$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

dana hotel and spa

4 stars
660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
224 reviews
Couldn't have found a better place

The hotel rooms are very clean, comfortable and luxury! It's very close to a subway station and has... See full review

  • Gabriela Santos
  • Nov 17, 2014
Excellent business experience

I was here on business for three days and had an excellent stay. The staff was extremely friendly... See full review

  • Dedham Mark
  • Oct 27, 2014
Modern retreat for healthy living in downtown Chicago
The dana hotel and spa in Chicago's River North neighborhood balances the beauty of natural elements with the latest technology to create a modern retreat for healthy living. From the progressive health center to the Zeppelin MP3 media system in each room, the dana's core philosophy of wellness and individuality is expressed in all elements of the hotel. Bathed in natural light, the dana is an oasis of serene relaxation in a bustling city.
Highlights
  • Sweeping views at Vertigo Sky Lounge
  • Spa at dana and 24-hour fitness center
  • Enjoy American favorites with a global twist at freestyle food + drink
      Rooms
      Sleekly decorated with hints of Asian influence, standard rooms at the dana hotel and spa feature a half wall of floor-to-ceiling windows and walkout balconies. Serenity is infused in everything from the natural, sustainable floors to the 300-thread count Egyptian cotton sheets over pillow-top mattresses. Glass separates bath from boudoir and illuminates the shower rooms, featuring Italian rain shower fixtures and handcrafted tiles.
      Features
      With its mantra “the pleasure of giving,” the dana hotel and spa sets out to deliver a unique experience to its visitors. The spa offers an extensive array of treatments, from prenatal massages and organic manicures to customized facials and Italian mud body wraps. The focus on wellness continues through the high-tech fitness center, which is outfitted with Italian TechnoGym Kinetic Equipment to promote fluid motion.

      Vertigo Sky Lounge is Chicago’s premiere year-round indoor/outdoor lounge. With the dramatic city skyline as a backdrop, Vertigo is the ideal place to mix it up after work or into the night. It features a dancing fire pit, lush modern furnishings, craft cocktails and happy hour menus. New this summer is the Bartender’s Booth, where patrons can sample craft cocktails and off-menu bites while engaging with their very own mixologist.

      Guests can also head to freestyle food + drink on site to sample American favorites with a global twist during breakfast, lunch, dinner, and happy hour. The restaurant also has a street-side patio for outdoor dining (as weather permits).
      Transportation
      • O’Hare International Airport (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
      • Midway Airport (9.7 mi/15.7 km)
      • Blue Line (Jackson/Lake) (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
      • Orange Line (Chicago/Lake) (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • McCormick Place Convention Center (3 mi/4.9 km)
      Attractions
      • Michigan Avenue (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
      • Magnificent Mile (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
      • Wrigley Building (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
      • Tribune Tower (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
      • Merchandise Mart (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
      • Oak Street Beach (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
      • The Loop (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • Art Institute of Chicago (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • Willis (Sears) Tower (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
      • Navy Pier (1.3 mi/2 km)
      Business
      • Fully equipped business center
      • Meeting rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, high-speed Internet access and audio/visual equipment
      Policies and Fees
      • Overnight parking charge is $39 per night plus tax and unlimited in/out privileges

      This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

      Recommendations for you

      Customers who viewed dana hotel and spa also booked these hotels.

      Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
      Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
      Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

      dana hotel and spa Rooms

      Serene King
      Our Serene King Room features one king bed and a full wall of floor to ceiling windows that offer a view of State Street. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include: a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
      Cozy King
      Our Cozy King Room features a walk out balcony while offering a slightly smaller, yet efficient and quaint space. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
      Corner King
      Our Corner King Room features one king bed and two walls of floor to ceiling windows that offer a panoramic view of the city and a more spacious feel. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.

