$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
242 reviews
Loved it!

Stayed the weekend at this hotel & loved it! Great location. See full review

  • Kar Bear from Canada
  • Jul 29, 2014
Great hotel

Been to the W hotel several times and enjoy each visit. See full review

  • JCCC
  • Jul 2, 2014
Setting the standard for cool

Find lake views and a front-door beach at this fashionable Chicago hotel that oozes cool lounge appeal. When guests are not cooing over Lake Michigan or the light show at Navy Pier, the W Chicago - Lakeshore hotel captivates with extras like inventive Mediterranean cuisine at Wave, scenic cocktails from the 33rd floor at Whiskey Sky and luxe treatments at Bliss spa. Step outside onto Lake Michigan's shores, walk to Navy Pier or stroll along Chicago's lakefront path from this swank urban residence.

Highlights
  • At water's edge -- Lake Michigan and the beach sit outside the front door
  • City views and cocktails at Whiskey Sky nightclub, sleek urban dining at the Mediterranean-inspired Wave restaurant
  • Bliss Spa, a 9,600-square-foot oasis for pampering
  • Heated indoor pool with scenic lakefront views
  • AAA 2009 Diamond award winner features sultry, Zen-like rooms
Rooms
Inside the rooms at the W Chicago – Lakeshore hotel, guests find plush fabrics in deep shades of eggplant, chocolate and bright white, plus sweet extras like votive candles, CDs from the W library, 32-inch flat-screen TV and Bliss bath products. Wireless high-speed Internet access is available in guest rooms (fees apply).
Features

If the famed brownie bar inside Bliss Spa doesn't have you at hello, then the Triple Oxygen Facials or Blissages will. After relaxing and recharging, hit Wave for innovative cuisine or Whiskey Sky for signature cocktails and club beats in an intimate room featuring panoramic views.

Chic décor and city style at the lakefront hotel don't stop in design-savvy rooms. The W Chicago – Lakeshore hotel offers 15 meeting rooms, including a spectacular rooftop banquet room with slanted floor-to-ceiling windows. Take a dip in the hotel's heated pool perched above Lake Michigan or set out for a stroll along the water's edge. The W Chicago – Lakeshore hotel positions guests for a stylish Chicago experience.  

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (15.7 mi/25.7 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Blue Line (Chicago) (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (3.2 mi/5.2 km)

Attractions
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Navy Pier (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Millennium Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Grant Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The Art Institute of Chicago (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 15 meeting rooms
  • Plasma screens, high-speed Internet, Wi-Fi, state-of-the-art audio/visual equipment
Policies and Fees
  • Starting 1 Jul, the hotel will charge parking fees as follows: $24 USD per two hours; $31 USD per six hours and $60 USD per 24 hours
  • The hotel does not accept guests below 21 years old.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

W Chicago Lakeshore Rooms

Fantastic Suite
The outrageous view of the city in this two bedroom suite lets you and your guests spy on the city from every angle. Socialize in the parlor's entertainment space, popping in a favorite flick on the living room's 32" TV. Or hand-pick a CD from the W library to set the mood while lounging on the sofa or the unique U-shaped chaise lounge.

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Boutiques
Porters
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Chicago Lakeshore also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8939 -87.6156
Area served
.
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, Mile; Chicago OHare International Airport, (ORD), 18.00, Mile
Area description
City

Nearby points of interest

  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (242)

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
242 out of 242
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Edgar, WI
Aug 5, 2008

Our stay at the W Hotel

My husband,and I, and our two boys stayed at the hotel and though it was a very nice Hotel, but we didn't like having a window in the bathroom, first of all it didn't stay shut, second of all, when in the bathroom you want some privacy, so we didn't like the window there. Restaurant was nice but chairs were too uncomfortable, too hard to move and if the person sitting with you has to go to the bathroom you have to both get up, struggle pushing the big sofa chair you are sharing and then you must get out so the other person can go, so not very practical. The food was great but too expensive for what you get. And we didn't like having to use the card to go up in the elevator, to go down the elevator, to go in the fitness room, to go everywhere pretty much. You should just need the card to go up in the elevator and in to your room, that's our opinion. Other than that we enjoyed our stay and had fun in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Egg cafe is not far away and we really loved their breackfast menu.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Middletown, CT
Jun 30, 2009

Service and location - hard to beat!

