$203 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
164 reviews
Great

Nice hotel loved my view would recommend this hotel to anyone See full review

  • Gambinokevin
  • Aug 28, 2014
Loved it!

Stayed the weekend at this hotel & loved it! Great location. See full review

  • Kar Bear from Canada
  • Jul 29, 2014
The W Chicago - Lakeshore offers a birds-eye (think seagull) view of things. Situated along Lake Shore Drive near the Navy Pier, it's the only hotel in Chicago directly overlooking Lake Michigan, and also provides easy access to the beach itself. So bring your flip-flops (weather permitting) and after you've hit the beach, head for home (that's us). The W Chicago - Lakeshore surrounds guests with impeccable service and distinctive style. From the luxurious down-stuffed beds in each of our 520 deluxe guest rooms and suites, to the versatile meeting spaces equipped with the latest technological wizardry, and High Speed Internet Access in all guest and meeting rooms, we've overlooked nothing. Relax in our soothing, Zen-like Living Room. Head for the roof-top lounge to drink in astonishing lake and city views and sizzling nightlife. Enjoy an intimate dinner for two at our signature restaurant. Or retreat to your spacious room, fully-stocked with every comfort, including our own W "Munchie" box, a snacker's utopia. And if you need anything else, our Whatever/Whenever desk is on duty 24/7. Whether you're here for business or pleasure, we're prepared to help you enjoy the best of both worlds. And with a prime lake view location, we're convenient to the best of everything in the city, from the festivities of Navy Pier to the premiere shopping of Michigan Avenue. Have a blast!

Hotel Map

41.8939 -87.6156
Area served
.
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, Mile; Chicago OHare International Airport, (ORD), 18.00, Mile
Area description
City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Chicago Lakeshore also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

W Chicago Lakeshore Rooms

Fantastic Suite
The outrageous view of the city in this two bedroom suite lets you and your guests spy on the city from every angle. Socialize in the parlor's entertainment space, popping in a favorite flick on the living room's 32" TV. Or hand-pick a CD from the W library to set the mood while lounging on the sofa or the unique U-shaped chaise lounge.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
duce2048
New York
Mar 18, 2013

W Chicago Lakeshore

Our stay at the W was awesome. The staff is super friendly. The rooms are nice and clean. The food was good and the two bar / lounge areas had good music, drinks & a mixed crowd. You really don't have to leave the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John67778990
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 22, 2011

cubs/cards in Chicago

It was ordinary nothing great but nothing bad. The other W is far superior in chicago, The location is not as good either. I would not stay at this hotel again bottom line. The staff is also incompetent. I went shopping on michigan Ave and went to the cubs/cards baseball game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

stay at the other W in Chicago

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas
Jul 30, 2011

Location is everything !

It was a great bargain ! right on the lake ! staff was great and excellent free car service by Acura! wonderful view of the lake from our room. Only negative thing was they nickle and dime you to use the business room. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY
Jul 19, 2011

Great location

Very lively hotel in great part of town. Easily can walk to Navy Pier, Ohio St beach, Michigan avenue. Close to 2 really good breakfast places. Did not try hotel restaurant. Desk and concierge were extremely helpful, friendly, efficient. Overall vibe of the hotel was excellent: most staff and guests were neat, young, energetic. Very lively lobby scene. Easy to get cabs. room was not the Four Seasons, but decor was up to date and modern. Room was clean. Bathroom excellent. Decent size flat screen TV and wireless internet. Gym average, but all equipment seemed new and well maintained. Indoor pool looked OK but did not use it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 15, 2011

Everything I Needed

After a tough flight/schedule getting into Chicago, arriving at The W was just what I needed. The atmosphere and the people set things right and before too long I was relaxed and ready to take in the sites and sounds of the city. The W on Lakeshore is located within walking distance of Rush St. and the Navy Pier, and the view from the 26th floor was awesome from both sides of the building - my room looked out over the city, and while waiting for the elevators you get an awesome view of the pier with its ferris wheel and other oddities. After I was settled, I walked to Hugo's Frog Bar on Rush and took in a fantastic meal while watching the MLB home run derby - Big Papi and Gonzalez were in contention until Cano broke it open. The steak was OUTSTANDING and the service was great. Definitely needed the walk back to the hotel after that. All in all, great experience at The W.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk to Rush and you'll have plenty of dining and drinking choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Switzerland
Jul 12, 2011

W Chicago

I was not disappointed. Friendly and helpful staff. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Eastern Pennsylvania
Jun 24, 2011

One Night in Chicago

We were in Chicago for my daughter's graduation from her medical residency. The festivities were to take place at the W, so we thought it would be good to stay at the same place. The location is convenient to many of the city attractions and right across from Navy Pier. Everything about it is pricey, but the standard of service was excellent. Our room was comfortable with a city view. The food at the celebration dinner was average at best. Surprising that the standard of quality of everything else didn't spill over to the food. The view was fabulous from the 33rd floor dining room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Unless you are on an unlimited expense account, find local restaurants with more ambiance and better food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Memphis, TN
Jun 21, 2011

A Must Stay At Again

The room was awesome, we loved the bathroom and the view was breathe taken. The fireworks felts as though I was watching them upfront and in personal. The location was very good for doing any thing and everything you wanted to do. The staff was friendly and courteous. The 33rd floor was the bomb. My stay was Tony da Tiger Great!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

catch a cab do not rent a car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
May 14, 2011

Hip, Fun, great location

We were in Chicago for an event at Navy Pier. We thought the hotel was closer to the pier but we needed to take a cab to the ballroom, around $10, not bad. Worth it as we were in heels ;-) The hotel staff was very friendly ans concierge provided great recommendations. Nice hip crowd. Close to Mich and Rush, Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ENO wine bar on the magnificent mile. Great abstract selections. Super fresh cheeses and delicious charcuterie. YUM. Nice ambience as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madrid, Spain
Apr 22, 2011

Very nice price-quality hotel

The images shown on the website are not fair, the room is much better to what can be thought through the pics

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to go to Premium Outlet, 45min by car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Camp Expert P.
Israel
Mar 28, 2011

2 nights at the W

It was perfectly located near the pier and near my kids' apartment--all walking distance. Took the train to the bus and was a 3 minute walk from the hotel--$5 round trip instead of a $45++ taxi ride each way. Pool was a bit too cold. Fresh apples everywhere--a lovely perk. Also a coffee stand in the morning. Nice clean room with big-high-beds. Almost needed a footstool to get in, but super comfortable. Would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search