$180 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
240 reviews
Great hotel

Been to the W hotel several times and enjoy each visit. See full review

  • JCCC
  • Jul 2, 2014
W Chicago Lakeshore

I recommend W Hotel Lakeshore if you are active and fun loving people visiting in Chicago. W Hotel... See full review

  • rainonlake
  • Apr 5, 2014
The W Chicago - Lakeshore offers a birds-eye (think seagull) view of things. Situated along Lake Shore Drive near the Navy Pier, it's the only hotel in Chicago directly overlooking Lake Michigan, and also provides easy access to the beach itself. So bring your flip-flops (weather permitting) and after you've hit the beach, head for home (that's us). The W Chicago - Lakeshore surrounds guests with impeccable service and distinctive style. From the luxurious down-stuffed beds in each of our 520 deluxe guest rooms and suites, to the versatile meeting spaces equipped with the latest technological wizardry, and High Speed Internet Access in all guest and meeting rooms, we've overlooked nothing. Relax in our soothing, Zen-like Living Room. Head for the roof-top lounge to drink in astonishing lake and city views and sizzling nightlife. Enjoy an intimate dinner for two at our signature restaurant. Or retreat to your spacious room, fully-stocked with every comfort, including our own W "Munchie" box, a snacker's utopia. And if you need anything else, our Whatever/Whenever desk is on duty 24/7. Whether you're here for business or pleasure, we're prepared to help you enjoy the best of both worlds. And with a prime lake view location, we're convenient to the best of everything in the city, from the festivities of Navy Pier to the premiere shopping of Michigan Avenue. Have a blast!

Hotel Map

41.8939 -87.6156
Area served
.
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, Mile; Chicago OHare International Airport, (ORD), 18.00, Mile
Area description
City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Chicago Lakeshore also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

W Chicago Lakeshore Rooms

Fantastic Suite
The outrageous view of the city in this two bedroom suite lets you and your guests spy on the city from every angle. Socialize in the parlor's entertainment space, popping in a favorite flick on the living room's 32" TV. Or hand-pick a CD from the W library to set the mood while lounging on the sofa or the unique U-shaped chaise lounge.

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Boutiques
Porters
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (240)

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brooder
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Aug 22, 2012

Expecting more

I was really expecting a lot more from the W. The decor was swanky, but the upkeep is very shabby. There was no door handle on our bathroom door and the bath tub had chips in it. The ceiling was poorly repaired and carpet was very stained. The view was great. We were city side, but the view was fairly unobstructed. Staff was friendly and I had one of the best sandwiches I have ever had (Ahi tuna burger was incredible). I have a friend who works for Starwood in New York and I cant imagine our room is something that is representative of the brand. Too bad. Won't being staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sea Cadet
Indiana
Aug 20, 2012

Special Event Weekend

Front desk staff was awesome. View was the best you could get. Bed was very comfy. Those are the only positives. Getting to and from your room was horrible, 15 minute wait to get down from the 14th floor. Simply not enough elevators for "guests." Although the bathroom was trendy in room - the opening with shutters from bathroom to room isnt for people who like bathroom privacy lol. If you are from out of town and dont know the area make sure you research before you arrive - there is nothing in the room that gives you help on what is in the area, including restaurants. Biggest complaint $55 for parking and they charge for internet. For the price of the rooms, I would think they could offer free internet and not $14.95 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Unless you want to pay $14.95 for internet, know where you want to dine before you go.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pcarlberg
Northwest subs
Aug 7, 2012

Open Bathroom?

I did not appreciate the "open" type bathroom. There were shutthers in the bathroom and a sliding door that didnt lock. The beds were awesome the staff was great. The location outstanding if you want to be by the lake and Navy Pier--the walkway to both places was very convenient! But the room itself was shotty. The bathroom had caulk all over the tiles and bathtub, so it made it look icky and dirty, the walls in the bedroom were uneven and didnt go up to the ceiling--it was like shotty workmanship or something. Just not what I would imagine for a hotel like the "W".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss Miss
Chicago,il
Aug 6, 2012

Room was not cleaned properly

the overall stay was ok but concierge is slow, the room had someone else's garbage in the bathroom

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Missmeg
North Shore, MA
Aug 6, 2012

W Lakeshore

Hotel had everything we needed. Staff was quite friendly. It would have been great if they offered a free shuttle to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Touring Designer
Kansas
Jul 18, 2012

Fun Boutique Hotel at an Affordable Price

We have stayed here about 4 times now, and everytime we have had a positive experience. The style of the hotel is very modern chic, the staff are always very polite and helpful, the restaurants and spa is amazing, and the room is always clean and comfortable. If you've never been it's worth going, and the value is amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel offers a free drop off service to a destination of your choice within the city, worth using and saves a cab fair.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jstdremn
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 10, 2012

awesome place to stay

Great hotel and an awesome place to stay in Chitown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TLee2
Urbana,Il
Jul 9, 2012

W-onderful!

Great room, with a view of the lake. Really hip, interesting decor. The location could not be better. We walked to almost everywhere. Weirdest music in elevators, but it only adds to the ambience... I will stay at W again. The only negative is the rooms have no refrigerator,for all the leftovers from the great Chicago restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant Cite' has a panoramic 360 degree view of the city. Great place for a romantic dinner, fantastic pre-fixe menu .It is just a short, beautiful walk from the W hotel.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bixbie
New York, NY
May 29, 2012

Great weekend at the W Lakeshore

I spent the Memorial Day weekend in Chicago at the W Lakeshore with some friends. The hotel is central to all major shopping and sites, offering great views of the beach and the Navy Pier. The staff was very friendly and helpful. All in all, we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grateful Ju
Business
Hermosa Beach, CA
Apr 24, 2012

Pefect for doing Business at Navy Pier

If you are working a convention or show at Navy Pier this is the place to stay, convienient and great views

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top