      Amenities

      • WiFi
      General
      Concierge
      Pet friendly
      Activities
      Fitness Center
      Spa
      Dining
      Restaurant
      Room service
      Services
      Business center
      Conference facilities
      Internet
      WiFi
      Accessibility
      Handicapped rooms/facilities

      Nearby points of interest

      • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
      • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
      • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
      • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
      • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
      • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
      • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
      • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
      • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
      • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
      • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
      • Marina City: 0.4 mi
      • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
      • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
      • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
      • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
      • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
      • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
      • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
      • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
      • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
      • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
      • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
      • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
      • Marina City: 0.4 mi
      • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
      • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
      • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
      • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
      • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
      • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
      • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
      • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
      • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
      • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
      • Macys: 0.7 mi
      • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
      • City Hall: 0.7 mi
      • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
      • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
      • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
      • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
      • State Street: 0.8 mi
      • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
      • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
      • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
      • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
      • Opera House: 0.9 mi
      • Children Museum: 1 mi
      • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
      • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
      • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
      • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
      • Yacht Club: 1.1 mi
      • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
      • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

      Dining

      freestyle food + drink
      At freestyle food + drink we have a passion for food and a desire to share that passion. We add a pinch of this and a dash of that to create american tastes with a twist of global influence. freestyle is open for breakfast, lunch, happy hour, dinner and weekend brunch.
      Vertigo Sky Lounge
      Cocktails and catsuits perched 26 floors above the Dana hotel and spa. Relaxed conversations in a high fidelity sushi bar offer an escape from the mainstream.

      Hotel Policies

      Check-in:
      0300
      Check-out:
      1200

      Terms and conditions

      Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

      The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

      Back to menu Return to top

      Guest Reviews (224)

      Ratings and reviews for dana hotel and spa

      Overall score

      4.2 / 5
      5.01.0
      224 out of 224
      Amenities:
      4.2
      Room cleanliness:
      4.6
      Hotel staff:
      4.4
      Room comfort:
      4.4
      Location:
      4.7
      Value:
      4.2

      92% would recommend to a friend.

      Sort by:
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      5
      5.01.0
      Principal Hotel Designer
      Business
      Las Vegas, NV
      Aug 4, 2012

      Dana Hotel Delivers

      For a group of discriminating hospitality designers, this jewel of a hotel embodies our definition of boutique hotel. Its clean modern urban design captivates our sensibilities and comfort. It was a great find, and we will visit again. Check-in was smooth and even with an elevator glitch- they accommodated all guests with a cool beverage in the Lobby to make up for the inconvenience. Breakfast service was a bit slow at 6:30 am, but we were able to check out and make our appointment on time.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      5
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      1
      5.01.0
      Bill1976
      Business
      San Diego, CA, USA
      Jan 13, 2014

      Nightmare Checking in

      I checked in and they had no record of my stay. They called around on radios and 25 minutes later someone found a fax somewhere with my confirmation. Then they manually typed my reservation in and 40 minutes later I was checked into the room I booked. I was told by the front desk staff to contact them directly next time and pay the standard fare and I wouldnt have to wait.... really?

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      5
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      1
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      1
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      1
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Business
      Atlanta, GA
      Dec 23, 2009

      A Disappointment...

      I expected a lot more, especially after reading the reviews and seeing the photos online. The hotel check-in was very unwelcoming, the staff acted as if they couldn't be bothered, not a warm welcome at all. The housekeeping starts at 8AM in the hallway, and you can hear EVERYTHING. It's as if your door is wide open, no sound proofing at all. The parking is $38/night (outrageous!), and the room service is VERY expensive for mediocre food. The restaurant is also overpriced, didn't find the food to be that great. There is a very noisy "sky bar" on the top floor, but you can hear it from several floors down (again, soundproofing issues). I found the room to be quite small, reminded me of a NYC hotel room. The hotel looks fairly trendy, but along with that comes attitude from the staff and $$$ things along the way. I will not stay here again.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      3
      Hotel staff:
      1
      Room comfort:
      2
      Location:
      3
      Value:
      2
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      1
      5.01.0
      Krista C.
      Business
      N/A
      Dec 17, 2014

      Northwestern

      We had loud music coming from the room next door from 10 pm until 3 am. Called the front desk and nothing was done about it.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      1
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      3
      Room comfort:
      1
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      1
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      2
      5.01.0
      Victoro
      Business
      Miami, Fl
      May 10, 2009

      Chicago get-a-away

      The concept of being a "Boutique hotel" was exemplified to the max. The decor was sleak and stylish but the rooms were quite displeasing. The rooms were small with unfinished concrete ceilings, which unfortunately were complemented by a strange repugnant odor that emitted from the concrete every time the A/C turned off. In addition, climate control inside the room was by far the worse I've ever experienced. I would not recommend hotel and I would certainly never revisit.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      1
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      2
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      2
      5.01.0
      imtinc
      Business
      des moines iowa
      Nov 3, 2010

