$197 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
View map of 644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
168 out of 168
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iowaugirl
Business
Illinois
Feb 18, 2013

Long wait time!!

Okay I don't usually write review on hotels. This time I had too. We got to the hotel 30 mins after 3 which was check in time. Our room was not ready!! We had to wait 2 hours for our room that we booked a month in advance. I think this a ploy to get people to spend money at the bar. I know this is a great hotel but everything was way over priced. Next time we will stay somewhere else. We had fun at the bar in the hotel and everything else was great! When traveling as far as we did all we wanted was to get in our room and shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fixit00
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 23, 2013

Great stay.

Only stayed for a night on business, but overall it was a good experience. Staff was courteous, place was clean, penthouse bar was fun. The only complaint was having to pay for wi-fi and pay-per-minute business center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

+ Crimson Lounge + Rockit Bar & Grill

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neon24
Business
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Mar 5, 2013

Love the W

I always choose this chain because of their comfortable beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
strnbrg59
Business
California
Apr 6, 2013

Watch out for the $55 overnight parking charge

This seemed like a good deal until I found out that parking my car would cost have again as much as my room itself. I'd appreciate it if there'd been a warning about that. Of course I realize this is the middle of a big city and not a suburban motel parking lot, but at the same time, it's not uncommon to get package deals that include parking. When they don't (as in this case) a prominent warning would have been in order. The hotel's location is good, but it's not really in the heart of things; that would be about four blocks to the west.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Major Photographer
Business
New York, NY
May 15, 2013

Very very good stay

Great! The complimentary car service was real icing on the cake

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Pump Room

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dortiz
Business
Pennsylvania
May 29, 2013

W

while my stay was nice the hotel is probably do for a little face lift.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

make reservations ahead of time for girl and the goat.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Malafacha
Business
Mexico
Oct 13, 2013

Excellent location.

People very nice with us since we check in, the concierge gave us excellent suggestions to lunch and dinner around the W, we spent 6 perfect days at Chicago!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack123a
Business
NYC
Oct 23, 2013

The W

it was ok - I don't like the 1/2 glass door on he shower and I really didn't like the location of the know to turn on the shower far behind the shower head - I would get wet as I tried to set the tempature of the shower - it should be moved away from the shower head into a place easier to reach. The lack of space between the bed and chair and work desk was way to little for someone to pass behind the person sitting there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NewYorkophile
Business
Chicago
Dec 11, 2013

Chicago getaway

This Lake Shore Drive hotel is ideally located for shopping and culture and has nice views all around. Common areas pleasant (lobby a bit drafty). Rooms are good-size and comfortable, if a bit quirky (louvered shutters between the bathroom and bedroom?). Staff was responsive when needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J. Barnes
Business
Dallas, Tx
Dec 27, 2013

Winter Vacation

This was a great place for a younger couple. It is a short walk to Michigan Avenue and many great restaurants are within easy walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Signature Room in Hancock Tower. This is a little pricy but has the best views in Chicago from either the 95th or 96th floor, depending on whether you are eating or simply there for a cocktail.

Back to menu Return to top