$155 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
View map of 644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
169 out of 169
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Montreal Rick
Business
Montreal
Apr 22, 2013

Great long weekend destination

A few minutes from the Magnificent mile - overlooking the lake and a short walk to Navy Pier. Comfortable rooms - hip public areas. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sheila gram
Couples
stoddard, nh /newburyport ma
Nov 11, 2012

wonderful location,beautiful view!

our brief stay here was excellent. staff was very helpful. the view and the easy access right off lakeshore drive was perfect. my son lives in chicago and was able to drive back and forth from his home with ease. it is very close to all the downtown activities we enjoyed. i would highly recommend this hotel. a very active nightlife for the younger generation as well. each night the lobby , bar and restaurant were filled with many guests.check in and check out were easy and quick. all the staff were very helpful. we would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
purlgreyhound
Couples
Twin Cities, MN
Nov 6, 2012

Better than expected

We are not young or hip or fashionable -- merely middle-aged and presentable -- so I was braced for dismissiveness and/or condescension. But the staff was consistently welcoming and kind. Our room was comfortable, though a bit dark. (The shuttered interior bathroom "window" mentioned elsewhere was a minor annoyance.) We prefer North Loop or River North locations so I thought we'd be a bit out of the way here. In fact, it's a few blocks from Michigan Avenue, a pleasant walk in all but the worst weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The W's location is good for travelers with dogs. There are grassy boulevards nearby for immediate potty outings and paths along the lakeshore and through the parks near Navy Pier for longer walks.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 15, 2012

$450 a night and no free internet?

The beds are super comfortable, and the location is perfect. Our room was right by the elevator, so you could hear some foot traffic outside the room. I wish there would have been a fan in the bathroom for some ventilation. But the biggest disappointment was the fact that they wanted $14 a day to use the internet. Come on, man! And $55 a day to park your car seemed a little bit steep. The bar downstairs is nice. Staff was friendly. Our first morning there, the cleaning staff came in at 9:00 and woke us up. Had we known they started that early, we would have put out the "Do Not Disturb" sign. There are tons of outstanding restaurants in the area, and anything that's not within walking distance is just a short cab ride away. Knowing what I know now, if I had to book this trip over again, if I could have found a better deal at one of the nearby hotels (at the Sheraton or Doubletree, for example), I probably would have gone to one of those places to save a few bucks--especially if they had free internet. Don't get me wrong--we had a great experience and the W is a great hotel. However, I wasn't "wowed" to the point where I feel compelled to write a gushing review about how amazing it was. It was very good, but not amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About three blocks away (4-5 minute walk) is a *FANTASTIC* Irish-style pub called Timothy O'Toole's. Awesome food, flat screen TVs everywhere, tons of premium beers on tap, and ultra-friendly service.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
College search Mum
Family
New York
Sep 8, 2012

Chicago on the Lake !

We were looking at a couple of colleges with my daughter, one in the city, another 30 mins out north of Chicago. The guys on the concierge desk, were amazing, finding us the best and most economical way of getting there. They were good fun and very obliging. Giving us the low down on where to eat breakfast, lunch and diner if we were not using the hotel. Like a lot of stylish hotels this place was great weekdays but when the weekend kicked in, it turned into party central...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

I would say, coming to this particular W in the winter might not be ideal. We loved to walk around and discover places, but unless your going to cab it everywhere, the subway was quite a distance to walk. But perfect in the summer as the lake is right out front and the Pier a short walk away, for that it was amazing.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller worldwide
Friends
Mexico city
Aug 30, 2012

Great location

Staff and atmosphere great. The only inconvenience was that our rooms had no blinds so sunshine does not allow to sleep longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brooder
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Aug 22, 2012

Expecting more

I was really expecting a lot more from the W. The decor was swanky, but the upkeep is very shabby. There was no door handle on our bathroom door and the bath tub had chips in it. The ceiling was poorly repaired and carpet was very stained. The view was great. We were city side, but the view was fairly unobstructed. Staff was friendly and I had one of the best sandwiches I have ever had (Ahi tuna burger was incredible). I have a friend who works for Starwood in New York and I cant imagine our room is something that is representative of the brand. Too bad. Won't being staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sea Cadet
Couples
Indiana
Aug 20, 2012

Special Event Weekend

Front desk staff was awesome. View was the best you could get. Bed was very comfy. Those are the only positives. Getting to and from your room was horrible, 15 minute wait to get down from the 14th floor. Simply not enough elevators for "guests." Although the bathroom was trendy in room - the opening with shutters from bathroom to room isnt for people who like bathroom privacy lol. If you are from out of town and dont know the area make sure you research before you arrive - there is nothing in the room that gives you help on what is in the area, including restaurants. Biggest complaint $55 for parking and they charge for internet. For the price of the rooms, I would think they could offer free internet and not $14.95 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Unless you want to pay $14.95 for internet, know where you want to dine before you go.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pcarlberg
Family
Northwest subs
Aug 7, 2012

Open Bathroom?

I did not appreciate the "open" type bathroom. There were shutthers in the bathroom and a sliding door that didnt lock. The beds were awesome the staff was great. The location outstanding if you want to be by the lake and Navy Pier--the walkway to both places was very convenient! But the room itself was shotty. The bathroom had caulk all over the tiles and bathtub, so it made it look icky and dirty, the walls in the bedroom were uneven and didnt go up to the ceiling--it was like shotty workmanship or something. Just not what I would imagine for a hotel like the "W".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss Miss
Single
Chicago,il
Aug 6, 2012

Room was not cleaned properly

the overall stay was ok but concierge is slow, the room had someone else's garbage in the bathroom

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Missmeg
Friends
North Shore, MA
Aug 6, 2012

W Lakeshore

Hotel had everything we needed. Staff was quite friendly. It would have been great if they offered a free shuttle to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top