$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
168 reviews
Great

Nice hotel loved my view would recommend this hotel to anyone See full review

  • Gambinokevin
  • Aug 28, 2014
Loved it!

Stayed the weekend at this hotel & loved it! Great location. See full review

  • Kar Bear from Canada
  • Jul 29, 2014
Setting the standard for cool

Find lake views and a front-door beach at this fashionable Chicago hotel that oozes cool lounge appeal. When guests are not cooing over Lake Michigan or the light show at Navy Pier, the W Chicago - Lakeshore hotel captivates with extras like inventive Mediterranean cuisine at Wave, scenic cocktails from the 33rd floor at Whiskey Sky and luxe treatments at Bliss spa. Step outside onto Lake Michigan's shores, walk to Navy Pier or stroll along Chicago's lakefront path from this swank urban residence.

Highlights
  • At water's edge -- Lake Michigan and the beach sit outside the front door
  • City views and cocktails at Whiskey Sky nightclub, sleek urban dining at the Mediterranean-inspired Wave restaurant
  • Bliss Spa, a 9,600-square-foot oasis for pampering
  • Heated indoor pool with scenic lakefront views
  • AAA 2009 Diamond award winner features sultry, Zen-like rooms
Rooms
Inside the rooms at the W Chicago – Lakeshore hotel, guests find plush fabrics in deep shades of eggplant, chocolate and bright white, plus sweet extras like votive candles, CDs from the W library, 32-inch flat-screen TV and Bliss bath products. Wireless high-speed Internet access is available in guest rooms (fees apply).
Features

If the famed brownie bar inside Bliss Spa doesn't have you at hello, then the Triple Oxygen Facials or Blissages will. After relaxing and recharging, hit Wave for innovative cuisine or Whiskey Sky for signature cocktails and club beats in an intimate room featuring panoramic views.

Chic décor and city style at the lakefront hotel don't stop in design-savvy rooms. The W Chicago – Lakeshore hotel offers 15 meeting rooms, including a spectacular rooftop banquet room with slanted floor-to-ceiling windows. Take a dip in the hotel's heated pool perched above Lake Michigan or set out for a stroll along the water's edge. The W Chicago – Lakeshore hotel positions guests for a stylish Chicago experience.  

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (15.7 mi/25.7 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Blue Line (Chicago) (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (3.2 mi/5.2 km)

Attractions
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Navy Pier (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Millennium Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Grant Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The Art Institute of Chicago (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 15 meeting rooms
  • Plasma screens, high-speed Internet, Wi-Fi, state-of-the-art audio/visual equipment
Policies and Fees
  • Starting 1 Jul, the hotel will charge parking fees as follows: $24 USD per two hours; $31 USD per six hours and $60 USD per 24 hours
  • The hotel does not accept guests below 21 years old.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Chicago Lakeshore also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

W Chicago Lakeshore Rooms

Fantastic Suite
The outrageous view of the city in this two bedroom suite lets you and your guests spy on the city from every angle. Socialize in the parlor's entertainment space, popping in a favorite flick on the living room's 32" TV. Or hand-pick a CD from the W library to set the mood while lounging on the sofa or the unique U-shaped chaise lounge.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (168)

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
168 out of 168
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pookster12
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 23, 2014

Construction Ruined this Trip….Avoid until Summer 2014

I have stayed at the W several times before and I absolutely love it! The hotel is great, the staff friendly, scene is wonderful, and during the summer months its perfectly situated on the lake with great views. The decor and style is always what draws me here. However, during this stay I was greatly disappointed in all of the construction taking place. The lobby is gone, the restaurant/bar and receptionist have been placed into a back room with horrible lightening and decor during the renovation. There is no food or drinks, unless you want to order something and sit while construction goes on in a basement with no windows. Despite what floor I was on, it sounded as if the the floor or roof was being jumped, drilled, bulldozed into at all times throughout the day. I complained to the receptionists and asked what time this would end and she simply stated, "The noise will be done at 5:30 and start back at 9am tomorrow." That's it, no sorry for the inconvenience, no discount, no free drinks, meal, nothing!!! She acted like this was normal and that I should be ok with the fact that I was paying full-price for the winter season, yet couldn't even sit in my room without hearing a wall being torn down in the hotel. I couldn't relax at all and left my hotel to venture out into the negative temperatures on the streets. It was a horrible stay. Would I stay here again, NO! Which is very sad, because I have recommended this place to so many people and I myself continue to return, yet the lack of empathy or understanding for guests paying for construction is ridiculous. I could have paid less money at several other hotels, closer to Michigan Ave or the hospitals I was interviewing at, and had no noise or construction disturbances. Very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Charleston for the weeken
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Apr 8, 2014

Not a 4-star experience.

