$228 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
164 reviews
Great

Nice hotel loved my view would recommend this hotel to anyone See full review

  • Gambinokevin
  • Aug 28, 2014
Loved it!

Stayed the weekend at this hotel & loved it! Great location. See full review

  • Kar Bear from Canada
  • Jul 29, 2014
The W Chicago - Lakeshore offers a birds-eye (think seagull) view of things. Situated along Lake Shore Drive near the Navy Pier, it's the only hotel in Chicago directly overlooking Lake Michigan, and also provides easy access to the beach itself. So bring your flip-flops (weather permitting) and after you've hit the beach, head for home (that's us). The W Chicago - Lakeshore surrounds guests with impeccable service and distinctive style. From the luxurious down-stuffed beds in each of our 520 deluxe guest rooms and suites, to the versatile meeting spaces equipped with the latest technological wizardry, and High Speed Internet Access in all guest and meeting rooms, we've overlooked nothing. Relax in our soothing, Zen-like Living Room. Head for the roof-top lounge to drink in astonishing lake and city views and sizzling nightlife. Enjoy an intimate dinner for two at our signature restaurant. Or retreat to your spacious room, fully-stocked with every comfort, including our own W "Munchie" box, a snacker's utopia. And if you need anything else, our Whatever/Whenever desk is on duty 24/7. Whether you're here for business or pleasure, we're prepared to help you enjoy the best of both worlds. And with a prime lake view location, we're convenient to the best of everything in the city, from the festivities of Navy Pier to the premiere shopping of Michigan Avenue. Have a blast!

Hotel Map

41.8939 -87.6156
Area served
.
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, Mile; Chicago OHare International Airport, (ORD), 18.00, Mile
Area description
City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Chicago Lakeshore also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

W Chicago Lakeshore Rooms

Fantastic Suite
The outrageous view of the city in this two bedroom suite lets you and your guests spy on the city from every angle. Socialize in the parlor's entertainment space, popping in a favorite flick on the living room's 32" TV. Or hand-pick a CD from the W library to set the mood while lounging on the sofa or the unique U-shaped chaise lounge.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ABSmith
NYC
Dec 4, 2012

Perfect

Our trip was so wonderful. Great value for our money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
purlgreyhound
Twin Cities, MN
Nov 6, 2012

Better than expected

We are not young or hip or fashionable -- merely middle-aged and presentable -- so I was braced for dismissiveness and/or condescension. But the staff was consistently welcoming and kind. Our room was comfortable, though a bit dark. (The shuttered interior bathroom "window" mentioned elsewhere was a minor annoyance.) We prefer North Loop or River North locations so I thought we'd be a bit out of the way here. In fact, it's a few blocks from Michigan Avenue, a pleasant walk in all but the worst weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The W's location is good for travelers with dogs. There are grassy boulevards nearby for immediate potty outings and paths along the lakeshore and through the parks near Navy Pier for longer walks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CALIFORNIA BARBIE
Business
ORANGE COUNTY, CA
Nov 1, 2012

how can you mess up "W"?

awsome cool vibe, modern touch. anything anytime. they always aim to please and never fall short. so pleased to be a gold SPG member and i encourage everyone to sign up! i brought a coworker and was confident she would be impressed and happy. the WAVE bar offered a gourmet twist on old favorite comfort foods like the 4 cheese grilled cheese and tomato soup. incredible! white smushy cheeses oozing from bread toasted in honey butter...the thick rich soup was fit to be found in the finest italian restaurants as a topping for pasta...unbelievable! i was stuffed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

NAVY PIER

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
biketango
Business
Minneapolis
Sep 19, 2012

Fantastic, energetic, refreshing

I absolutely loved my stay here. Great vibe, cool bar/restaurant, and an awesome pool to swim laps in the morning that is on 7th floor overlooking Navy Pier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 15, 2012

$450 a night and no free internet?

