$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
165 reviews
Great

Nice hotel loved my view would recommend this hotel to anyone See full review

  • Gambinokevin
  • Aug 28, 2014
Loved it!

Stayed the weekend at this hotel & loved it! Great location. See full review

  • Kar Bear from Canada
  • Jul 29, 2014
The W Chicago - Lakeshore offers a birds-eye (think seagull) view of things. Situated along Lake Shore Drive near the Navy Pier, it's the only hotel in Chicago directly overlooking Lake Michigan, and also provides easy access to the beach itself. So bring your flip-flops (weather permitting) and after you've hit the beach, head for home (that's us). The W Chicago - Lakeshore surrounds guests with impeccable service and distinctive style. From the luxurious down-stuffed beds in each of our 520 deluxe guest rooms and suites, to the versatile meeting spaces equipped with the latest technological wizardry, and High Speed Internet Access in all guest and meeting rooms, we've overlooked nothing. Relax in our soothing, Zen-like Living Room. Head for the roof-top lounge to drink in astonishing lake and city views and sizzling nightlife. Enjoy an intimate dinner for two at our signature restaurant. Or retreat to your spacious room, fully-stocked with every comfort, including our own W "Munchie" box, a snacker's utopia. And if you need anything else, our Whatever/Whenever desk is on duty 24/7. Whether you're here for business or pleasure, we're prepared to help you enjoy the best of both worlds. And with a prime lake view location, we're convenient to the best of everything in the city, from the festivities of Navy Pier to the premiere shopping of Michigan Avenue. Have a blast!

Hotel Map

41.8939 -87.6156
Area served
.
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, Mile; Chicago OHare International Airport, (ORD), 18.00, Mile
Area description
City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Chicago Lakeshore also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

W Chicago Lakeshore Rooms

Fantastic Suite
The outrageous view of the city in this two bedroom suite lets you and your guests spy on the city from every angle. Socialize in the parlor's entertainment space, popping in a favorite flick on the living room's 32" TV. Or hand-pick a CD from the W library to set the mood while lounging on the sofa or the unique U-shaped chaise lounge.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 165
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rainonlake
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 5, 2014

W Chicago Lakeshore

I recommend W Hotel Lakeshore if you are active and fun loving people visiting in Chicago. W Hotel is about not only superb location but also nice staffs and valet service. Two thumbs up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to Navy Pier where you can make wonderful memories with your love ones. Don't forget Ohio Street Beach and Olive Park to visit if you are there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenn Marie
Business
Crow n Point, Indiana
Jul 2, 2013

Great Place for 40th birthday

Summer in Chicago is awesome and our location couldn't have been better. We spent the weekend walking the lake front, through Grant Park, Millennium Park, and the famous Magnificent Mile. We had a lake front room with a spectacular view. It was perfect. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charles Super Dad
Business
Miami, Florida
Jun 6, 2013

GREAT

This was a great hotel. I really liked the service and the rooms were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dortiz
Business
Pennsylvania
May 29, 2013

W

while my stay was nice the hotel is probably do for a little face lift.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

make reservations ahead of time for girl and the goat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Major Photographer
Business
New York, NY
May 15, 2013

Very very good stay

Great! The complimentary car service was real icing on the cake

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Pump Room

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Benice
Business
Columbia
May 14, 2013

Lively hotel for all ages

Fun. Music was always playing. The lounge area was great and staff were plentiful and eager to help. Room design was not very functional however. Not much privacy in the bathroom. Shutters to the bathroom are opened and closed outside of the bathroom. Outlets should be closer to the bed to charge phones. Minibar items throughout the room. My son drank a water before i got a chance to tell him not to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the bus when possible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jason9999
Business
Minneapolis
Apr 23, 2013

A little disappointed.

Checking in took much, much longer than it should have. Once I was able to talk to someone, however, the staff was incredibly nice and helpful. The room was decent. But decent is not what I have come to expect from W hotels. Exit instructions, required to be on every hotel door, had fallen off of mine and were on the floor upon my arrival. And cracks in the window treatments let too much light in for a good afternoon nap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Montreal Rick
Business
Montreal
Apr 22, 2013

Great long weekend destination

A few minutes from the Magnificent mile - overlooking the lake and a short walk to Navy Pier. Comfortable rooms - hip public areas. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
strnbrg59
Business
California
Apr 6, 2013

Watch out for the $55 overnight parking charge

This seemed like a good deal until I found out that parking my car would cost have again as much as my room itself. I'd appreciate it if there'd been a warning about that. Of course I realize this is the middle of a big city and not a suburban motel parking lot, but at the same time, it's not uncommon to get package deals that include parking. When they don't (as in this case) a prominent warning would have been in order. The hotel's location is good, but it's not really in the heart of things; that would be about four blocks to the west.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ABBB
Business
Ohio
Mar 19, 2013

Not the unusual "W" quality

Small rooms, inconsistent service, no Wifi in rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
duce2048
Business
New York
Mar 18, 2013

W Chicago Lakeshore

Our stay at the W was awesome. The staff is super friendly. The rooms are nice and clean. The food was good and the two bar / lounge areas had good music, drinks & a mixed crowd. You really don't have to leave the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top