$178 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
162 reviews
Loved it!

Stayed the weekend at this hotel & loved it! Great location. See full review

  • Kar Bear from Canada
  • Jul 29, 2014
Great hotel

Been to the W hotel several times and enjoy each visit. See full review

  • JCCC
  • Jul 2, 2014
Setting the standard for cool

Find lake views and a front-door beach at this fashionable Chicago hotel that oozes cool lounge appeal. When guests are not cooing over Lake Michigan or the light show at Navy Pier, the W Chicago - Lakeshore hotel captivates with extras like inventive Mediterranean cuisine at Wave, scenic cocktails from the 33rd floor at Whiskey Sky and luxe treatments at Bliss spa. Step outside onto Lake Michigan's shores, walk to Navy Pier or stroll along Chicago's lakefront path from this swank urban residence.

Highlights
  • At water's edge -- Lake Michigan and the beach sit outside the front door
  • City views and cocktails at Whiskey Sky nightclub, sleek urban dining at the Mediterranean-inspired Wave restaurant
  • Bliss Spa, a 9,600-square-foot oasis for pampering
  • Heated indoor pool with scenic lakefront views
  • AAA 2009 Diamond award winner features sultry, Zen-like rooms
Rooms
Inside the rooms at the W Chicago – Lakeshore hotel, guests find plush fabrics in deep shades of eggplant, chocolate and bright white, plus sweet extras like votive candles, CDs from the W library, 32-inch flat-screen TV and Bliss bath products. Wireless high-speed Internet access is available in guest rooms (fees apply).
Features

If the famed brownie bar inside Bliss Spa doesn't have you at hello, then the Triple Oxygen Facials or Blissages will. After relaxing and recharging, hit Wave for innovative cuisine or Whiskey Sky for signature cocktails and club beats in an intimate room featuring panoramic views.

Chic décor and city style at the lakefront hotel don't stop in design-savvy rooms. The W Chicago – Lakeshore hotel offers 15 meeting rooms, including a spectacular rooftop banquet room with slanted floor-to-ceiling windows. Take a dip in the hotel's heated pool perched above Lake Michigan or set out for a stroll along the water's edge. The W Chicago – Lakeshore hotel positions guests for a stylish Chicago experience.  

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (15.7 mi/25.7 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Blue Line (Chicago) (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (3.2 mi/5.2 km)

Attractions
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Navy Pier (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Millennium Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Grant Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The Art Institute of Chicago (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 15 meeting rooms
  • Plasma screens, high-speed Internet, Wi-Fi, state-of-the-art audio/visual equipment
Policies and Fees
  • Starting 1 Jul, the hotel will charge parking fees as follows: $24 USD per two hours; $31 USD per six hours and $60 USD per 24 hours
  • The hotel does not accept guests below 21 years old.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8939 -87.6156
Area served
.
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, Mile; Chicago OHare International Airport, (ORD), 18.00, Mile
Area description
City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Chicago Lakeshore also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

W Chicago Lakeshore Rooms

Fantastic Suite
The outrageous view of the city in this two bedroom suite lets you and your guests spy on the city from every angle. Socialize in the parlor's entertainment space, popping in a favorite flick on the living room's 32" TV. Or hand-pick a CD from the W library to set the mood while lounging on the sofa or the unique U-shaped chaise lounge.

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Boutiques
Porters
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (162)

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 162
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYCerChicagoGirl
New York
Dec 9, 2013

Cool hotel but terrible location and uncomfortable

Views and location are very cool and something you do not typically get in Chicago but it is too far away from everything and expect a cab to take you everywhere. I live in NYC and walk long distances and I felt like it was too much to walk downtown or to the attractions. Walls were paper thin and I could hear the conversation of the kids fighting over their phone and everything else for the weekend. Beds are terrible and pillows were cheap and too massive poly filler and I have a neck and shoulder pain. Elevators took forever and painfully slow. That said - staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay closer to Michigan Ave. where there are boutique hotels just as nice.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
duce2048
New York
Mar 18, 2013

W Chicago Lakeshore

Our stay at the W was awesome. The staff is super friendly. The rooms are nice and clean. The food was good and the two bar / lounge areas had good music, drinks & a mixed crowd. You really don't have to leave the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tito traveler
fort lauderdale, florida
Feb 18, 2013

Nice place...thin walls

Liked the hotel; good customer service; parking service was excellent and concierge did an outstanding job of getting me dinner reservations at a great place. My concern was with the sound between rooms. I could hear clearly conversations from the rooms on both sides of me...even more pronounced late at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 15, 2012

$450 a night and no free internet?

