$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
167 reviews
Great

Nice hotel loved my view would recommend this hotel to anyone See full review

  • Gambinokevin
  • Aug 28, 2014
Loved it!

Stayed the weekend at this hotel & loved it! Great location. See full review

  • Kar Bear from Canada
  • Jul 29, 2014
Setting the standard for cool

Find lake views and a front-door beach at this fashionable Chicago hotel that oozes cool lounge appeal. When guests are not cooing over Lake Michigan or the light show at Navy Pier, the W Chicago - Lakeshore hotel captivates with extras like inventive Mediterranean cuisine at Wave, scenic cocktails from the 33rd floor at Whiskey Sky and luxe treatments at Bliss spa. Step outside onto Lake Michigan's shores, walk to Navy Pier or stroll along Chicago's lakefront path from this swank urban residence.

Highlights
  • At water's edge -- Lake Michigan and the beach sit outside the front door
  • City views and cocktails at Whiskey Sky nightclub, sleek urban dining at the Mediterranean-inspired Wave restaurant
  • Bliss Spa, a 9,600-square-foot oasis for pampering
  • Heated indoor pool with scenic lakefront views
  • AAA 2009 Diamond award winner features sultry, Zen-like rooms
Rooms
Inside the rooms at the W Chicago – Lakeshore hotel, guests find plush fabrics in deep shades of eggplant, chocolate and bright white, plus sweet extras like votive candles, CDs from the W library, 32-inch flat-screen TV and Bliss bath products. Wireless high-speed Internet access is available in guest rooms (fees apply).
Features

If the famed brownie bar inside Bliss Spa doesn't have you at hello, then the Triple Oxygen Facials or Blissages will. After relaxing and recharging, hit Wave for innovative cuisine or Whiskey Sky for signature cocktails and club beats in an intimate room featuring panoramic views.

Chic décor and city style at the lakefront hotel don't stop in design-savvy rooms. The W Chicago – Lakeshore hotel offers 15 meeting rooms, including a spectacular rooftop banquet room with slanted floor-to-ceiling windows. Take a dip in the hotel's heated pool perched above Lake Michigan or set out for a stroll along the water's edge. The W Chicago – Lakeshore hotel positions guests for a stylish Chicago experience.  

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (15.7 mi/25.7 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Blue Line (Chicago) (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (3.2 mi/5.2 km)

Attractions
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Navy Pier (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Millennium Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Grant Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The Art Institute of Chicago (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 15 meeting rooms
  • Plasma screens, high-speed Internet, Wi-Fi, state-of-the-art audio/visual equipment
Policies and Fees
  • Starting 1 Jul, the hotel will charge parking fees as follows: $24 USD per two hours; $31 USD per six hours and $60 USD per 24 hours
  • The hotel does not accept guests below 21 years old.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Chicago Lakeshore also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

W Chicago Lakeshore Rooms

Fantastic Suite
The outrageous view of the city in this two bedroom suite lets you and your guests spy on the city from every angle. Socialize in the parlor's entertainment space, popping in a favorite flick on the living room's 32" TV. Or hand-pick a CD from the W library to set the mood while lounging on the sofa or the unique U-shaped chaise lounge.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (167)

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
167 out of 167
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JCCC
Business
Anchorage
Jul 2, 2014

Great hotel

Been to the W hotel several times and enjoy each visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T mack2020
Business
So Cal
Dec 2, 2012

Nice Hotel

Nice hotel...Nice staff... Parking can get expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
20 something gal
Business
Aurora, IL
Dec 2, 2012

Nice place to stay

Staff was friendly and the room was pretty nice for the amount of space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sheila gram
Business
stoddard, nh /newburyport ma
Nov 11, 2012

wonderful location,beautiful view!

our brief stay here was excellent. staff was very helpful. the view and the easy access right off lakeshore drive was perfect. my son lives in chicago and was able to drive back and forth from his home with ease. it is very close to all the downtown activities we enjoyed. i would highly recommend this hotel. a very active nightlife for the younger generation as well. each night the lobby , bar and restaurant were filled with many guests.check in and check out were easy and quick. all the staff were very helpful. we would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
purlgreyhound
Business
Twin Cities, MN
Nov 6, 2012

