$133 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

dana hotel and spa

4 stars
View map of 660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for dana hotel and spa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
St. Louis, Missouri
Jul 28, 2009

Great hotel Experience

Alot of times when I go on vacation I look forward to getting back to my own bed and shower. However, my own shower and bed were not near as wonderful as at the Dana Hotel and Spa. They were both fantastic!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Madison, WI
Oct 19, 2009

Cool modern urban hotel

Great greeting at the door. Easy checkin. Rooms were clean and well made upon arrival. Helpful front desk even retrieved our camera out of our car that we valet parked! Breakfasts were very good every morning. A few drawbacks include very late housekeeping in our rooms (they didn't get made until after 5 pm in the afternoon). Also the street noise heard from the room was a bit loud at night, but it was on the weekend and given how hopping the area was with people and nightlife, it was to be expected. Rooftop bar very cool looking place and free access as a hotel guest was a nice plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Quartino's immediately south of the hotel has great small plates of Italian food to share with other. Delicious but you better get reservations or be prepared to wait!

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Minnesota
Jul 5, 2011

Nice weekend stay

Hotel and spa were both good. Cozy king was a little small, balcony didn't let in much light. Still a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Boston, MA
Oct 20, 2009

Sexy get-away

I was here for a quick night...so I didn't partake in all that was offered (gym, dining). I did visit the roofdeck "Vertigo" bar/lounge which was beautiful and chill with half located outside (with heat lamps/fire pits) and half inside. The entire hotel has a very consistent architectural style that has a hip yet modern yet comfortable/elegant vibe that I really enjoy. Bed, tv, even iPod dock were all extremely nice! The whole place is definitely meant for singles and couples though...no friends sharing a place (you can basically see each other showering/going to the bathroom if you so opted as the bathroom is just surrounded in clear glass. But still, very well-done and pleasant time all-around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel offers a lot of discounts depending on your length/time of stay.

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Toronto
Jun 7, 2009

Hipster hotel at a great location

The hotel had a lot of non-guest foot traffic, especially at night due to the lounge on the top floor. The front desk/concierge was located above the ground floor, which was a bit confusing at first. When you walk in it's a restaurant with no immediate indication that you're in a hotel, let alone the correct location. There was random yelling and revving of vehicles in the middle of the night on 2 nights of my 4 night stay. Otherwise, not a bad place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newlywed Biz Traveler
Couples
St. Louis, MO
Aug 30, 2010

Trendy City Getaway

This was a surprise engagement trip for us! And the hotel helped make the experience even that more special. The hotel was a great change from the usual rooms in a big city. This is something different which makes the stay feel very special. The room felt first class and the staff was very friendly. After dinner we were greeted in the room with rose petals and wine. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a romantic getaway in the city. It was within walking distance of most any place we wanted to dine and shop. The only downside was on the weekend, the horns from the taxis below were very noisy. We had to keep the A/C running all night in order to help create white noise to block out the busy street noise below.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Tampa
Jul 25, 2011

Omg ... This place is amazing!!

Very clean ... Well maintained ... Great service ... And fun ... Everone there had a smile!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Signature room on the 95th floor of the handcoock building ... Very impressive ...

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
NYC
Aug 19, 2009

Losing the blues in Chicago

Overall, we really loved the experience at the Dana. The rooms were beautifully sleek and modern and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. One staff member helped us check-in for our plane reservation even after he had clocked out for the day. On the down side, the doors to the room are heavy and loud, so you can hear other hotel guests when they enter/exit their rooms. The biggest downside (which I hope will be corrected) is hiring a better trained hostess to seat people at breakfast. The hostess was a DISASTER. She didn't take names and couldn't keep track of when people arrived to eat breakfast. The line was out the door and people were waiting for 45 minutes. Ridiculous. The hostess even seated people at dirty tables.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Untouchable Tour was the best part of the Chicago experience. The guides were informative and funny. We learned about a number of gangsters and terminology that originated with the gangster, e.g. bootlegging. It was reasonably priced and very entertaining. Well worth two hours to explore the city. One bit of advice: go early because the bus gets extremely warm after the 11 am tour.

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Oct 17, 2009

unbeatable

The room was very attractive and comfortable. The hotel was located close to everything I was interested in doing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gibsons Steak House

Review of dana hotel and spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hwb
Business
Denver
Sep 29, 2010

Cool find

Loved the intimate atmosphere of this place over the huge chains. It has a retro funky vibe while still being tasteful. Staff was great, good mid-price point. Rooms are a smallish but make good use of the space and the views with floor to ceiling glass cannot be beat. The see through shower is a nice touch. I will make this my standby when I travel to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top