$197 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
View map of 644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
threegoofygirls
minneapolis, minnesota
Aug 7, 2013

A perfect girls getaway

From the moment we arrived (early I might add) we were so well taken care of by the staff that we were able to jump right into our weekend away. The concierge, Acura driver, front desk, bar, spa, Wave staff and especially the security guard Darreyl (who found and sent our cellphone back to us) were amazing!! If the people make the place than look no further. Thank you Hotel W Lakeshore for a great Chicago impression.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenn Marie
Business
Crow n Point, Indiana
Jul 2, 2013

Great Place for 40th birthday

Summer in Chicago is awesome and our location couldn't have been better. We spent the weekend walking the lake front, through Grant Park, Millennium Park, and the famous Magnificent Mile. We had a lake front room with a spectacular view. It was perfect. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charles Super Dad
Business
Miami, Florida
Jun 6, 2013

GREAT

This was a great hotel. I really liked the service and the rooms were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dortiz
Business
Pennsylvania
May 29, 2013

W

while my stay was nice the hotel is probably do for a little face lift.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

make reservations ahead of time for girl and the goat.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Major Photographer
Business
New York, NY
May 15, 2013

Very very good stay

Great! The complimentary car service was real icing on the cake

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Pump Room

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Benice
Business
Columbia
May 14, 2013

Lively hotel for all ages

Fun. Music was always playing. The lounge area was great and staff were plentiful and eager to help. Room design was not very functional however. Not much privacy in the bathroom. Shutters to the bathroom are opened and closed outside of the bathroom. Outlets should be closer to the bed to charge phones. Minibar items throughout the room. My son drank a water before i got a chance to tell him not to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the bus when possible.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jason9999
Business
Minneapolis
Apr 23, 2013

A little disappointed.

Checking in took much, much longer than it should have. Once I was able to talk to someone, however, the staff was incredibly nice and helpful. The room was decent. But decent is not what I have come to expect from W hotels. Exit instructions, required to be on every hotel door, had fallen off of mine and were on the floor upon my arrival. And cracks in the window treatments let too much light in for a good afternoon nap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Montreal Rick
Business
Montreal
Apr 22, 2013

Great long weekend destination

A few minutes from the Magnificent mile - overlooking the lake and a short walk to Navy Pier. Comfortable rooms - hip public areas. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
strnbrg59
Business
California
Apr 6, 2013

Watch out for the $55 overnight parking charge

This seemed like a good deal until I found out that parking my car would cost have again as much as my room itself. I'd appreciate it if there'd been a warning about that. Of course I realize this is the middle of a big city and not a suburban motel parking lot, but at the same time, it's not uncommon to get package deals that include parking. When they don't (as in this case) a prominent warning would have been in order. The hotel's location is good, but it's not really in the heart of things; that would be about four blocks to the west.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ABBB
Business
Ohio
Mar 19, 2013

Not the unusual "W" quality

Small rooms, inconsistent service, no Wifi in rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
duce2048
Business
New York
Mar 18, 2013

W Chicago Lakeshore

Our stay at the W was awesome. The staff is super friendly. The rooms are nice and clean. The food was good and the two bar / lounge areas had good music, drinks & a mixed crowd. You really don't have to leave the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top