The beds are super comfortable, and the location is perfect. Our room was right by the elevator, so you could hear some foot traffic outside the room. I wish there would have been a fan in the bathroom for some ventilation. But the biggest disappointment was the fact that they wanted $14 a day to use the internet. Come on, man! And $55 a day to park your car seemed a little bit steep. The bar downstairs is nice. Staff was friendly. Our first morning there, the cleaning staff came in at 9:00 and woke us up. Had we known they started that early, we would have put out the "Do Not Disturb" sign. There are tons of outstanding restaurants in the area, and anything that's not within walking distance is just a short cab ride away. Knowing what I know now, if I had to book this trip over again, if I could have found a better deal at one of the nearby hotels (at the Sheraton or Doubletree, for example), I probably would have gone to one of those places to save a few bucks--especially if they had free internet. Don't get me wrong--we had a great experience and the W is a great hotel. However, I wasn't "wowed" to the point where I feel compelled to write a gushing review about how amazing it was. It was very good, but not amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About three blocks away (4-5 minute walk) is a *FANTASTIC* Irish-style pub called Timothy O'Toole's. Awesome food, flat screen TVs everywhere, tons of premium beers on tap, and ultra-friendly service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
College search Mum
New York
Sep 8, 2012

Chicago on the Lake !

We were looking at a couple of colleges with my daughter, one in the city, another 30 mins out north of Chicago. The guys on the concierge desk, were amazing, finding us the best and most economical way of getting there. They were good fun and very obliging. Giving us the low down on where to eat breakfast, lunch and diner if we were not using the hotel. Like a lot of stylish hotels this place was great weekdays but when the weekend kicked in, it turned into party central...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

I would say, coming to this particular W in the winter might not be ideal. We loved to walk around and discover places, but unless your going to cab it everywhere, the subway was quite a distance to walk. But perfect in the summer as the lake is right out front and the Pier a short walk away, for that it was amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller worldwide
Mexico city
Aug 30, 2012

Great location

Staff and atmosphere great. The only inconvenience was that our rooms had no blinds so sunshine does not allow to sleep longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brooder
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Aug 22, 2012

Expecting more

I was really expecting a lot more from the W. The decor was swanky, but the upkeep is very shabby. There was no door handle on our bathroom door and the bath tub had chips in it. The ceiling was poorly repaired and carpet was very stained. The view was great. We were city side, but the view was fairly unobstructed. Staff was friendly and I had one of the best sandwiches I have ever had (Ahi tuna burger was incredible). I have a friend who works for Starwood in New York and I cant imagine our room is something that is representative of the brand. Too bad. Won't being staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sea Cadet
Indiana
Aug 20, 2012

Special Event Weekend

Front desk staff was awesome. View was the best you could get. Bed was very comfy. Those are the only positives. Getting to and from your room was horrible, 15 minute wait to get down from the 14th floor. Simply not enough elevators for "guests." Although the bathroom was trendy in room - the opening with shutters from bathroom to room isnt for people who like bathroom privacy lol. If you are from out of town and dont know the area make sure you research before you arrive - there is nothing in the room that gives you help on what is in the area, including restaurants. Biggest complaint $55 for parking and they charge for internet. For the price of the rooms, I would think they could offer free internet and not $14.95 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Unless you want to pay $14.95 for internet, know where you want to dine before you go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pcarlberg
Northwest subs
Aug 7, 2012

Open Bathroom?

I did not appreciate the "open" type bathroom. There were shutthers in the bathroom and a sliding door that didnt lock. The beds were awesome the staff was great. The location outstanding if you want to be by the lake and Navy Pier--the walkway to both places was very convenient! But the room itself was shotty. The bathroom had caulk all over the tiles and bathtub, so it made it look icky and dirty, the walls in the bedroom were uneven and didnt go up to the ceiling--it was like shotty workmanship or something. Just not what I would imagine for a hotel like the "W".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss Miss
Chicago,il
Aug 6, 2012

Room was not cleaned properly

the overall stay was ok but concierge is slow, the room had someone else's garbage in the bathroom

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search