$203 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
164 reviews
Great

Nice hotel loved my view would recommend this hotel to anyone See full review

  • Gambinokevin
  • Aug 28, 2014
Loved it!

Stayed the weekend at this hotel & loved it! Great location. See full review

  • Kar Bear from Canada
  • Jul 29, 2014
The W Chicago - Lakeshore offers a birds-eye (think seagull) view of things. Situated along Lake Shore Drive near the Navy Pier, it's the only hotel in Chicago directly overlooking Lake Michigan, and also provides easy access to the beach itself. So bring your flip-flops (weather permitting) and after you've hit the beach, head for home (that's us). The W Chicago - Lakeshore surrounds guests with impeccable service and distinctive style. From the luxurious down-stuffed beds in each of our 520 deluxe guest rooms and suites, to the versatile meeting spaces equipped with the latest technological wizardry, and High Speed Internet Access in all guest and meeting rooms, we've overlooked nothing. Relax in our soothing, Zen-like Living Room. Head for the roof-top lounge to drink in astonishing lake and city views and sizzling nightlife. Enjoy an intimate dinner for two at our signature restaurant. Or retreat to your spacious room, fully-stocked with every comfort, including our own W "Munchie" box, a snacker's utopia. And if you need anything else, our Whatever/Whenever desk is on duty 24/7. Whether you're here for business or pleasure, we're prepared to help you enjoy the best of both worlds. And with a prime lake view location, we're convenient to the best of everything in the city, from the festivities of Navy Pier to the premiere shopping of Michigan Avenue. Have a blast!

Hotel Map

41.8939 -87.6156
Area served
.
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, Mile; Chicago OHare International Airport, (ORD), 18.00, Mile
Area description
City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Chicago Lakeshore also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

W Chicago Lakeshore Rooms

Fantastic Suite
The outrageous view of the city in this two bedroom suite lets you and your guests spy on the city from every angle. Socialize in the parlor's entertainment space, popping in a favorite flick on the living room's 32" TV. Or hand-pick a CD from the W library to set the mood while lounging on the sofa or the unique U-shaped chaise lounge.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 164
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYCerChicagoGirl
New York
Dec 9, 2013

Cool hotel but terrible location and uncomfortable

Views and location are very cool and something you do not typically get in Chicago but it is too far away from everything and expect a cab to take you everywhere. I live in NYC and walk long distances and I felt like it was too much to walk downtown or to the attractions. Walls were paper thin and I could hear the conversation of the kids fighting over their phone and everything else for the weekend. Beds are terrible and pillows were cheap and too massive poly filler and I have a neck and shoulder pain. Elevators took forever and painfully slow. That said - staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay closer to Michigan Ave. where there are boutique hotels just as nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tito traveler
fort lauderdale, florida
Feb 18, 2013

Nice place...thin walls

Liked the hotel; good customer service; parking service was excellent and concierge did an outstanding job of getting me dinner reservations at a great place. My concern was with the sound between rooms. I could hear clearly conversations from the rooms on both sides of me...even more pronounced late at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami , Florida
Jun 8, 2009

Trendy, Windy and Cool

The ambiance was great the bar area and restaurant were spiced up with a live Dj ,, great crowd

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GDash
Los Angeles
Sep 19, 2011

All that Glitters...

From the moment you drive up - the glittery W sign welcomes you! Great location near the Miracle Mile with amazing views of the lake. The lobby bar was always a fun place to stop and grab a drink either before your night out or late night before hitting the sheets. The rooms are comfy, very clean, and modern. Great toiletries from Bliss were a plus! Bliss spa was amazing! Overall - would recommend this hotel and stay there again when I visit Chicago. The concierge staff was super helpful too! Only possible negative - could see it not being all that kid friendly .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Architectural Boat Tour - the concierge can hook you up!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TLee2
Urbana,Il
Jul 9, 2012

W-onderful!

Great room, with a view of the lake. Really hip, interesting decor. The location could not be better. We walked to almost everywhere. Weirdest music in elevators, but it only adds to the ambience... I will stay at W again. The only negative is the rooms have no refrigerator,for all the leftovers from the great Chicago restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant Cite' has a panoramic 360 degree view of the city. Great place for a romantic dinner, fantastic pre-fixe menu .It is just a short, beautiful walk from the W hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller worldwide
Mexico city
Aug 30, 2012

Great location

Staff and atmosphere great. The only inconvenience was that our rooms had no blinds so sunshine does not allow to sleep longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Oct 11, 2010

Good Hotel

Internet access is not included in the room rate and costs an additional ~$14.00 per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Feb 21, 2010

Upscale and Friendly Staff!

Right from the time we arrived we were greeted with very friendly staff. The decor in the lobby and the room was very upscale. Our room was clean and had an incredible view of lake Michigan and Navy Pier. The down side was that the bathroom had a sliding door that had a gap in it as well as a window in the bathroom wall facing the living area that only had wood shutters on it. This was not very private when sharing a room with 3 other people! The pool was kind of small and had no hot tub. the Bliss spa had great services although they were sort of pricey for what you got. Overall a great experience!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a few great restaurants a few blocks west for breakfast, lunch and dinner. They offer really great prices and excellent food and serving sizes!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Leavenworth, Kansas
Jul 27, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Loved the location of the hotel. Beautiful views on both sides. Walking distance to Navy Pier, downtown, close to water taxi pick-ups and eating establishment. The staff was very, very helpful, the hotel was beautiful. Not crazy about the restaurant so we just didn't eat there. We saw that there was a pool, just assumed there was a hot tub, which we would have loved to get into after a long day of walking. Very disappointed no hot tub. All in All we LOVED the Hotel and the Whole Trip. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the Hotel Staff. They are great helpers. They have all the information you need or will find it for you. They were wonderful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 15, 2012

$450 a night and no free internet?

The beds are super comfortable, and the location is perfect. Our room was right by the elevator, so you could hear some foot traffic outside the room. I wish there would have been a fan in the bathroom for some ventilation. But the biggest disappointment was the fact that they wanted $14 a day to use the internet. Come on, man! And $55 a day to park your car seemed a little bit steep. The bar downstairs is nice. Staff was friendly. Our first morning there, the cleaning staff came in at 9:00 and woke us up. Had we known they started that early, we would have put out the "Do Not Disturb" sign. There are tons of outstanding restaurants in the area, and anything that's not within walking distance is just a short cab ride away. Knowing what I know now, if I had to book this trip over again, if I could have found a better deal at one of the nearby hotels (at the Sheraton or Doubletree, for example), I probably would have gone to one of those places to save a few bucks--especially if they had free internet. Don't get me wrong--we had a great experience and the W is a great hotel. However, I wasn't "wowed" to the point where I feel compelled to write a gushing review about how amazing it was. It was very good, but not amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About three blocks away (4-5 minute walk) is a *FANTASTIC* Irish-style pub called Timothy O'Toole's. Awesome food, flat screen TVs everywhere, tons of premium beers on tap, and ultra-friendly service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search