We celebrated our 38th anniversary in Chicago. My wife had never been to the "windy city" so, staying at W Chicago Lakeshore made that experience much more enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We walked to Sears Tower to take the Skywalk tour. We were disappointed to discover that the tours were cancelled because of high winds. We would recommend calling ahead.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KS Traveler
Overland Park, KS
Mar 20, 2012

Close to Navy Pier

Great location if you want to stay near Navy Pier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out the Signature Room located on the 96th floor of the John Hancock building. Great city and lake views and if it's nice outside the walk isn't too bad.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy, Chief Vacation Officer (CVO)
Galesburg, IL
Nov 14, 2010

Bumpy family getaway

When we arrived at the W-Lakeshore Dr, Chicago, they found our reservation but it was for only one night. We had booked two nights through [...]. It took them a half hour to finally get us a room even though I had brought my copy of the [...] confirmation. At breakfast, my daughter had eggs and toast that came unbuttered - I requested butter - it didn't come - I waited 10 minutes before finally calling a waiter over and requesting new warm toast with butter. Our room key did not work - went to the front desk twice for that - it still never worked. We used my husband's and I made sure not to leave the room while he was out. For the vast amounts of money two nights cost us, I would have thought that things would go a little smoother and that the people who worked there would have cared a little more. Other than that, you really cannot beat the views, the ability to walk to the lake and Navy Pier, and the room was very nice. Despite some hiccups, we enjoyed ourselves immensely!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

To save money, take a short walk from the hotel and you'll find a ton of really neat, exotic or standard fare, and reasonably priced restaurants.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neon24
Business
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Mar 5, 2013

Love the W

I always choose this chain because of their comfortable beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moderately underwhelmed
Washington, DC, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Honestly, I expected more...

The location was great and the first impression walking into the lobby was impressive. The lobby bar was very nice as was the 33rd floor lounge. Check-in process was a breeze and the front desk staff was very friendly and informative. However, once we got to the room the good feeling stopped. The room was small. The light switch to the room was difficult to find because it was hidden behind the curtain that acted as the door to the closet. Also, the door for the bathroom was a sliding bamboo shutter which really provided very little sense of privacy. The bed was not at all comfortable; it was firm to the point of feeling as though I was sleeping on a wooden box. Additionally, there was no dresser with drawers to put clothing. We hung what we could and then had to live out of the suitcase for the rest of the items, not ideal. I also could not believe the charge for using WiFi. For the price of the room, WiFi should be either much cheaper or free. Given what I'd heard about the W, I was expecting much more. I will choose to stay at another hotel on my next trip to Chicago. With that said, our room was always clean and we did enjoy our time there. I just feel more thought could have gone into the design and comfort of the guest room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The architectural boat tour is a MUST!

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
College search Mum
New York
Sep 8, 2012

Chicago on the Lake !

We were looking at a couple of colleges with my daughter, one in the city, another 30 mins out north of Chicago. The guys on the concierge desk, were amazing, finding us the best and most economical way of getting there. They were good fun and very obliging. Giving us the low down on where to eat breakfast, lunch and diner if we were not using the hotel. Like a lot of stylish hotels this place was great weekdays but when the weekend kicked in, it turned into party central...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

I would say, coming to this particular W in the winter might not be ideal. We loved to walk around and discover places, but unless your going to cab it everywhere, the subway was quite a distance to walk. But perfect in the summer as the lake is right out front and the Pier a short walk away, for that it was amazing.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dad in need
El Paso, Texas
Apr 17, 2012

First Time in Chicago

There are so many hotels to choose from and this one has much to offer. Fast check in, friendly staff. The room was well maintained by room service. BLISS spa was fantastic. The whyskey sky was a small room nothing more. Great experience in the windy city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't wish to spend a fortune on bottled water, soda or snacks the 7-eleven is a short distance west on Ontario.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Camp Expert P.
Israel
Mar 28, 2011

2 nights at the W

It was perfectly located near the pier and near my kids' apartment--all walking distance. Took the train to the bus and was a 3 minute walk from the hotel--$5 round trip instead of a $45++ taxi ride each way. Pool was a bit too cold. Fresh apples everywhere--a lovely perk. Also a coffee stand in the morning. Nice clean room with big-high-beds. Almost needed a footstool to get in, but super comfortable. Would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Dec 13, 2010

Nice hotel and location

When checking in, the person at the desk was very helpful with suggestions and recommendations. He also upgraded our room from 2 double beds to a king sized bed for no up-charge. The hotel is very clean and trendy. The room was nice with a comfy bed, the only complaint I had about the room was that the bathroom was lacking privacy. There was a sliding pocket door and a "window" between the bathroom and bedroom with wooden shutters that could be closed but they did not block out any sound or much light. Location was great and within walking distance of a lot of restaurants and shops. Unfortunately when we were there, the weather was not great so we did not get to do much sightseeing. The hotel has a program through Acura that if you want to go somewhere within 5 miles, they will drive you there at no charge. We would stay again and recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top