a day of walking around chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Yolk, a great brunch, we tried on monday before hitting the road and wished we had gone there earlier.

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Newyork, NJ
Aug 17, 2009

family in chicago

- the service at the hotel restaurant for the breakfast was not so great. we wait more than 45 minutes for 2 pieces of bread. - the day after we were told we were not allowed at the restaurant for breakfast, 40 minute before the end of the service. - the hotel room was nice, the hotel staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top