$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
View map of 644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
173 out of 173
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boyhead
Cincinnati OH
Dec 16, 2013

Awesome!

This is one of the nicest hotels that I have stayed in. Staff was great and the room was very retro and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iowaugirl
Business
Illinois
Feb 18, 2013

Long wait time!!

Okay I don't usually write review on hotels. This time I had too. We got to the hotel 30 mins after 3 which was check in time. Our room was not ready!! We had to wait 2 hours for our room that we booked a month in advance. I think this a ploy to get people to spend money at the bar. I know this is a great hotel but everything was way over priced. Next time we will stay somewhere else. We had fun at the bar in the hotel and everything else was great! When traveling as far as we did all we wanted was to get in our room and shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tito traveler
Business
fort lauderdale, florida
Feb 18, 2013

Nice place...thin walls

Liked the hotel; good customer service; parking service was excellent and concierge did an outstanding job of getting me dinner reservations at a great place. My concern was with the sound between rooms. I could hear clearly conversations from the rooms on both sides of me...even more pronounced late at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2guest
Business
chicago
Feb 13, 2013

Pretty good

Spa services were great but a bit pricey. Sauna could be hotter. Staff was nice and always very helpful. The blinds almost fell on my head when they came off the wall, more troubling because there was a note somewhere about pulling on the blinds in fine print. It is insulting to have to pay extra for internet, especially so much for 15 minutes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevin Biz Exec
Business
Wisconsin
Jan 13, 2013

Edgy Chicago Stay

Cool hotel. Lighting is subdued with gray and purple predominant. Very quiet hallways. The rooms have a very comfortable bed and chaise lounge. Bathrooms have a great rainfall glass shower with Bliss self care top of the line products. Located close to everything in downtown Chicago too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christie Traveler
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Dec 5, 2012

Great Hotel

It was very beautiful and an overall very comfortable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ABSmith
Business
NYC
Dec 4, 2012

Perfect

Our trip was so wonderful. Great value for our money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T mack2020
Business
So Cal
Dec 2, 2012

Nice Hotel

Nice hotel...Nice staff... Parking can get expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
20 something gal
Business
Aurora, IL
Dec 2, 2012

Nice place to stay

Staff was friendly and the room was pretty nice for the amount of space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sheila gram
Business
stoddard, nh /newburyport ma
Nov 11, 2012

wonderful location,beautiful view!

our brief stay here was excellent. staff was very helpful. the view and the easy access right off lakeshore drive was perfect. my son lives in chicago and was able to drive back and forth from his home with ease. it is very close to all the downtown activities we enjoyed. i would highly recommend this hotel. a very active nightlife for the younger generation as well. each night the lobby , bar and restaurant were filled with many guests.check in and check out were easy and quick. all the staff were very helpful. we would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
purlgreyhound
Business
Twin Cities, MN
Nov 6, 2012

Better than expected

We are not young or hip or fashionable -- merely middle-aged and presentable -- so I was braced for dismissiveness and/or condescension. But the staff was consistently welcoming and kind. Our room was comfortable, though a bit dark. (The shuttered interior bathroom "window" mentioned elsewhere was a minor annoyance.) We prefer North Loop or River North locations so I thought we'd be a bit out of the way here. In fact, it's a few blocks from Michigan Avenue, a pleasant walk in all but the worst weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The W's location is good for travelers with dogs. There are grassy boulevards nearby for immediate potty outings and paths along the lakeshore and through the parks near Navy Pier for longer walks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top