$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 22, 2014

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
152 reviews
W Chicago Lakeshore

I recommend W Hotel Lakeshore if you are active and fun loving people visiting in Chicago. W Hotel... See full review

  • rainonlake
  • Apr 5, 2014
Awesome!

This is one of the nicest hotels that I have stayed in. Staff was great and the room was very retro... See full review

  • Boyhead
  • Dec 16, 2013
Setting the standard for cool

Find lake views and a front-door beach at this fashionable Chicago hotel that oozes cool lounge appeal. When guests are not cooing over Lake Michigan or the light show at Navy Pier, the W Chicago - Lakeshore hotel captivates with extras like inventive Mediterranean cuisine at Wave, scenic cocktails from the 33rd floor at Whiskey Sky and luxe treatments at Bliss spa. Step outside onto Lake Michigan's shores, walk to Navy Pier or stroll along Chicago's lakefront path from this swank urban residence.

Highlights
  • At water's edge -- Lake Michigan and the beach sit outside the front door
  • City views and cocktails at Whiskey Sky nightclub, sleek urban dining at the Mediterranean-inspired Wave restaurant
  • Bliss Spa, a 9,600-square-foot oasis for pampering
  • Heated indoor pool with scenic lakefront views
  • AAA 2009 Diamond award winner features sultry, Zen-like rooms
Rooms
Inside the rooms at the W Chicago – Lakeshore hotel, guests find plush fabrics in deep shades of eggplant, chocolate and bright white, plus sweet extras like votive candles, CDs from the W library, 32-inch flat-screen TV and Bliss bath products. Wireless high-speed Internet access is available in guest rooms (fees apply).
Features

If the famed brownie bar inside Bliss Spa doesn't have you at hello, then the Triple Oxygen Facials or Blissages will. After relaxing and recharging, hit Wave for innovative cuisine or Whiskey Sky for signature cocktails and club beats in an intimate room featuring panoramic views.

Chic décor and city style at the lakefront hotel don't stop in design-savvy rooms. The W Chicago – Lakeshore hotel offers 15 meeting rooms, including a spectacular rooftop banquet room with slanted floor-to-ceiling windows. Take a dip in the hotel's heated pool perched above Lake Michigan or set out for a stroll along the water's edge. The W Chicago – Lakeshore hotel positions guests for a stylish Chicago experience.  

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (15.7 mi/25.7 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Blue Line (Chicago) (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (3.2 mi/5.2 km)

Attractions
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Navy Pier (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Millennium Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Grant Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The Art Institute of Chicago (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 15 meeting rooms
  • Plasma screens, high-speed Internet, Wi-Fi, state-of-the-art audio/visual equipment
Policies and Fees
  • Starting 1 Jul, the hotel will charge parking fees as follows: $24 USD per two hours; $31 USD per six hours and $60 USD per 24 hours
  • The hotel does not accept guests below 21 years old.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

W Chicago Lakeshore Rooms

Fantastic Suite
The outrageous view of the city in this two bedroom suite lets you and your guests spy on the city from every angle. Socialize in the parlor's entertainment space, popping in a favorite flick on the living room's 32" TV. Or hand-pick a CD from the W library to set the mood while lounging on the sofa or the unique U-shaped chaise lounge.

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Boutiques
Porters
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Chicago Lakeshore also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8939 -87.6156
Area served
.
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, Mile; Chicago OHare International Airport, (ORD), 18.00, Mile
Area description
City

Nearby points of interest

  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (152)

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
26 out of 152
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

1
Charleston for the weeken
Chapel Hill, NC
Apr 8, 2014

Not a 4-star experience.

