$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

dana hotel and spa

4 stars
660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
341 reviews
Great stay in Chicago

This hotel is in a fantasic location with very helpful staff and everything you need to have a... See full review

  • Anne on the run
  • Apr 28, 2014
Loved it.

Best place to de-stress & enjoy Chicago. Staff was very attentive to all my needs. See full review

  • Anne on the run
  • Apr 26, 2014
Modern retreat for healthy living in downtown Chicago
The dana hotel and spa in Chicago's River North neighborhood balances the beauty of natural elements with the latest technology to create a modern retreat for healthy living. From the progressive health center to the Zeppelin MP3 media system in each room, the dana's core philosophy of wellness and individuality is expressed in all elements of the hotel. Bathed in natural light, the dana is an oasis of serene relaxation in a bustling city.
Highlights
  • Sweeping views at Vertigo Sky Lounge
  • Spa at dana and 24-hour fitness center
  • Enjoy American favorites with a global twist at freestyle food + drink
      Rooms
      Sleekly decorated with hints of Asian influence, standard rooms at the dana hotel and spa feature a half wall of floor-to-ceiling windows and walkout balconies. Serenity is infused in everything from the natural, sustainable floors to the 300-thread count Egyptian cotton sheets over pillow-top mattresses. Glass separates bath from boudoir and illuminates the shower rooms, featuring Italian rain shower fixtures and handcrafted tiles.
      Features
      With its mantra “the pleasure of giving,” the dana hotel and spa sets out to deliver a unique experience to its visitors. The spa offers an extensive array of treatments, from prenatal massages and organic manicures to customized facials and Italian mud body wraps. The focus on wellness continues through the high-tech fitness center, which is outfitted with Italian TechnoGym Kinetic Equipment to promote fluid motion.

      Vertigo Sky Lounge is Chicago’s premiere year-round indoor/outdoor lounge. With the dramatic city skyline as a backdrop, Vertigo is the ideal place to mix it up after work or into the night. It features a dancing fire pit, lush modern furnishings, craft cocktails and happy hour menus. New this summer is the Bartender’s Booth, where patrons can sample craft cocktails and off-menu bites while engaging with their very own mixologist.

      Guests can also head to freestyle food + drink on site to sample American favorites with a global twist during breakfast, lunch, dinner, and happy hour. The restaurant also has a street-side patio for outdoor dining (as weather permits).
      Transportation
      • O’Hare International Airport (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
      • Midway Airport (9.7 mi/15.7 km)
      • Blue Line (Jackson/Lake) (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
      • Orange Line (Chicago/Lake) (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • McCormick Place Convention Center (3 mi/4.9 km)
      Attractions
      • Michigan Avenue (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
      • Magnificent Mile (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
      • Wrigley Building (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
      • Tribune Tower (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
      • Merchandise Mart (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
      • Oak Street Beach (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
      • The Loop (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • Art Institute of Chicago (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • Willis (Sears) Tower (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
      • Navy Pier (1.3 mi/2 km)
      Business
      • Fully equipped business center
      • Meeting rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, high-speed Internet access and audio/visual equipment
      Policies and Fees
      • Overnight parking charge is $39 per night plus tax and unlimited in/out privileges

      This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

      dana hotel and spa Rooms

      Serene King
      Our Serene King Room features one king bed and a full wall of floor to ceiling windows that offer a view of State Street. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include: a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
      Cozy King
      Our Cozy King Room features a walk out balcony while offering a slightly smaller, yet efficient and quaint space. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
      Corner King
      Our Corner King Room features one king bed and two walls of floor to ceiling windows that offer a panoramic view of the city and a more spacious feel. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.

      Amenities

      • WiFi
      General
      Concierge
      Pet friendly
      Activities
      Fitness Center
      Spa
      Dining
      Restaurant
      Room service
      Services
      Business center
      Conference facilities
      Internet
      WiFi
      Accessibility
      Handicapped rooms/facilities

      Recommendations for you

      Customers who viewed dana hotel and spa also booked these hotels.

      Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
      Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
      Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

      Hotel Map

      41.8942 -87.6282
      Area served
      Chicago.
      Nearby airports
      O Hare Airport 17 miles , Midway Airport 13 miles.
      Area description
      The dana hotel and spa is located in downtown Chicago's river north which is known for hosting the largest concentration of art galleries in the United States outside of Manhattan. Apart from the art galleries there is the Magnificent Mile one of the hottest shopping streets in the US. Chicago is also home to some of the best restaurants, fantastic theater and exciting nightlife.

