$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
View map of 644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago staycationer
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 30, 2009

W Play Package

The rooms and amenities are fantastic. The W Hotel finds a great balance between luxury and atmosphere; I think it's safe to say there's nothing like it in Chicago.Our only complaint is that we didn't receive the perks promoted in the W Play Package. I think the package would be a great deal-- the parking credit alone is worth $48-- but I would suggest that you make absolutely sure that the front desk staff understands what you prepaid for parking, two drinks, etc. Unfortunately, we had to pay for parking on the way out even after we confirmed that the parking was included in our package. This has taken a few days to sort out and we're still working towards resolution.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beaux
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Nov 18, 2011

like the hotel but odd noise

i like most things about this hotel. stayed there a few times but there was a mildly annoying noise outside of my room. sounded like a motor running. there's some construction in the area, maybe that had something to do with it or maybe my room was near a large a/c duct.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrequentTraveler2011
Business
IL
Nov 27, 2011

Good package deal, exciting lobby

Clean, well located hotel with modern decor that looks best in the evening when you do not see details of slightly worn furniture. DJ at night in the lobby, interesting lights. The best views of the lake and city must be from rooms with even numbers, as odd numbered rooms give the view of a wall politely called city view. This is what we had. The most peculiar thing about city view room accommodation is the window with shutters from room into the bathroom. I am not kidding, no glass, just wooden shutters that do close from either side, but do not lock. The sliding door to the bathroom does not lock either. Neither shutters, not sliding door provide sound insulation, so you can hear every sound from the bathroom. Pool is monopolized by kids at all times, so do not get excited about late pool hours. Overall, for a short leisure stay this is a suitable hotel, but business travelers may want to have free internet in the room (not provided).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

A play package rate including parking and 2 drinks (at the bar) turned out to be a great value in the city, as parking is outrageously expensive in Chicago center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DeeCee40
Business
Naperville, IL, USA
Dec 17, 2011

Fun Quick trip

This was a fun quick trip/getaway. Did a package where parking and two drinks were included. Room was comfortable. The bar is always fun. The location is great for shopping, and hitting the nightlife afterwards. Since Bliss spa is right in the hotel, this was a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LL90069
Business
West Hollywood, CA, USA
Jan 25, 2012

Winter Weekend Escape

I had never been to Chicago before and was quite satisfied with my stay at the W Lakeshore. The hotel seems as if it has been converted into a W. Overall they did a great job. My only complaints are that the ceilings are on the low side throughout the hotel and they have that awful popcorn finish. The rooms are very chic and feel more like a cool apartment than a stuffy hotel room. My one complaint regarding the room is that I found the beds very uncomfortable. The mattress was on the hard side and the pillows were not down. Also the bed and bath linens seemed to be a low thread count and were on the scratchy side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KS Traveler
Business
Overland Park, KS
Mar 20, 2012

Close to Navy Pier

Great location if you want to stay near Navy Pier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out the Signature Room located on the 96th floor of the John Hancock building. Great city and lake views and if it's nice outside the walk isn't too bad.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moderately underwhelmed
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Honestly, I expected more...

The location was great and the first impression walking into the lobby was impressive. The lobby bar was very nice as was the 33rd floor lounge. Check-in process was a breeze and the front desk staff was very friendly and informative. However, once we got to the room the good feeling stopped. The room was small. The light switch to the room was difficult to find because it was hidden behind the curtain that acted as the door to the closet. Also, the door for the bathroom was a sliding bamboo shutter which really provided very little sense of privacy. The bed was not at all comfortable; it was firm to the point of feeling as though I was sleeping on a wooden box. Additionally, there was no dresser with drawers to put clothing. We hung what we could and then had to live out of the suitcase for the rest of the items, not ideal. I also could not believe the charge for using WiFi. For the price of the room, WiFi should be either much cheaper or free. Given what I'd heard about the W, I was expecting much more. I will choose to stay at another hotel on my next trip to Chicago. With that said, our room was always clean and we did enjoy our time there. I just feel more thought could have gone into the design and comfort of the guest room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The architectural boat tour is a MUST!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dad in need
Business
El Paso, Texas
Apr 17, 2012

First Time in Chicago

There are so many hotels to choose from and this one has much to offer. Fast check in, friendly staff. The room was well maintained by room service. BLISS spa was fantastic. The whyskey sky was a small room nothing more. Great experience in the windy city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't wish to spend a fortune on bottled water, soda or snacks the 7-eleven is a short distance west on Ontario.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grateful Ju
Business
Hermosa Beach, CA
Apr 24, 2012

Pefect for doing Business at Navy Pier

If you are working a convention or show at Navy Pier this is the place to stay, convienient and great views

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TLee2
Business
Urbana,Il
Jul 9, 2012

W-onderful!

Great room, with a view of the lake. Really hip, interesting decor. The location could not be better. We walked to almost everywhere. Weirdest music in elevators, but it only adds to the ambience... I will stay at W again. The only negative is the rooms have no refrigerator,for all the leftovers from the great Chicago restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant Cite' has a panoramic 360 degree view of the city. Great place for a romantic dinner, fantastic pre-fixe menu .It is just a short, beautiful walk from the W hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top