$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
View map of 644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Switzerland
Jul 12, 2011

W Chicago

I was not disappointed. Friendly and helpful staff. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eastern Pennsylvania
Jun 24, 2011

One Night in Chicago

We were in Chicago for my daughter's graduation from her medical residency. The festivities were to take place at the W, so we thought it would be good to stay at the same place. The location is convenient to many of the city attractions and right across from Navy Pier. Everything about it is pricey, but the standard of service was excellent. Our room was comfortable with a city view. The food at the celebration dinner was average at best. Surprising that the standard of quality of everything else didn't spill over to the food. The view was fabulous from the 33rd floor dining room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Unless you are on an unlimited expense account, find local restaurants with more ambiance and better food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minneapolis, mn
Nov 3, 2009

A pretty decent place to stay

Had a nice time at the hotel for the most part. The room was really nice and very clean. The Acura program was great for complimentary one-way rides, but wasn't very well advertised. The one thing I would say is to call ahead and make sure that the W isn't hosting any parties that weekend. We were there over Halloween weekend and there were people yelling outside of our hotel room until almost 3:30 in the morning, with no one from the hotel managing the noise. It was not restful at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel offers free one-way rides to anywhere within a 5 mile radius through a program with Acura. Just make sure to make reservations and know about the operating hours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
santa barbara
Jul 13, 2009

Loving the Chicago W-

Helpful concierge, fantastic food! We walked the 15 minutes to downtown with instructions from the concierge on where to go, where to eat, what to see...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Edgar, WI
Aug 5, 2008

Our stay at the W Hotel

My husband,and I, and our two boys stayed at the hotel and though it was a very nice Hotel, but we didn't like having a window in the bathroom, first of all it didn't stay shut, second of all, when in the bathroom you want some privacy, so we didn't like the window there. Restaurant was nice but chairs were too uncomfortable, too hard to move and if the person sitting with you has to go to the bathroom you have to both get up, struggle pushing the big sofa chair you are sharing and then you must get out so the other person can go, so not very practical. The food was great but too expensive for what you get. And we didn't like having to use the card to go up in the elevator, to go down the elevator, to go in the fitness room, to go everywhere pretty much. You should just need the card to go up in the elevator and in to your room, that's our opinion. Other than that we enjoyed our stay and had fun in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Egg cafe is not far away and we really loved their breackfast menu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kerhonkson
Jun 15, 2008

For the young at heart

W Lakeshore is a nice hotel, conveniently located and in walking distance to many attractions. It certainly comes alive on weekend nights with non stop music and dance best suited for the young at heart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lmark33322
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 8, 2010

W Chicago - Lakeshore

We stayed in the basic room and I think wen't in with to high of expectations because of seeing the other rooms available. The basic room was nice and original, but was thinking it would have had more of the WOW factor. Overall the room was very nice though. The wait for elevators was usually long, prices for the snack in the room were rediculously high, pool was smaller than expected, and the bar on the 33rd was small. The bar was dark and cozy looking, but if you didn't get there first you had to stand in the middle of the room.The hotel also billed my credit card even after I've paid through [...](the full amount).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yusufu
Business
detroit mi
May 27, 2009

w lakeshore - unique and fun!

eclectic crowd, unique experience - i had never been to a "W" hotel before but I certainly will stay with them again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Colorado
Jun 7, 2009

Excellent location on Navy Pier

Hotel overlooks the Navy Pier and is an easy 5 minute walk to take in the site. As with most W Hotels, be prepared for a chic, young crowd. We stayed because of the location, which didn't disappoint. We knew we would have to pay for parking since we had a rental car but weren't prepared for $48 per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a few restaraunts about two blocks from the hotel, including italian, japanese, steak and seafood and a breakfast cafe. We found lighter pub fare and a great salad menu at a place called Tim O'Toole's on the same strip. There are also Starbucks and Panera Bread shops within this walk if you are tired of higher prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami , Florida
Jun 8, 2009

Trendy, Windy and Cool

The ambiance was great the bar area and restaurant were spiced up with a live Dj ,, great crowd

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top