      Nearby points of interest

      • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
      • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
      • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
      • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
      • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
      • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
      • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
      • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
      • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
      • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
      • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
      • Marina City: 0.4 mi
      • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
      • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
      • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
      • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
      • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
      • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
      • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
      • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
      • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
      • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
      • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
      • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
      • Marina City: 0.4 mi
      • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
      • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
      • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
      • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
      • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
      • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
      • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
      • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
      • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
      • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
      • Macys: 0.7 mi
      • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
      • City Hall: 0.7 mi
      • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
      • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
      • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
      • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
      • State Street: 0.8 mi
      • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
      • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
      • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
      • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
      • Opera House: 0.9 mi
      • Children Museum: 1 mi
      • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
      • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
      • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
      • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
      • Yacht Club: 1.1 mi
      • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
      • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

      Dining

      freestyle food + drink
      At freestyle food + drink we have a passion for food and a desire to share that passion. We add a pinch of this and a dash of that to create american tastes with a twist of global influence. freestyle is open for breakfast, lunch, happy hour, dinner and weekend brunch.
      Vertigo Sky Lounge
      Cocktails and catsuits perched 26 floors above the Dana hotel and spa. Relaxed conversations in a high fidelity sushi bar offer an escape from the mainstream.

      Hotel Policies

      Check-in:
      0300
      Check-out:
      1200

      Terms and conditions

      Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

      The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

      Back to menu Return to top

      Guest Reviews (341)

      Ratings and reviews for dana hotel and spa

      Overall score

      4.2 / 5
      5.01.0
      341 out of 341
      Amenities:
      4.2
      Room cleanliness:
      4.6
      Hotel staff:
      4.4
      Room comfort:
      4.4
      Location:
      4.6
      Value:
      4.2

      91% would recommend to a friend.

      Sort by:
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Patrick Casual Traveler
      Kokomo, Indiana
      May 31, 2011

      Modern & Nice, but avoid the top floors

      We stayed at the hotel for several days. There were good things and bad things about the experience, but due to noise I will not be returning. Good first: The hotel staff were friendly and the concierge was extremely helpful with travel hints and general recommendations on visiting attractions. The room was nice and had a small balcony with a great review overlooking the city. The bathrooms were a little odd; curtain on the outside of the shower, which had clear glass doors. The bathroom door was on top rollers, and did not lock or even close completely. Not a big deal, but a little strange. However, the noise at night was unacceptable. There is a bar on the top floor of the hotel, and on every night that weekend we could hear the music through the floor of our room. There was another room on top of ours, so I can't imagine how loud it must have been in that room. Unless you plan on staying up until 3am every night, or are guaranteed a lower-level floor, I would recommend finding another hotel. There are plenty of options in Chicago.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      3
      Value:
      3
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      sandi traveller
      copenhagen, denmark
      Feb 3, 2013

      Excellent deal at the Dana Hotel

      We got an incredible deal at this hotel for 3 nights in January, and based on that we would book again. The location is excellent. The room was above average, but not spectacular. Lots of windows, but not really any good view in our room. I hated the shower - had great potential but with the half-glass door none of the heat stays in and its too cold to enjoy it. The bathroom was nice and big though and it did have a rain shower.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      3
      Room comfort:
      3
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Westchester NY
      Mar 22, 2011

      Okay but street noise

      The hotel is located in the downtown area. There seem to be sirens sounding off every half and hour to forty-five mintues. I was on the Twenty-thrid floor. I ask about it they say that is normal. If you are looking for quite this is not the place. It woke me up at least three times my first night there. I only went for a wedding and that was the hotel recommended for the guest.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      3
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      If you like chinese Ben Pao is the place on the corner of Illinois and Dearborne street. Uno for good deepdish pizza on Ohio and Wabush. Good Luck

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      dgg27
      México
      Sep 3, 2011

      very small room

      the location was great just 3 blocks from the main shopping street and lake, the bed was comfortable but the room was too small. i didin´t expect that at all. had a little trouble with the remote control and the towels but its an ok hotel overall. one night i felt sick and asked for aspirine and they didint have any, im used to an emergency kit or minimum aspirin at the reception. the hotel is good it just needs a little details to make it great. (exept for the room size)

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      3
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      3
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      gianello´s!!! delicious stuffed pizza

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Texas
      Jun 14, 2010

      Dana in Chicago

      Should appeal to younger, non-traditional crowd. Nicely appointed rooms, but small. Somewhat noisy. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great deal through [...]. Not a four star hotel, but a good quality place.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      3
      Value:
      4
      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      For breakfast, try the Eggsperience two blocks away on Dearborn.

