$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
View map of 644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChicagoShaun
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Apr 15, 2014

Renovations...

Clean, safe, and a good location. They should have told me the lobby was under a huge renovation. That's why I got such a good deal ($147/night with taxes and fees). It didn't look like they were going to finish soon. They said my room had been recently renovated but it wasn't anything special. Worst of all- no queen beds. My "double" room had two full beds. It was the cheapest place I could find, but when I saw a four star rating I thought I was getting a steal that ended up being a regular place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Dec 21, 2009

W Hotel Weekend Stay

The room was very small and not exceptionally clean. The view and the location of the hotel was superior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cocco Pazzo Cafe on St. Clair and Ontario Streets. Reasonable, and very flavorful Italian cuisine!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Franie
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 10, 2012

Good Stay

It was good, but not as nice I thought as I stayed at other W Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mandyp7845
Business
Minnesota
Apr 23, 2012

Average

Hotel had a great lounge and bar. The rooms were a bit odd to me but very clean and comfortable. Had to wait in lines both at check in and out. Overall the hotel had a great location and I would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss Miss
Business
Chicago,il
Aug 6, 2012

Room was not cleaned properly

the overall stay was ok but concierge is slow, the room had someone else's garbage in the bathroom

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sea Cadet
Business
Indiana
Aug 20, 2012

Special Event Weekend

Front desk staff was awesome. View was the best you could get. Bed was very comfy. Those are the only positives. Getting to and from your room was horrible, 15 minute wait to get down from the 14th floor. Simply not enough elevators for "guests." Although the bathroom was trendy in room - the opening with shutters from bathroom to room isnt for people who like bathroom privacy lol. If you are from out of town and dont know the area make sure you research before you arrive - there is nothing in the room that gives you help on what is in the area, including restaurants. Biggest complaint $55 for parking and they charge for internet. For the price of the rooms, I would think they could offer free internet and not $14.95 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Unless you want to pay $14.95 for internet, know where you want to dine before you go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tito traveler
Business
fort lauderdale, florida
Feb 18, 2013

Nice place...thin walls

Liked the hotel; good customer service; parking service was excellent and concierge did an outstanding job of getting me dinner reservations at a great place. My concern was with the sound between rooms. I could hear clearly conversations from the rooms on both sides of me...even more pronounced late at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ABBB
Business
Ohio
Mar 19, 2013

Not the unusual "W" quality

Small rooms, inconsistent service, no Wifi in rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jason9999
Business
Minneapolis
Apr 23, 2013

A little disappointed.

Checking in took much, much longer than it should have. Once I was able to talk to someone, however, the staff was incredibly nice and helpful. The room was decent. But decent is not what I have come to expect from W hotels. Exit instructions, required to be on every hotel door, had fallen off of mine and were on the floor upon my arrival. And cracks in the window treatments let too much light in for a good afternoon nap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ysanabria
Business
Miami
Nov 26, 2013

Property needs new furniture

The Hotel its really run down needs some remodelation. Blinds in the room were broken and not repair for 5 days... One coffee to the room charge was over $10 really? Not even in the Peninsula Hotel in Paris!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top