Better than expected

We are not young or hip or fashionable -- merely middle-aged and presentable -- so I was braced for dismissiveness and/or condescension. But the staff was consistently welcoming and kind. Our room was comfortable, though a bit dark. (The shuttered interior bathroom "window" mentioned elsewhere was a minor annoyance.) We prefer North Loop or River North locations so I thought we'd be a bit out of the way here. In fact, it's a few blocks from Michigan Avenue, a pleasant walk in all but the worst weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The W's location is good for travelers with dogs. There are grassy boulevards nearby for immediate potty outings and paths along the lakeshore and through the parks near Navy Pier for longer walks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CALIFORNIA BARBIE
Business
ORANGE COUNTY, CA
Nov 1, 2012

how can you mess up "W"?

awsome cool vibe, modern touch. anything anytime. they always aim to please and never fall short. so pleased to be a gold SPG member and i encourage everyone to sign up! i brought a coworker and was confident she would be impressed and happy. the WAVE bar offered a gourmet twist on old favorite comfort foods like the 4 cheese grilled cheese and tomato soup. incredible! white smushy cheeses oozing from bread toasted in honey butter...the thick rich soup was fit to be found in the finest italian restaurants as a topping for pasta...unbelievable! i was stuffed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

NAVY PIER

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
biketango
Business
Minneapolis
Sep 19, 2012

Fantastic, energetic, refreshing

I absolutely loved my stay here. Great vibe, cool bar/restaurant, and an awesome pool to swim laps in the morning that is on 7th floor overlooking Navy Pier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 15, 2012

$450 a night and no free internet?

The beds are super comfortable, and the location is perfect. Our room was right by the elevator, so you could hear some foot traffic outside the room. I wish there would have been a fan in the bathroom for some ventilation. But the biggest disappointment was the fact that they wanted $14 a day to use the internet. Come on, man! And $55 a day to park your car seemed a little bit steep. The bar downstairs is nice. Staff was friendly. Our first morning there, the cleaning staff came in at 9:00 and woke us up. Had we known they started that early, we would have put out the "Do Not Disturb" sign. There are tons of outstanding restaurants in the area, and anything that's not within walking distance is just a short cab ride away. Knowing what I know now, if I had to book this trip over again, if I could have found a better deal at one of the nearby hotels (at the Sheraton or Doubletree, for example), I probably would have gone to one of those places to save a few bucks--especially if they had free internet. Don't get me wrong--we had a great experience and the W is a great hotel. However, I wasn't "wowed" to the point where I feel compelled to write a gushing review about how amazing it was. It was very good, but not amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About three blocks away (4-5 minute walk) is a *FANTASTIC* Irish-style pub called Timothy O'Toole's. Awesome food, flat screen TVs everywhere, tons of premium beers on tap, and ultra-friendly service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
College search Mum
Business
New York
Sep 8, 2012

Chicago on the Lake !

We were looking at a couple of colleges with my daughter, one in the city, another 30 mins out north of Chicago. The guys on the concierge desk, were amazing, finding us the best and most economical way of getting there. They were good fun and very obliging. Giving us the low down on where to eat breakfast, lunch and diner if we were not using the hotel. Like a lot of stylish hotels this place was great weekdays but when the weekend kicked in, it turned into party central...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

I would say, coming to this particular W in the winter might not be ideal. We loved to walk around and discover places, but unless your going to cab it everywhere, the subway was quite a distance to walk. But perfect in the summer as the lake is right out front and the Pier a short walk away, for that it was amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller worldwide
Business
Mexico city
Aug 30, 2012

Great location

Staff and atmosphere great. The only inconvenience was that our rooms had no blinds so sunshine does not allow to sleep longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brooder
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Aug 22, 2012

Expecting more

I was really expecting a lot more from the W. The decor was swanky, but the upkeep is very shabby. There was no door handle on our bathroom door and the bath tub had chips in it. The ceiling was poorly repaired and carpet was very stained. The view was great. We were city side, but the view was fairly unobstructed. Staff was friendly and I had one of the best sandwiches I have ever had (Ahi tuna burger was incredible). I have a friend who works for Starwood in New York and I cant imagine our room is something that is representative of the brand. Too bad. Won't being staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top