$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
View map of 644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
173 out of 173
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boyhead
Business
Cincinnati OH
Dec 16, 2013

Awesome!

This is one of the nicest hotels that I have stayed in. Staff was great and the room was very retro and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NewYorkophile
Business
Chicago
Dec 11, 2013

Chicago getaway

This Lake Shore Drive hotel is ideally located for shopping and culture and has nice views all around. Common areas pleasant (lobby a bit drafty). Rooms are good-size and comfortable, if a bit quirky (louvered shutters between the bathroom and bedroom?). Staff was responsive when needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYCerChicagoGirl
Business
New York
Dec 9, 2013

Cool hotel but terrible location and uncomfortable

Views and location are very cool and something you do not typically get in Chicago but it is too far away from everything and expect a cab to take you everywhere. I live in NYC and walk long distances and I felt like it was too much to walk downtown or to the attractions. Walls were paper thin and I could hear the conversation of the kids fighting over their phone and everything else for the weekend. Beds are terrible and pillows were cheap and too massive poly filler and I have a neck and shoulder pain. Elevators took forever and painfully slow. That said - staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay closer to Michigan Ave. where there are boutique hotels just as nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ysanabria
Business
Miami
Nov 26, 2013

Property needs new furniture

The Hotel its really run down needs some remodelation. Blinds in the room were broken and not repair for 5 days... One coffee to the room charge was over $10 really? Not even in the Peninsula Hotel in Paris!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alex787
Business
Shaker Hts
Nov 18, 2013

W Stay

Very good say, restaurant could have a better menu however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack123a
Business
NYC
Oct 23, 2013

The W

it was ok - I don't like the 1/2 glass door on he shower and I really didn't like the location of the know to turn on the shower far behind the shower head - I would get wet as I tried to set the tempature of the shower - it should be moved away from the shower head into a place easier to reach. The lack of space between the bed and chair and work desk was way to little for someone to pass behind the person sitting there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Malafacha
Business
Mexico
Oct 13, 2013

Excellent location.

People very nice with us since we check in, the concierge gave us excellent suggestions to lunch and dinner around the W, we spent 6 perfect days at Chicago!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
threegoofygirls
Business
minneapolis, minnesota
Aug 7, 2013

A perfect girls getaway

From the moment we arrived (early I might add) we were so well taken care of by the staff that we were able to jump right into our weekend away. The concierge, Acura driver, front desk, bar, spa, Wave staff and especially the security guard Darreyl (who found and sent our cellphone back to us) were amazing!! If the people make the place than look no further. Thank you Hotel W Lakeshore for a great Chicago impression.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenn Marie
Business
Crow n Point, Indiana
Jul 2, 2013

Great Place for 40th birthday

Summer in Chicago is awesome and our location couldn't have been better. We spent the weekend walking the lake front, through Grant Park, Millennium Park, and the famous Magnificent Mile. We had a lake front room with a spectacular view. It was perfect. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charles Super Dad
Business
Miami, Florida
Jun 6, 2013

GREAT

This was a great hotel. I really liked the service and the rooms were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top