$155 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
View map of 644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
169 out of 169
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christie Traveler
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Dec 5, 2012

Great Hotel

It was very beautiful and an overall very comfortable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevin Biz Exec
Business
Wisconsin
Jan 13, 2013

Edgy Chicago Stay

Cool hotel. Lighting is subdued with gray and purple predominant. Very quiet hallways. The rooms have a very comfortable bed and chaise lounge. Bathrooms have a great rainfall glass shower with Bliss self care top of the line products. Located close to everything in downtown Chicago too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2guest
Couples
chicago
Feb 13, 2013

Pretty good

Spa services were great but a bit pricey. Sauna could be hotter. Staff was nice and always very helpful. The blinds almost fell on my head when they came off the wall, more troubling because there was a note somewhere about pulling on the blinds in fine print. It is insulting to have to pay extra for internet, especially so much for 15 minutes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iowaugirl
Couples
Illinois
Feb 18, 2013

Long wait time!!

Okay I don't usually write review on hotels. This time I had too. We got to the hotel 30 mins after 3 which was check in time. Our room was not ready!! We had to wait 2 hours for our room that we booked a month in advance. I think this a ploy to get people to spend money at the bar. I know this is a great hotel but everything was way over priced. Next time we will stay somewhere else. We had fun at the bar in the hotel and everything else was great! When traveling as far as we did all we wanted was to get in our room and shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fixit00
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 23, 2013

Great stay.

Only stayed for a night on business, but overall it was a good experience. Staff was courteous, place was clean, penthouse bar was fun. The only complaint was having to pay for wi-fi and pay-per-minute business center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

+ Crimson Lounge + Rockit Bar & Grill

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neon24
Business
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Mar 5, 2013

Love the W

I always choose this chain because of their comfortable beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
strnbrg59
Family
California
Apr 6, 2013

Watch out for the $55 overnight parking charge

This seemed like a good deal until I found out that parking my car would cost have again as much as my room itself. I'd appreciate it if there'd been a warning about that. Of course I realize this is the middle of a big city and not a suburban motel parking lot, but at the same time, it's not uncommon to get package deals that include parking. When they don't (as in this case) a prominent warning would have been in order. The hotel's location is good, but it's not really in the heart of things; that would be about four blocks to the west.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Major Photographer
Business
New York, NY
May 15, 2013

Very very good stay

Great! The complimentary car service was real icing on the cake

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Pump Room

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dortiz
Business
Pennsylvania
May 29, 2013

W

while my stay was nice the hotel is probably do for a little face lift.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

make reservations ahead of time for girl and the goat.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Malafacha
Couples
Mexico
Oct 13, 2013

Excellent location.

People very nice with us since we check in, the concierge gave us excellent suggestions to lunch and dinner around the W, we spent 6 perfect days at Chicago!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top