$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

Hotel Blake, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
View map of 500 S. Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
283 reviews
AWESOME!

I absolutely loved the doorman "Showtime". He made our trip enjoyable and every bit of a pleasant... See full review

  • AmyD
  • Feb 4, 2015
New Years in Chicago

The high ceilings and comfortable king bed made us feel like we were in a mini palace. Great view... See full review

  • Kori M.
  • Jan 8, 2015
Located in the heart of Printer's Row, The Hotel Blake, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member offers a robust taste of Chicago's rich culture and diversity. We are within walking distance to shopping, dining, entertainment, Grant Park, Art Institute of Chicago and Soldier's Field. With 2,200 square feet of meeting space, we can accommodate groups from five to 80. Unwind at Meli Cafe, a sleek, urban, contemporary hotel restaurant for great breakfast, lunch, dinner and refreshing libations. Stop by Bar Blake, our inviting lobby bar, for the perfect place to have a classic or unique cocktail before heading out for the evening.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Security
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (283)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Blake, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
283 out of 283
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Blake, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mishawaka, IN
Aug 23, 2009

A real gem

I found this place to be a real gem. Ideally located near shopping and theaters with a very helpful and courteous staff. While accomodations are not as lavish as some more prestigious hotels, they were more than adequate for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Blake, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beaver Dam
May 24, 2008

great surprise

We had a great stay at the Blake. Staff was very good/friendly. We got bumped up to a corner room with nice views. The room was terrific, the bed very comfortable and the bath room superb. I was less surprised to find the used, half full paper coffee cup on a table when we entered the room. Actually it made us laugh. The stay was great. We will recommend the hotel and return. Restaurants were just a few blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Blake, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Jul 6, 2007

Style & Class at Budget Rates

The Hotel Blake has huge rooms which have been upgraded recently. Only a 1-block walk to either the Red or Blue Line trains, 3 blocks to Grant Park, and 2 blocks to the shopping on State Street. Very courteous staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Loop's El and 2 subway lines all within a block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Blake, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hull, MA
Jun 6, 2008

Nice place in the South Loop

Stayed at the Hotel Blake in the South Loop area of Chicago and was pleasantly surprised by the accommodations. Staff was friendly upon check-in and helpful when needed. Room was decent size, clean, with a great shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Blake, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 9, 2007

Great hotel

The Hotel Blake is convenient to public transportation and to the theater district. We were less than 1 mile from the Ford Center and were able to walk to the play. The room was very clean and roomy. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful with information about surrounding areas. Our only complaint would be about the restaurant in the hotel. It was pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is walking distance to theatres, parks, and shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Blake, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 18, 2008

Nice surprise.

Hotel Blake was a very nice surprise. The room was spacious with a sitting area. The bathroom had double sinks and a very nice shower. The hotel staff was friendly. The location for us was very good. It was close to the Orange Line to Midway and had a bus stop across the street. The sandwich shop next door was handy and there was a convenience store down the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The sandwich shop next door was good and inexpensive. Public transportation was easily accessed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Blake, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Erie
Jul 2, 2008

Short Stay for Business

We liked the hotel a lot and would stay there again if we go to Chicago. The room was clean and very comfortable bed as well. The staff was friendly. The bellman recommended a pub that was just what we were looking for-Blackies-which was good food, good beer, nice place for a late meal. Only a short walk from the hotel. The location was good for us as we wanted to be near the County Offices and we could walk there. Breakfast was wonderful at a place on the way to West Washington St.-I don't remember the exact name but it had Bakery in it. Try the combination of yogurt mixed with oatmeal and fresh fruit-delicious!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Blake, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond Hills
Aug 24, 2008

Great place

Middle of everything in Chicago .. Around the area a few stores and stuff actually stay open all night unlike other areas I stayed in downtown Chicago. The room is nice, everything you neeed , House keeping is perfect. Custom rest. have good eats.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shoping and dining place are nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Blake, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington Heights
Nov 23, 2008

Very tourist friendly

We absolutely loved this hotel in the heart of Printer's Row. It was large,luxurious and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The staff was superb. We will stay everytime we decide to spend the night in downtown Chicago!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close the theater district and downtown shopping--about 7 blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Blake, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 23, 2008

Great Location

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. It is more of a boutique style....intimate....spacious rooms...very clean...great decor...beautiful bathroom. This hotel is close to everything and in walking distance to sight-seeing, colleges, and shopping. I would definitely stay here again. Only downside is there is no vending. So your beverage urge would have to come from the restaurant adjacent to hotel or the 7-11 on the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Try shopping on State Street AND Michigan Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top