$203 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
164 reviews
Great

Nice hotel loved my view would recommend this hotel to anyone See full review

  • Gambinokevin
  • Aug 28, 2014
Loved it!

Stayed the weekend at this hotel & loved it! Great location. See full review

  • Kar Bear from Canada
  • Jul 29, 2014
The W Chicago - Lakeshore offers a birds-eye (think seagull) view of things. Situated along Lake Shore Drive near the Navy Pier, it's the only hotel in Chicago directly overlooking Lake Michigan, and also provides easy access to the beach itself. So bring your flip-flops (weather permitting) and after you've hit the beach, head for home (that's us). The W Chicago - Lakeshore surrounds guests with impeccable service and distinctive style. From the luxurious down-stuffed beds in each of our 520 deluxe guest rooms and suites, to the versatile meeting spaces equipped with the latest technological wizardry, and High Speed Internet Access in all guest and meeting rooms, we've overlooked nothing. Relax in our soothing, Zen-like Living Room. Head for the roof-top lounge to drink in astonishing lake and city views and sizzling nightlife. Enjoy an intimate dinner for two at our signature restaurant. Or retreat to your spacious room, fully-stocked with every comfort, including our own W "Munchie" box, a snacker's utopia. And if you need anything else, our Whatever/Whenever desk is on duty 24/7. Whether you're here for business or pleasure, we're prepared to help you enjoy the best of both worlds. And with a prime lake view location, we're convenient to the best of everything in the city, from the festivities of Navy Pier to the premiere shopping of Michigan Avenue. Have a blast!

Hotel Map

41.8939 -87.6156
Area served
.
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, Mile; Chicago OHare International Airport, (ORD), 18.00, Mile
Area description
City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Chicago Lakeshore also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

W Chicago Lakeshore Rooms

Fantastic Suite
The outrageous view of the city in this two bedroom suite lets you and your guests spy on the city from every angle. Socialize in the parlor's entertainment space, popping in a favorite flick on the living room's 32" TV. Or hand-pick a CD from the W library to set the mood while lounging on the sofa or the unique U-shaped chaise lounge.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CALIFORNIA BARBIE
Business
ORANGE COUNTY, CA
Nov 1, 2012

how can you mess up "W"?

awsome cool vibe, modern touch. anything anytime. they always aim to please and never fall short. so pleased to be a gold SPG member and i encourage everyone to sign up! i brought a coworker and was confident she would be impressed and happy. the WAVE bar offered a gourmet twist on old favorite comfort foods like the 4 cheese grilled cheese and tomato soup. incredible! white smushy cheeses oozing from bread toasted in honey butter...the thick rich soup was fit to be found in the finest italian restaurants as a topping for pasta...unbelievable! i was stuffed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

NAVY PIER

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fixit00
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 23, 2013

Great stay.

Only stayed for a night on business, but overall it was a good experience. Staff was courteous, place was clean, penthouse bar was fun. The only complaint was having to pay for wi-fi and pay-per-minute business center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

+ Crimson Lounge + Rockit Bar & Grill

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tito traveler
fort lauderdale, florida
Feb 18, 2013

Nice place...thin walls

Liked the hotel; good customer service; parking service was excellent and concierge did an outstanding job of getting me dinner reservations at a great place. My concern was with the sound between rooms. I could hear clearly conversations from the rooms on both sides of me...even more pronounced late at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iowaugirl
Illinois
Feb 18, 2013

Long wait time!!

Okay I don't usually write review on hotels. This time I had too. We got to the hotel 30 mins after 3 which was check in time. Our room was not ready!! We had to wait 2 hours for our room that we booked a month in advance. I think this a ploy to get people to spend money at the bar. I know this is a great hotel but everything was way over priced. Next time we will stay somewhere else. We had fun at the bar in the hotel and everything else was great! When traveling as far as we did all we wanted was to get in our room and shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2guest
chicago
Feb 13, 2013

Pretty good

Spa services were great but a bit pricey. Sauna could be hotter. Staff was nice and always very helpful. The blinds almost fell on my head when they came off the wall, more troubling because there was a note somewhere about pulling on the blinds in fine print. It is insulting to have to pay extra for internet, especially so much for 15 minutes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevin Biz Exec
Business
Wisconsin
Jan 13, 2013

Edgy Chicago Stay

Cool hotel. Lighting is subdued with gray and purple predominant. Very quiet hallways. The rooms have a very comfortable bed and chaise lounge. Bathrooms have a great rainfall glass shower with Bliss self care top of the line products. Located close to everything in downtown Chicago too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christie Traveler
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Dec 5, 2012

Great Hotel

It was very beautiful and an overall very comfortable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ABSmith
NYC
Dec 4, 2012

Perfect

Our trip was so wonderful. Great value for our money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
20 something gal
Aurora, IL
Dec 2, 2012

Nice place to stay

Staff was friendly and the room was pretty nice for the amount of space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T mack2020
So Cal
Dec 2, 2012

Nice Hotel

Nice hotel...Nice staff... Parking can get expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sheila gram
stoddard, nh /newburyport ma
Nov 11, 2012

wonderful location,beautiful view!

our brief stay here was excellent. staff was very helpful. the view and the easy access right off lakeshore drive was perfect. my son lives in chicago and was able to drive back and forth from his home with ease. it is very close to all the downtown activities we enjoyed. i would highly recommend this hotel. a very active nightlife for the younger generation as well. each night the lobby , bar and restaurant were filled with many guests.check in and check out were easy and quick. all the staff were very helpful. we would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search