$207 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
View map of 644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
168 reviews
Best Hotel Ever

The W Chicago Lakeshore is truly the best hotel experience I have ever had. The hotel is stylish,... See full review

  • Terry H.
  • Jul 15, 2015
Business Trip

Stayed here when attending the AHR expo in chicago in January 2014 Nice Hotel! Clean & Friendly... See full review

  • Rachelle A.
  • Apr 30, 2015

Find lake views and a front-door beach at this fashionable Chicago hotel that oozes cool lounge appeal. When guests are not cooing over Lake Michigan or the light show at Navy Pier, the W Chicago - Lakeshore hotel captivates with extras like inventive Mediterranean cuisine at Wave, scenic cocktails from the 33rd floor at Whiskey Sky and luxe treatments at Bliss spa. Step outside onto Lake Michigan's shores, walk to Navy Pier or stroll along Chicago's lakefront path from this swank urban residence.

Rooms
Inside the rooms at the W Chicago – Lakeshore hotel, guests find plush fabrics in deep shades of eggplant, chocolate and bright white, plus sweet extras like votive candles, CDs from the W library, 32-inch flat-screen TV and Bliss bath products. Wireless high-speed Internet access is available in guest rooms (fees apply).
Property features

If the famed brownie bar inside Bliss Spa doesn't have you at hello, then the Triple Oxygen Facials or Blissages will. After relaxing and recharging, hit Wave for innovative cuisine or Whiskey Sky for signature cocktails and club beats in an intimate room featuring panoramic views.

Chic décor and city style at the lakefront hotel don't stop in design-savvy rooms. The W Chicago – Lakeshore hotel offers 15 meeting rooms, including a spectacular rooftop banquet room with slanted floor-to-ceiling windows. Take a dip in the hotel's heated pool perched above Lake Michigan or set out for a stroll along the water's edge. The W Chicago – Lakeshore hotel positions guests for a stylish Chicago experience.  

Highlights
  • At water's edge -- Lake Michigan and the beach sit outside the front door
  • City views and cocktails at Whiskey Sky nightclub, sleek urban dining at the Mediterranean-inspired Wave restaurant
  • Bliss Spa, a 9,600-square-foot oasis for pampering
  • Heated indoor pool with scenic lakefront views
  • AAA 2009 Diamond award winner features sultry, Zen-like rooms
Nearby attractions
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Navy Pier (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Millennium Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Grant Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The Art Institute of Chicago (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 15 meeting rooms
  • Plasma screens, high-speed Internet, Wi-Fi, state-of-the-art audio/visual equipment
Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (15.7 mi/25.7 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Blue Line (Chicago) (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (3.2 mi/5.2 km)

Policies
  • Starting 1 Jul, the hotel will charge parking fees as follows: $24 USD per two hours; $31 USD per six hours and $60 USD per 24 hours
  • The hotel does not accept guests below 21 years old.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Chicago Lakeshore also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

W Chicago Lakeshore Rooms

Fantastic Suite
The outrageous view of the city in this two bedroom suite lets you and your guests spy on the city from every angle. Socialize in the parlor's entertainment space, popping in a favorite flick on the living room's 32" TV. Or hand-pick a CD from the W library to set the mood while lounging on the sofa or the unique U-shaped chaise lounge.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 168
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Norman S.
Business
miami
Jan 5, 2015

Great romantic getaway

Our overall stay was wonderful. The W is located in a great part of town. The hotel is beautiful and classy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Denise S.
Business
Los Angeles
Jan 5, 2015

Awesome romantic trip. Beautiful view

The location was perfect. Walking distance to Restaurants and stores. So much to do .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Unhappy Godmom
Business
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

Great location!

Very contemporary hotel with more outlets for electronics than we have ever seen before! Not much room light for reading, unless you are only reading on your computer, iPad etc. Beautiful decor, delicious pricey food. Only concern was opting for the "green package" we understood our room would be cleaned and linens and towels only changed if requested. The beds were not remade, trash not emptied, complimentary water bottle not replaced two of our three day stay. One day, okay, but two days?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mburrier81
Business
Baltimore, MD
Sep 2, 2014

Not so complimentary valet

Website clearly states complimentary valet. Hotel charged us $50 per day. Not to mention we had to wake up the valet in his booth to get our car on our way to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gambinokevin
Business
Michigan
Aug 28, 2014

Great

Nice hotel loved my view would recommend this hotel to anyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Timmy O'tooles

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mak7
Business
New York
Aug 8, 2014

Didn't meet our expectations

The decoration of our room was awesome. The reason that I don't give it a 5, is because I was expecting more. For example, I was expecting a Bar with a nice view (doesn't exist). Or I would expect them not to forget to clean my room (it happened once). Or I would expect the elevators to be available when needed, and not have to wait for up to 5 minutes (I am not exaggerating). In general, it,s a good hotel. But I don't think that this is enough for the money you spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The purple pig

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marinette man
Business
Marinette, WI
Jul 10, 2014

Great place to stay.

Hotel was beautiful and modern! Right across the road of a Navy Pier and also within walking distance shops and hundreds of places to eat. Stay was great! Hotel was great!! Only little issue was when we left I was charged $15 for Internet we didn't use and the valet parking was like $50 a day which I understand if your constantly having them bring your car up but we only needed them to bring it once when we left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at a place called something O Tools. Awesome burgers!!

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tuber Sweet
Business
Moline
Jun 30, 2014

Birthday extravaganza

Overall we had a wonderful experience! The room was small and basic, not what I expected for a suite. The staff was friendly at check-in but not quick when we requested glasses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the UBER app for cabs, car and limo service! Super convenient

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SL Omaha
Business
Omaha, NE
Jun 16, 2014

Fantastic View, Ordinary Room

The View was fantastic of Lake Michigan and proximity to Navy Pier great! The flip side is that the rooms lacked common sense designs that were inconvenient. Examples: No place to hang your towels during or after a shower; lack of privacy when in bathroom from anyone else in room; no 'night' light so as not to disturb anyone else in room at night when using bathroom #frosted window in bathroom to bedroom#. I could go on and on about these items as it appears they focused on the 'design' rather then common sense.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mickey511
Business
nyc, ny
May 9, 2014

w lake shore

Major renovations, constructions, incl lobby, front entrance significantly compromising appearance and entrance./exit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top