We were not aware that the hotel was under construction. I would have appreciated being told so, but I guess they know many people wouldn't book it. Also, room was never cleaned very good. We had to ask for more shampoo. Bar staff downstairs wasn't very friendly. And way too trendy for our taste! The carpet almost make me go into a seizure. That being said, the room was gorgeous, and we had an amazing view of Lake Michigan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Chicago Institute of Art is amazing.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
rainonlake
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 5, 2014

W Chicago Lakeshore

I recommend W Hotel Lakeshore if you are active and fun loving people visiting in Chicago. W Hotel is about not only superb location but also nice staffs and valet service. Two thumbs up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to Navy Pier where you can make wonderful memories with your love ones. Don't forget Ohio Street Beach and Olive Park to visit if you are there.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
threegoofygirls
minneapolis, minnesota
Aug 7, 2013

A perfect girls getaway

From the moment we arrived (early I might add) we were so well taken care of by the staff that we were able to jump right into our weekend away. The concierge, Acura driver, front desk, bar, spa, Wave staff and especially the security guard Darreyl (who found and sent our cellphone back to us) were amazing!! If the people make the place than look no further. Thank you Hotel W Lakeshore for a great Chicago impression.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
Charles Super Dad
Miami, Florida
Jun 6, 2013

GREAT

This was a great hotel. I really liked the service and the rooms were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
Benice
Columbia
May 14, 2013

Lively hotel for all ages

Fun. Music was always playing. The lounge area was great and staff were plentiful and eager to help. Room design was not very functional however. Not much privacy in the bathroom. Shutters to the bathroom are opened and closed outside of the bathroom. Outlets should be closer to the bed to charge phones. Minibar items throughout the room. My son drank a water before i got a chance to tell him not to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the bus when possible.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
strnbrg59
California
Apr 6, 2013

Watch out for the $55 overnight parking charge

This seemed like a good deal until I found out that parking my car would cost have again as much as my room itself. I'd appreciate it if there'd been a warning about that. Of course I realize this is the middle of a big city and not a suburban motel parking lot, but at the same time, it's not uncommon to get package deals that include parking. When they don't (as in this case) a prominent warning would have been in order. The hotel's location is good, but it's not really in the heart of things; that would be about four blocks to the west.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
T mack2020
So Cal
Dec 2, 2012

Nice Hotel

Nice hotel...Nice staff... Parking can get expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
College search Mum
New York
Sep 8, 2012

Chicago on the Lake !

We were looking at a couple of colleges with my daughter, one in the city, another 30 mins out north of Chicago. The guys on the concierge desk, were amazing, finding us the best and most economical way of getting there. They were good fun and very obliging. Giving us the low down on where to eat breakfast, lunch and diner if we were not using the hotel. Like a lot of stylish hotels this place was great weekdays but when the weekend kicked in, it turned into party central...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

I would say, coming to this particular W in the winter might not be ideal. We loved to walk around and discover places, but unless your going to cab it everywhere, the subway was quite a distance to walk. But perfect in the summer as the lake is right out front and the Pier a short walk away, for that it was amazing.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
Pcarlberg
Northwest subs
Aug 7, 2012

Open Bathroom?

I did not appreciate the "open" type bathroom. There were shutthers in the bathroom and a sliding door that didnt lock. The beds were awesome the staff was great. The location outstanding if you want to be by the lake and Navy Pier--the walkway to both places was very convenient! But the room itself was shotty. The bathroom had caulk all over the tiles and bathtub, so it made it look icky and dirty, the walls in the bedroom were uneven and didnt go up to the ceiling--it was like shotty workmanship or something. Just not what I would imagine for a hotel like the "W".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

2
Herbert Kral
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 20, 2011

Disaster birthday weekend

I've always loved the W. My last stay was terrible. My family and I had issues with vulgar teenagers at the pool; by the way I don't believe they were guests at the hotel. We asked security numerous times to check and no response. After this issue, we went to the front desk to voice our concerns. We were told that when the hotel offers special rates, they attract a certain type of crowd. I come to the W to avoid that type of crowd. Everything was fine until we received a knock at the door at 1130 PM from the hotel staff with a bottle of wine and cookies, we were already asleep. Finally, at 430 AM we were awoken by 2 extremely loud and intoxicated gentlemen in the hallway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top