$197 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
View map of 644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
168 out of 168
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy, Chief Vacation Officer (CVO)
Business
Galesburg, IL
Nov 14, 2010

Bumpy family getaway

When we arrived at the W-Lakeshore Dr, Chicago, they found our reservation but it was for only one night. We had booked two nights through [...]. It took them a half hour to finally get us a room even though I had brought my copy of the [...] confirmation. At breakfast, my daughter had eggs and toast that came unbuttered - I requested butter - it didn't come - I waited 10 minutes before finally calling a waiter over and requesting new warm toast with butter. Our room key did not work - went to the front desk twice for that - it still never worked. We used my husband's and I made sure not to leave the room while he was out. For the vast amounts of money two nights cost us, I would have thought that things would go a little smoother and that the people who worked there would have cared a little more. Other than that, you really cannot beat the views, the ability to walk to the lake and Navy Pier, and the room was very nice. Despite some hiccups, we enjoyed ourselves immensely!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

To save money, take a short walk from the hotel and you'll find a ton of really neat, exotic or standard fare, and reasonably priced restaurants.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Middletown, CT
Jun 30, 2009

Service and location - hard to beat!

We celebrated our 38th anniversary in Chicago. My wife had never been to the "windy city" so, staying at W Chicago Lakeshore made that experience much more enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We walked to Sears Tower to take the Skywalk tour. We were disappointed to discover that the tours were cancelled because of high winds. We would recommend calling ahead.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DECATUR, IL
Jun 29, 2009

NICE VENUE

WE ENJOYED THE LAKESHORE ATTRACTIONS AS WELL AS SHOPPING .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

NAVY PIER

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moe11
Business
IN
Aug 12, 2009

Good view, Small rooms

Everything was great, but the rooms were smaller than I expected. The dinning was a Five Star rating. Over all the hotel location was great, just min. to the Navy Peir.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GDash
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 19, 2011

All that Glitters...

From the moment you drive up - the glittery W sign welcomes you! Great location near the Miracle Mile with amazing views of the lake. The lobby bar was always a fun place to stop and grab a drink either before your night out or late night before hitting the sheets. The rooms are comfy, very clean, and modern. Great toiletries from Bliss were a plus! Bliss spa was amazing! Overall - would recommend this hotel and stay there again when I visit Chicago. The concierge staff was super helpful too! Only possible negative - could see it not being all that kid friendly .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Architectural Boat Tour - the concierge can hook you up!

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tour guide for two days
Business
winston-salem, nc
Aug 13, 2009

modern and funky

hotel was very funky and modern. great lobby, and great rooms with good view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

good sushi right down street on ontario

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mickey511
Business
nyc, ny
May 9, 2014

w lake shore

Major renovations, constructions, incl lobby, front entrance significantly compromising appearance and entrance./exit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Edina, Minnesota
Jan 10, 2011

Chi town

Great spot, awesome time, ideal location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cabs are easiest, especially in winter

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hois
Business
Cleveland OH
Jan 18, 2011

The W Chicago - Navy Pier

Fairly quiet hotel until the wee hours of the weekend. Walls are definitely not soundproof & I was awakened by voices which sounded like they were in the room with me on both Friday & Saturday night. Staff was friendly & helpful, especially Lois. Hotel is a brief walk to Navy Pier or to stores on Michigan avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The best ever breakfast was at Yokes - on the corner one block west & one block south

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
warsmed
Business
nashville, tn
Jan 17, 2011

w lakeshore

Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top