$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

Hotel Blake, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
View map of 500 S. Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
283 reviews
AWESOME!

I absolutely loved the doorman "Showtime". He made our trip enjoyable and every bit of a pleasant... See full review

  • AmyD
  • Feb 4, 2015
New Years in Chicago

The high ceilings and comfortable king bed made us feel like we were in a mini palace. Great view... See full review

  • Kori M.
  • Jan 8, 2015
Located in the heart of Printer's Row, The Hotel Blake, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member offers a robust taste of Chicago's rich culture and diversity. We are within walking distance to shopping, dining, entertainment, Grant Park, Art Institute of Chicago and Soldier's Field. With 2,200 square feet of meeting space, we can accommodate groups from five to 80. Unwind at Meli Cafe, a sleek, urban, contemporary hotel restaurant for great breakfast, lunch, dinner and refreshing libations. Stop by Bar Blake, our inviting lobby bar, for the perfect place to have a classic or unique cocktail before heading out for the evening.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Security
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (283)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Blake, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 283
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Blake, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rrukidn
Business
Troy MO
Aug 20, 2012

Better choices for price

This hotel was far from what you'd expect in Chicago Loop. Room was dusty, dingy, and needed repairs to shower drain, paint, and TV. Wi-Fi was slow at times. Couldn't even get a cup of coffee with half and half. Only non dairy creamer available. When we finally were able to leave there was one cart available and the bellman was no where to be found. It was 9:00 AM on Sunday. A peak check out time. Not enough staff and carts meant everyone was dragging their luggage to the curb leaving it there while they waited for their car to come. Staff was courteous and Greg/Showtime was the best at helping and offering suggestions. It's a two star hotel. Dirty, outdated, noisy, with little to offer anyone looking for a upscale accommodation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Navy Pier and Grant Park. Very nice areas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Blake, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Richard Board
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 26, 2013

Complaint

Assigned us to a handicapped room. How did this happen? The bathroom did not have a tub worse yet it had a shower (handicapped) which allowed the water from the shower to flood the entire bathroom which caused my wife to sprain her ankle as the entire bathroom floor was wet. We tried to change rooms but the room offered was not satisfactory and they did not have another. Parking was $47/day if you wanted to go in and out; $28 if you just wanted to park. The bellmen complained about other employees---which I didn't want to hear. I asked for a room reduction but was told that since I went through an outside company they could not grant me a reduction but told me that if I had gone through the hotel directly they could have done something. I left a message for the manager to call me---he did and left a voice mail for me to return a call which I did but have not received a return call as yet. Overall I was not at all satisfied with this visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Blake, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WI
Apr 5, 2011

[...]booked us wrong Wyndham hotel!!!

Make SURE to CHECK TWICE which hotel you are booking with [...]because I thought I booked at Wyndham Chicago on St. Claire street(which is much more safe and is in downtown goldcoast), instead, our whole family (with three little children) ended up in Wyndham Blake in South Side of Chicago. We were scared to go out at night with three little kids. Their rooms were much smaller than Wyndham Chicago and restaurant did not have full breakfast and charged $6 for one egg order. This is NOT family friendly hotel, but perhaps more suitable for business people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Blake, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MarylandGirl
Business
Maryland
Nov 5, 2012

Chicago Reunion

Hotel really off the beaten path. No room service and no TV options. Not a great place to bring kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Blake, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MomofthePeach
Business
Lansing, MI
Apr 14, 2014

Great location for our needs

We arrived in Chicago via Amtrak, and wanted to be able to walk to our hotel, and then walk to Millennium Park and the museum campus. The Blake was perfect for this, and also very close to the red line for zipping up to the theater district, and Michigan Avenue shops and restaurants. Only problem with the hotel was the shower, which is important when you're doing a lot of walking on a vacation! It splashed water all over the marble bathroom floor, which was dangerous! There is no door or shower curtain, just a partial glass partition, so we couldn't control the splash. And on our second morning, there was no hot water so we all had to take quick luke-warm showers. Not cool when you're paying over $200/night! Otherwise, the staff were very nice and the place was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the redline subway (not the same as the el) and save lots of money. Just make sure that if you have a child and pay for a reduced rate, you tell the station attendant when you pass through the turnstiles. They'll make sure you don't get charged for a full fare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Blake, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh
Jun 20, 2011

Nice room, nice people

We had two rooms, one king and one with 2 queen beds. The king room had a large bathroom with double sinks. Nice touch that I've not seen in most hotels. Each had a spacious shower, no tub. That was fine with us. The granite counter tops in the bathroom are installed at a height that is not short-person-friendly. At 5 feet nothing, I could barely reach the sink. It made the tall folks in the family happy, though. The services were minimalistic but adequate (i.e. no fridge, paper cups, tiny closet). Continental breakfast was included. The fitness center was nice, but it got crowded at 7:30AM. I would have given this hotel a higher rating if there hadn't been so much remodeling going on in the elevator lobbies (paper hanging, scaffolding, etc.) and door banging by other guests late, late into the night. They should put soft-close hinges on the doors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Restaurant attached to the hotel (Courthouse Tavern) is a white tablecloth place for dinner. If you're tired or arriving late, they serve until 10PM. The food and service were excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Blake, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Sep 10, 2009

Labor Day Weekend Review

The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful; they told us easy ways to get places, and do things; The room was nice, contempory, clean, and bed comfy. The bathroom was huge, almost too much wasted space; funky walk-in shower was different. However, there was no exhaust fan in bathroom,(odd), lightbulb burned out in there too. Also, the in room iron, was broken and spit water all over our clothes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Best advice from Greg the bellman, was walk to CVS, about 2 blocks away, get a 24hr.Fun-Day CTA pass, good to ride the buses around town with relative ease for 24 hour period. That was a easy and inexpensive help, and everyone was helpful in getting you on the right bus route no. needed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Blake, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Green Bay WI
Feb 25, 2010

Things could've been better

First off the rooms at Hotel Blake are nice. We stayed in a single King room and the bed was comfortable for the most part. I prefer a softer bed but i was still able to sleep comfortably. They have a ice machine on the 12th floor for your "convenience". If you want soda or aspirin or anything like that they tell you to walk across the street to the BP Station. Their idea of free breakfast was apples, oranges, bananas, muffins, and coffee. We ended up going to the Potbelly sandwich shop next door for breakfast. We went to the Field Museum monday morning and that was amazing. we walked around there for 5 hours. We went to the Shedd Aquarium on Tuesday morning when they opened. It was a great place except that within 2 hours there was about 2000 children there, and im not talking about well behaved children either. Both places were about a $7.50 cab ride from Hotel Blake for 2 people. On Tuesday night we walked over to the Willis (Sears) Tower since it was only about 7 blocks away. I recommend eating lunch in the italian place on the ground floor of the tower... the food was great and the price was decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go 3 blocks towards Lake Michigan to Wabash and then go North three blocks to a place called Millers. Great food and atmosphere. Average entrees cost around $20.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Blake, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 17, 2010

Good location for the price

The staff was very friendly and our room was clean. The heat was turned up high and the room during the night was extremely warm. The fitness room is down at the end of a hall, nothing close by and kind of closed off. As a single female, I did not feel safe using the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Blake, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ABM
Business
north of the border
Jun 11, 2009

worked well for what we needed

Staff was friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was average at best with no good place to sit and eat, especially with children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top