$156 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
View map of 644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
169 out of 169
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rainonlake
Family
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 5, 2014

W Chicago Lakeshore

I recommend W Hotel Lakeshore if you are active and fun loving people visiting in Chicago. W Hotel is about not only superb location but also nice staffs and valet service. Two thumbs up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to Navy Pier where you can make wonderful memories with your love ones. Don't forget Ohio Street Beach and Olive Park to visit if you are there.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicole28
Couples
FL
Jan 4, 2014

Chic, modern interior with GREAT views of lake & pier

King suite on 32nd floor overlooking the lake & pier. Modern amenities and nice bathroom (open walk in shower, no tub; always seems more fancy that way!). The bed and pillows were actually a bit too soft, but obviously that's a personal preference. The physical location of the hotel seemed to be in the "better/more safe" side of town. The only drawback to that is that a minimum 5 minute walk is required to get to any real points of interest; more likely a taxi is needed. The walk isn't so bad, but we went in the middle of winter! Again, our bad! Overall fantastic. Will definitely stayin other W Hotels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zingerlinger
Couples
Indiana
Jan 2, 2014

Wish I could get my money back

The place was outdated, cold and way overpriced. My wife and I ate lunch at the bar, had a few drinks and it cost over $100.00. The wife was still hungry afterwards and she eats like a bird. We also had to deal with the doors opening all the time for check-ins. I am from Colorado and have a high tolerance for the cold, didn't know if my wife was going to make it. Next time will go somewhere warm for Newyears.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J. Barnes
Couples
Dallas, Tx
Dec 27, 2013

Winter Vacation

This was a great place for a younger couple. It is a short walk to Michigan Avenue and many great restaurants are within easy walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Signature Room in Hancock Tower. This is a little pricy but has the best views in Chicago from either the 95th or 96th floor, depending on whether you are eating or simply there for a cocktail.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boyhead
Couples
Cincinnati OH
Dec 16, 2013

Awesome!

This is one of the nicest hotels that I have stayed in. Staff was great and the room was very retro and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NewYorkophile
Couples
Chicago
Dec 11, 2013

Chicago getaway

This Lake Shore Drive hotel is ideally located for shopping and culture and has nice views all around. Common areas pleasant (lobby a bit drafty). Rooms are good-size and comfortable, if a bit quirky (louvered shutters between the bathroom and bedroom?). Staff was responsive when needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYCerChicagoGirl
Friends
New York
Dec 9, 2013

Cool hotel but terrible location and uncomfortable

Views and location are very cool and something you do not typically get in Chicago but it is too far away from everything and expect a cab to take you everywhere. I live in NYC and walk long distances and I felt like it was too much to walk downtown or to the attractions. Walls were paper thin and I could hear the conversation of the kids fighting over their phone and everything else for the weekend. Beds are terrible and pillows were cheap and too massive poly filler and I have a neck and shoulder pain. Elevators took forever and painfully slow. That said - staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay closer to Michigan Ave. where there are boutique hotels just as nice.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ysanabria
Business
Miami
Nov 26, 2013

Property needs new furniture

The Hotel its really run down needs some remodelation. Blinds in the room were broken and not repair for 5 days... One coffee to the room charge was over $10 really? Not even in the Peninsula Hotel in Paris!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alex787
Couples
Shaker Hts
Nov 18, 2013

W Stay

Very good say, restaurant could have a better menu however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack123a
Business
NYC
Oct 23, 2013

The W

it was ok - I don't like the 1/2 glass door on he shower and I really didn't like the location of the know to turn on the shower far behind the shower head - I would get wet as I tried to set the tempature of the shower - it should be moved away from the shower head into a place easier to reach. The lack of space between the bed and chair and work desk was way to little for someone to pass behind the person sitting there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Malafacha
Couples
Mexico
Oct 13, 2013

Excellent location.

People very nice with us since we check in, the concierge gave us excellent suggestions to lunch and dinner around the W, we spent 6 perfect days at Chicago!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top