$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
View map of 644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
173 out of 173
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ABSmith
NYC
Dec 4, 2012

Perfect

Our trip was so wonderful. Great value for our money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Touring Designer
Business
Kansas
Jul 18, 2012

Fun Boutique Hotel at an Affordable Price

We have stayed here about 4 times now, and everytime we have had a positive experience. The style of the hotel is very modern chic, the staff are always very polite and helpful, the restaurants and spa is amazing, and the room is always clean and comfortable. If you've never been it's worth going, and the value is amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel offers a free drop off service to a destination of your choice within the city, worth using and saves a cab fair.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jstdremn
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 10, 2012

awesome place to stay

Great hotel and an awesome place to stay in Chitown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TLee2
Business
Urbana,Il
Jul 9, 2012

W-onderful!

Great room, with a view of the lake. Really hip, interesting decor. The location could not be better. We walked to almost everywhere. Weirdest music in elevators, but it only adds to the ambience... I will stay at W again. The only negative is the rooms have no refrigerator,for all the leftovers from the great Chicago restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant Cite' has a panoramic 360 degree view of the city. Great place for a romantic dinner, fantastic pre-fixe menu .It is just a short, beautiful walk from the W hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bixbie
Business
New York, NY
May 29, 2012

Great weekend at the W Lakeshore

I spent the Memorial Day weekend in Chicago at the W Lakeshore with some friends. The hotel is central to all major shopping and sites, offering great views of the beach and the Navy Pier. The staff was very friendly and helpful. All in all, we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grateful Ju
Business
Hermosa Beach, CA
Apr 24, 2012

Pefect for doing Business at Navy Pier

If you are working a convention or show at Navy Pier this is the place to stay, convienient and great views

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mandyp7845
Business
Minnesota
Apr 23, 2012

Average

Hotel had a great lounge and bar. The rooms were a bit odd to me but very clean and comfortable. Had to wait in lines both at check in and out. Overall the hotel had a great location and I would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moderately underwhelmed
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Honestly, I expected more...

The location was great and the first impression walking into the lobby was impressive. The lobby bar was very nice as was the 33rd floor lounge. Check-in process was a breeze and the front desk staff was very friendly and informative. However, once we got to the room the good feeling stopped. The room was small. The light switch to the room was difficult to find because it was hidden behind the curtain that acted as the door to the closet. Also, the door for the bathroom was a sliding bamboo shutter which really provided very little sense of privacy. The bed was not at all comfortable; it was firm to the point of feeling as though I was sleeping on a wooden box. Additionally, there was no dresser with drawers to put clothing. We hung what we could and then had to live out of the suitcase for the rest of the items, not ideal. I also could not believe the charge for using WiFi. For the price of the room, WiFi should be either much cheaper or free. Given what I'd heard about the W, I was expecting much more. I will choose to stay at another hotel on my next trip to Chicago. With that said, our room was always clean and we did enjoy our time there. I just feel more thought could have gone into the design and comfort of the guest room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The architectural boat tour is a MUST!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dad in need
Business
El Paso, Texas
Apr 17, 2012

First Time in Chicago

There are so many hotels to choose from and this one has much to offer. Fast check in, friendly staff. The room was well maintained by room service. BLISS spa was fantastic. The whyskey sky was a small room nothing more. Great experience in the windy city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't wish to spend a fortune on bottled water, soda or snacks the 7-eleven is a short distance west on Ontario.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Franie
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 10, 2012

Good Stay

It was good, but not as nice I thought as I stayed at other W Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KS Traveler
Business
Overland Park, KS
Mar 20, 2012

Close to Navy Pier

Great location if you want to stay near Navy Pier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out the Signature Room located on the 96th floor of the John Hancock building. Great city and lake views and if it's nice outside the walk isn't too bad.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top