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      West Newyork, NJ
      Aug 17, 2009

      family in chicago

      - the service at the hotel restaurant for the breakfast was not so great. we wait more than 45 minutes for 2 pieces of bread. - the day after we were told we were not allowed at the restaurant for breakfast, 40 minute before the end of the service. - the hotel room was nice, the hotel staff was friendly.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      4
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Clean super freak!!!
      St. Louis, MO
      Jun 27, 2011

      Great location & amazing shower

      The hotel location was wonderful, the room was very sleek and trendy, amazing,shower, average cleanliness, poor desk service but great curb side service. Great single cup coffee maker. Better than average but lacked service and it was not very clean for a newer hotel. Granted I am a CLEAN freak.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      2
      Room cleanliness:
      3
      Hotel staff:
      3
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      3
      Value:
      3
      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      Joes Seafood

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      chicago, il
      Jul 10, 2011

      Decent get away

      This was for a last minute baby moon ... The room (a corner king) was beautiful however one of the phones did not work, and the TV also did not work. The repair person for the TV complained how the TVs never work and apologized for the cheapness. The best part of the room was the shower, I took 3 30+ minute showers, and it came with a chair which is perfect for me. The bed was also unbelievably comfortable.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      SirGM
      New York, NY, USA
      Sep 1, 2011

      Nice, but not great.

      My wife and I stayed at Dana Hotel & Spa in the last weekend of August, 2011 for 4 nights. The room was nice, but had some cons. First lets get to the pros. Pros: 1- Bed was very comfortable and room felt calm and relaxing. 2- Room had full size windows, so lots of natural light. 3- The rainfall shower is amazing!! As well as nice bathroom. 4- Free wi-fi & wired internet, cordless phone, free local calls. 5- Location is great. You are close to restaurants, Michigan ave, grocery stores, & shopping. Cons: 1- Very low lighting in room. 2- The shower (even though its amazing) has a half glass door (Euro style). It made no sense to me why they just wouldn't put in a full glass door. Also you can see into the shower from the bed as the curtain is movable from the outside (bedroom side of the shower). 3- The full glass windows. They are great for natural light but you can see into the building across the street and they can see into your room. Can be pro or con depending on the person. 4- All amenities were not included as advertised. Such as sewing kit. The paper only started coming on the last two days of our stay. Also no turn down service (personally don't care for it anyway). 5- No microwave in the room. Also the fridge is full of beer, wine and water. So you have to take the bottles out and put in your food. An annoyance as the fridge is basically for wines. I requested for a separate refrigerator and was told that's not possible. 6- The tv kept messing up when we were there. So mostly we had to watch tv on analog as digital channels were not working. Also their hotel system was not working at all. So no checkout and other options. 7- The rooftop lounge closed its outside area for no reason when we went up one night. They stated it was reserved. Reserved for birds? No one came to use it the whole night....not even birds.. lol Final thoughts: Sorry for the long review, but I just wanted to be thorough. This hotel is mostly for couples, so because you can view into the shower from the bed, I do not recommend this for friends. Unless of course you have no problem seeing and being seen naked by your friends. The best thing about Dana is its location.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      3
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      There is a Trader Joe's a block and a half from the hotel. So I suggest buying a few items from there and saving money on food and wine, as eating out every meal can get expensive in the area.

      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Nebraska
      Jun 5, 2011

      Weekend in Chicago

      The hotel is downtown so you have easy access to all of the attractions. The view is awesome if you select a corner view room. We arrived very early on a saturday morning after an 8 hour drive. The night auditor was very helpful in getting us up to our room and settled, considering the drive we had just made. We switched to our corner view room, with a beautiful view of chicago, unfortunatley we discovered a leaking toilet that night and were moved to a room directly underneath the hotels club at 1am. The next day the manager moved us to a suite to make up for the mishap, A gorgeous room. Overall without the mishaps it was a great stay, the hotel staff were always willing to help and offer suggestions, and we were a few blocks from most things. The softest bed I have ever slept in, a refresing treat after a day of walking around chicago.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      3
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      Yolk, a great brunch, we tried on monday before hitting the road and wished we had gone there earlier.

      Back to menu Return to top