$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
View map of 644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
173 out of 173
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Camp Expert P.
Business
Israel
Mar 28, 2011

2 nights at the W

It was perfectly located near the pier and near my kids' apartment--all walking distance. Took the train to the bus and was a 3 minute walk from the hotel--$5 round trip instead of a $45++ taxi ride each way. Pool was a bit too cold. Fresh apples everywhere--a lovely perk. Also a coffee stand in the morning. Nice clean room with big-high-beds. Almost needed a footstool to get in, but super comfortable. Would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madrid, Spain
Apr 22, 2011

Very nice price-quality hotel

The images shown on the website are not fair, the room is much better to what can be thought through the pics

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to go to Premium Outlet, 45min by car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 14, 2011

Hip, Fun, great location

We were in Chicago for an event at Navy Pier. We thought the hotel was closer to the pier but we needed to take a cab to the ballroom, around $10, not bad. Worth it as we were in heels ;-) The hotel staff was very friendly ans concierge provided great recommendations. Nice hip crowd. Close to Mich and Rush, Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ENO wine bar on the magnificent mile. Great abstract selections. Super fresh cheeses and delicious charcuterie. YUM. Nice ambience as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tuber Sweet
Business
Moline
Jun 30, 2014

Birthday extravaganza

Overall we had a wonderful experience! The room was small and basic, not what I expected for a suite. The staff was friendly at check-in but not quick when we requested glasses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the UBER app for cabs, car and limo service! Super convenient

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marinette man
Business
Marinette, WI
Jul 10, 2014

Great place to stay.

Hotel was beautiful and modern! Right across the road of a Navy Pier and also within walking distance shops and hundreds of places to eat. Stay was great! Hotel was great!! Only little issue was when we left I was charged $15 for Internet we didn't use and the valet parking was like $50 a day which I understand if your constantly having them bring your car up but we only needed them to bring it once when we left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at a place called something O Tools. Awesome burgers!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mak7
Business
New York
Aug 8, 2014

Didn't meet our expectations

The decoration of our room was awesome. The reason that I don't give it a 5, is because I was expecting more. For example, I was expecting a Bar with a nice view (doesn't exist). Or I would expect them not to forget to clean my room (it happened once). Or I would expect the elevators to be available when needed, and not have to wait for up to 5 minutes (I am not exaggerating). In general, it,s a good hotel. But I don't think that this is enough for the money you spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The purple pig

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grcm5
Business
México
Oct 13, 2014

Good location

THE food is expensive beach se sí nota deliciuos THE cleanliness is very poor. THE concierge never helped us when we asked for a favor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deaner55
Business
Ohio
Nov 6, 2014

Expected more

2 bight stay in November. Bed was too firm and bedding stiff and heavy. Food was good but restaurant service was lacking and loud environment. Nice view of lake and Navy Pier but distant from shopping and restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ray Yoon
Business
Irvine
Nov 24, 2014

great hotel

Went to hotel W with friends. Staffs were very kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Unhappy Godmom
Business
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

Great location!

Very contemporary hotel with more outlets for electronics than we have ever seen before! Not much room light for reading, unless you are only reading on your computer, iPad etc. Beautiful decor, delicious pricey food. Only concern was opting for the "green package" we understood our room would be cleaned and linens and towels only changed if requested. The beds were not remade, trash not emptied, complimentary water bottle not replaced two of our three day stay. One day, okay, but two days?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top