The beds are super comfortable, and the location is perfect. Our room was right by the elevator, so you could hear some foot traffic outside the room. I wish there would have been a fan in the bathroom for some ventilation. But the biggest disappointment was the fact that they wanted $14 a day to use the internet. Come on, man! And $55 a day to park your car seemed a little bit steep. The bar downstairs is nice. Staff was friendly. Our first morning there, the cleaning staff came in at 9:00 and woke us up. Had we known they started that early, we would have put out the "Do Not Disturb" sign. There are tons of outstanding restaurants in the area, and anything that's not within walking distance is just a short cab ride away. Knowing what I know now, if I had to book this trip over again, if I could have found a better deal at one of the nearby hotels (at the Sheraton or Doubletree, for example), I probably would have gone to one of those places to save a few bucks--especially if they had free internet. Don't get me wrong--we had a great experience and the W is a great hotel. However, I wasn't "wowed" to the point where I feel compelled to write a gushing review about how amazing it was. It was very good, but not amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About three blocks away (4-5 minute walk) is a *FANTASTIC* Irish-style pub called Timothy O'Toole's. Awesome food, flat screen TVs everywhere, tons of premium beers on tap, and ultra-friendly service.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller worldwide
Mexico city
Aug 30, 2012

Great location

Staff and atmosphere great. The only inconvenience was that our rooms had no blinds so sunshine does not allow to sleep longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Missmeg
North Shore, MA
Aug 6, 2012

W Lakeshore

Hotel had everything we needed. Staff was quite friendly. It would have been great if they offered a free shuttle to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TLee2
Urbana,Il
Jul 9, 2012

W-onderful!

Great room, with a view of the lake. Really hip, interesting decor. The location could not be better. We walked to almost everywhere. Weirdest music in elevators, but it only adds to the ambience... I will stay at W again. The only negative is the rooms have no refrigerator,for all the leftovers from the great Chicago restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant Cite' has a panoramic 360 degree view of the city. Great place for a romantic dinner, fantastic pre-fixe menu .It is just a short, beautiful walk from the W hotel.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bixbie
New York, NY
May 29, 2012

Great weekend at the W Lakeshore

I spent the Memorial Day weekend in Chicago at the W Lakeshore with some friends. The hotel is central to all major shopping and sites, offering great views of the beach and the Navy Pier. The staff was very friendly and helpful. All in all, we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GDash
Los Angeles
Sep 19, 2011

All that Glitters...

From the moment you drive up - the glittery W sign welcomes you! Great location near the Miracle Mile with amazing views of the lake. The lobby bar was always a fun place to stop and grab a drink either before your night out or late night before hitting the sheets. The rooms are comfy, very clean, and modern. Great toiletries from Bliss were a plus! Bliss spa was amazing! Overall - would recommend this hotel and stay there again when I visit Chicago. The concierge staff was super helpful too! Only possible negative - could see it not being all that kid friendly .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Architectural Boat Tour - the concierge can hook you up!

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
May 14, 2011

Hip, Fun, great location

We were in Chicago for an event at Navy Pier. We thought the hotel was closer to the pier but we needed to take a cab to the ballroom, around $10, not bad. Worth it as we were in heels ;-) The hotel staff was very friendly ans concierge provided great recommendations. Nice hip crowd. Close to Mich and Rush, Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ENO wine bar on the magnificent mile. Great abstract selections. Super fresh cheeses and delicious charcuterie. YUM. Nice ambience as well.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search