      Pack Expo Trip

      not as good as last year with smaller staff and breakfast was a disaster. Too few personnel and I think everyone in the restaurant received half of what they ordered.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      2
      Room comfort:
      3
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      2
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      2
      5.01.0
      Single Splurger
      Business
      Louisville, KY
      Jun 28, 2010

      June in Chicago

      While physically striking, the Dana is not what I consider user friendly. beginning with the check-in on the second floor. No signage to be found to direct guests there, and staff in the restaurant not quick to help. The young lady at the desk left much to be desired in hospitality. Those of you that book this hotel on Orbitz, please be aware that the rooms you view on the website ARE NOT the rooms you will be staying in. Yes, the room was small. While that is not an issue (the bed and shower were fantastic), I do not relish false advertisement. The "Cozy King" boasts nothing more than a door to a small balcony that overlooks practically nothing. Very active due to the Vertigo lounge on the roof and sometimes quite noisy.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      2
      Hotel staff:
      3
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      3
      Value:
      2
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

      Cut through Nordstroms to get to Michigan Ave.

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      2
      5.01.0
      manibr79
      Business
      Alexandria, VA
      Jun 12, 2014

      Not of First Freshness Anymore

      I have been to Dana Hotel and Spa now two times, once in 2009 (when it felt new and clean) and once now couple days ago 2014. The hotel feels worn, rough around the edges and like it is not getting a good cleaning. My room and bathroom did not feel fresh. Bathroom had obvious wall stains from previous users, tile base was falling off in couple places, window shades were ripped. It is an average hotel at this point, not a lot of wow factor left. On the third day, there was no hot water in the morning for 3 hrs. The front desk gave me a $25 gift certificate to use at their hotel restaurant and I did. But the hotel restaurant also had a problem with their registrar and had to explain to me couple times how their machine charges a different price for orange juice than it is actually worth and likes to combine drinks w/ food on the bill. Which was confusing. Overall I would look for another hotel with that little bit of something for the next time. Location was good, but the freshness is gone.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      1
      Hotel staff:
      2
      Room comfort:
      3
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

      Allow for plenty of time to get from the Hotel to the O'Hare Airport. The blue line has above 10 stops to get from the 'Loop' blue line stop to O'Hair airport and the train does not move very fast. Allow at least 45 min of direct travel on the train.

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      sandi traveller
      Business
      copenhagen, denmark
      Feb 3, 2013

      Excellent deal at the Dana Hotel

      We got an incredible deal at this hotel for 3 nights in January, and based on that we would book again. The location is excellent. The room was above average, but not spectacular. Lots of windows, but not really any good view in our room. I hated the shower - had great potential but with the half-glass door none of the heat stays in and its too cold to enjoy it. The bathroom was nice and big though and it did have a rain shower.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      3
      Room comfort:
      3
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Just a worker
      Business
      Chicago, Il
      Feb 2, 2013

      Not my style

      I booked this hotel at a below market rate deal, so I have no complaints on what I got for the price, but I tried to review it based on what my attitude would have been if I paid market. The room was dark, lighting seemed to be designed for a romatic interlude, I needed light to read and work by. The television was particularly frustrating. Signal lost regularly and stations I would expect to be included, MSNBC, for example, not included. The bathroom also lacked adequate lighting, the shower head was on the ceiling, not my idea of a good design. Part of the room was hardwood floors, which were cold and slippery. Looking for a drop dead design, I think, but not the functional hotel room I prefer. If you want the glitz without the substance, then this might work for you. If you want function, do not stay here.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      2
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      4
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Business
      Nebraska
      Jun 5, 2011

      Weekend in Chicago

      The hotel is downtown so you have easy access to all of the attractions. The view is awesome if you select a corner view room. We arrived very early on a saturday morning after an 8 hour drive. The night auditor was very helpful in getting us up to our room and settled, considering the drive we had just made. We switched to our corner view room, with a beautiful view of chicago, unfortunatley we discovered a leaking toilet that night and were moved to a room directly underneath the hotels club at 1am. The next day the manager moved us to a suite to make up for the mishap, A gorgeous room. Overall without the mishaps it was a great stay, the hotel staff were always willing to help and offer suggestions, and we were a few blocks from most things. The softest bed I have ever slept in, a refresing treat after a day of walking around chicago.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      3
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      Yolk, a great brunch, we tried on monday before hitting the road and wished we had gone there earlier.

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Back to menu Return to top