$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
View map of 644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenn Marie
Crow n Point, Indiana
Jul 2, 2013

Great Place for 40th birthday

Summer in Chicago is awesome and our location couldn't have been better. We spent the weekend walking the lake front, through Grant Park, Millennium Park, and the famous Magnificent Mile. We had a lake front room with a spectacular view. It was perfect. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Franie
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 10, 2012

Good Stay

It was good, but not as nice I thought as I stayed at other W Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KS Traveler
Business
Overland Park, KS
Mar 20, 2012

Close to Navy Pier

Great location if you want to stay near Navy Pier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out the Signature Room located on the 96th floor of the John Hancock building. Great city and lake views and if it's nice outside the walk isn't too bad.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
peter h
Business
Barrington, IL, USA
Jan 31, 2012

so so

dated, small rooms. wifi costs for every device. ipod dock is a joke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LL90069
Business
West Hollywood, CA, USA
Jan 25, 2012

Winter Weekend Escape

I had never been to Chicago before and was quite satisfied with my stay at the W Lakeshore. The hotel seems as if it has been converted into a W. Overall they did a great job. My only complaints are that the ceilings are on the low side throughout the hotel and they have that awful popcorn finish. The rooms are very chic and feel more like a cool apartment than a stuffy hotel room. My one complaint regarding the room is that I found the beds very uncomfortable. The mattress was on the hard side and the pillows were not down. Also the bed and bath linens seemed to be a low thread count and were on the scratchy side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TRoss
Business
Memphis, TN, USA
Jan 10, 2012

A wonderful experience.

My first time staying at the W hotel, but it will not truly be my last. I loved everything about my stay. Great room, great view, great food. It was WONDEFUL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Herbert Kral
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 20, 2011

Disaster birthday weekend

I've always loved the W. My last stay was terrible. My family and I had issues with vulgar teenagers at the pool; by the way I don't believe they were guests at the hotel. We asked security numerous times to check and no response. After this issue, we went to the front desk to voice our concerns. We were told that when the hotel offers special rates, they attract a certain type of crowd. I come to the W to avoid that type of crowd. Everything was fine until we received a knock at the door at 1130 PM from the hotel staff with a bottle of wine and cookies, we were already asleep. Finally, at 430 AM we were awoken by 2 extremely loud and intoxicated gentlemen in the hallway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DeeCee40
Business
Naperville, IL, USA
Dec 17, 2011

Fun Quick trip

This was a fun quick trip/getaway. Did a package where parking and two drinks were included. Room was comfortable. The bar is always fun. The location is great for shopping, and hitting the nightlife afterwards. Since Bliss spa is right in the hotel, this was a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrequentTraveler2011
Business
IL
Nov 27, 2011

Good package deal, exciting lobby

Clean, well located hotel with modern decor that looks best in the evening when you do not see details of slightly worn furniture. DJ at night in the lobby, interesting lights. The best views of the lake and city must be from rooms with even numbers, as odd numbered rooms give the view of a wall politely called city view. This is what we had. The most peculiar thing about city view room accommodation is the window with shutters from room into the bathroom. I am not kidding, no glass, just wooden shutters that do close from either side, but do not lock. The sliding door to the bathroom does not lock either. Neither shutters, not sliding door provide sound insulation, so you can hear every sound from the bathroom. Pool is monopolized by kids at all times, so do not get excited about late pool hours. Overall, for a short leisure stay this is a suitable hotel, but business travelers may want to have free internet in the room (not provided).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

A play package rate including parking and 2 drinks (at the bar) turned out to be a great value in the city, as parking is outrageously expensive in Chicago center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beaux
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Nov 18, 2011

like the hotel but odd noise

i like most things about this hotel. stayed there a few times but there was a mildly annoying noise outside of my room. sounded like a motor running. there's some construction in the area, maybe that had something to do with it or maybe my room was near a large a/c duct.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GDash
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 19, 2011

All that Glitters...

From the moment you drive up - the glittery W sign welcomes you! Great location near the Miracle Mile with amazing views of the lake. The lobby bar was always a fun place to stop and grab a drink either before your night out or late night before hitting the sheets. The rooms are comfy, very clean, and modern. Great toiletries from Bliss were a plus! Bliss spa was amazing! Overall - would recommend this hotel and stay there again when I visit Chicago. The concierge staff was super helpful too! Only possible negative - could see it not being all that kid friendly .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Architectural Boat Tour - the concierge can hook you up!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top