We were not aware that the hotel was under construction. I would have appreciated being told so, but I guess they know many people wouldn't book it. Also, room was never cleaned very good. We had to ask for more shampoo. Bar staff downstairs wasn't very friendly. And way too trendy for our taste! The carpet almost make me go into a seizure. That being said, the room was gorgeous, and we had an amazing view of Lake Michigan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Chicago Institute of Art is amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 2, 2009

This hotel stinks, not worth the price

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel because its close to Navy Pier, where we were taking an Odyssey cruise for his bday. The room was on the 16th floor with no view, just a beige wall in front of the window. But they rant and raved about their spectacular views! Yeah right, what a laugh and a half. Now granted, it was halloween night, but it was so noisy. The walls are PAPER THIN! We could hear everything the people next door were saying, on both sides. Someone was playing loud music above our floor and we could hear the bass through our pillow. I had one of the worst nights in a hotel I have ever, which is really sad, since I've stayed at hotels all over Europe (where customer service is not that great). We called the desk twice and they said both times, "we'll send up hotel security." Nothing ever happened. They didn't care. We will never recommend or stay in a W or related hotels again. For $237 total it was a true disappointment to say the least. We would have had better luck on a park bench.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston MA
Jun 25, 2009

W Chicago Lakeshore

Pretentious, uninterested service...a general attitude from staff, tacky clientele...is not at all what i was expecting from a W...felt like grand central station mixed with a days inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan Ave is very close!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
foreverfit
Business
Stlouis Mo
May 31, 2010

Simply the worst experience ever

Requested King size room, [...] gave us a double bed. The rooms had stains all over the sheets, service was incredibly slow, food came out cold several times. Security tried to break into our room, staff was not helpfull. Only good thing about this hotel is the lakefront view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chulers
Business
Mesa, AZ
Dec 8, 2009

Hotel W Chicago

the first girl that gave us our room keys was very friendly, like you would expect from a "nicer" hotel. the rooms were smaller than i thought, i specified i wanted a king, but got 2 twin beds. when i called to see what happened they said the hotel was full and to try again the next day, then they hung up. no "i apologize for the inconvenience" "i will see what i can do" "i am very sorry, but i will let you know as soon as there is a king available" and even when i went up to the concierge (two days later) the lady had her chin in the palm of her hand leaning against the computer like she was falling asleep... when i walked up she looked at me without moving her head, just her eyes and she had a "what do you want" attitude. she was 1 out of 3 concierge ladies i would describe as trying to help instead of just kind of a whatever attitude. the two younger guys were very nice and very friendly and helpful and a nice break to the service i had been having. walls were pretty thin (its an old days inn) . maybe it was a bad weekend to be there but i was VERY disappointed with customer service. they DID make good mojitos though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

timothy o tooles

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 15, 2009

Trendy Annoyance

If you're into the Navy Pier the W Lakeshore is in a great location...but the fun ends there. It's always busy and loud...in the lobby, in the elevator, in the rooms. The hotel has a very modern vibe which may be appealing to the eye but does nothing for the comfort of the customer. I stayed on the 16th floor and never once was there more than one elevator serving that floor (even though there were four available). For some reason there are shutters that open to the bathroom just in case your visitors want to peek in while you're taking care of business. And the cherry on the top was the 5:00 a.m. wakeup call that I received on my final morning there...even though I didn't request one. I barely received an apology.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mburrier81
Business
Baltimore, MD
Sep 2, 2014

Not so complimentary valet

Website clearly states complimentary valet. Hotel charged us $50 per day. Not to mention we had to wake up the valet in his booth to get our car on our way to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mmcgrat
Business
Chicago,IL
May 30, 2010

W Hotel

It was ok had a broken air conditioner floor was soaked and could NOT get a different room so we had a wet floor. But the next day they upgraded us to a lake view room at no charge which was nice. I would not stay there again I would stay at the Embassey Suites

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Herbert Kral
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 20, 2011

Disaster birthday weekend

I've always loved the W. My last stay was terrible. My family and I had issues with vulgar teenagers at the pool; by the way I don't believe they were guests at the hotel. We asked security numerous times to check and no response. After this issue, we went to the front desk to voice our concerns. We were told that when the hotel offers special rates, they attract a certain type of crowd. I come to the W to avoid that type of crowd. Everything was fine until we received a knock at the door at 1130 PM from the hotel staff with a bottle of wine and cookies, we were already asleep. Finally, at 430 AM we were awoken by 2 extremely loud and intoxicated gentlemen in the hallway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top